April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PotatoQuest

by pwnedu46 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a minimalist potato farmer. You have given up most of your worldly possessions. Due to your obsessions with a minimalist lifestyle, you have gone on diet that consists solely of water and potatoes. You must collect your potatoes quickly before you starve.


Controls:
a or left arrow = move left
d or right arrow = move right
w or up arrow = jump (note: jumping is only available once your pick up the jump powerup each level).
If you get stuck, you can reset the level by clicking Game > Reset Level.


Powerups:
Jump: Allows you to jump. Looks like an up arrow.
Speed: Increases your speed. Looks like a right-facing arrow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#778Theme3.31
#1185Fun2.18
#1247Overall2.35
#1276Innovation1.94
#1292Graphics1.88
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

Well that's as simple as it gets.
Jumping could work a bit better, though,I walked though wall more than once...

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Yay, I have won! :)

Anyway, there are some bugs with collisions and jumping really doesn't feel right. I liked the idea of power-ups and timed levels.

TP2k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I couldn't get any keyboard input to work when running on Linux. :(

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Hey, I wanted to hear the SFX and sympathised with the resource-hell you must have been through :-) Think I managed to fix it: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21611/ld26/misc/minimalism-fixed.zip

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11am

Fits theme quite well!

alts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:17am

The jumping powerup doesn't quite work as expected. I could jump even without picking it up. While playing, I noticed that the jumping is a bit unorthodox, and though it might be interesting to base the game around that. Particularly mid-air jumps and multiple jumps per fall. I think that you could build some really interesting levels around what you have now.

pwnedu46 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Thanks for all the feedback, I really appreciate it. :)

@berkano: Thanks for fixing it! How did you get the resources to be built into the jar? I spent what felt like forever googling how to do that.

@alts: I'll have to look into the jumping bug, I thought I fixed it.

Yngar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Aside from the bugs, I thought the level design was really interesting. It would have been cool to see more puzzles in the game.

berkano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35pm

@pwnedu46 you're welcome :-) it's not actually in the jar in the version I uploaded, just external files under ./assets/sfx in the zip. Also sounds weren't playing until I commented out

FloatControl pan_control = (FloatControl) line.getControl(FloatControl.Type.PAN);

miro662 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:37am

nice idea, but it's a bit buggy

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Erm. WHAT? I downloaded it and after extracting and running with java i had directly won and had to quit anyway. Any solution?

pwnedu46 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:10pm

@Prudiiarca: Extract the entire thing, not just the jar. It does that when it can't find the resources it needs to run (sepecifically the level files).

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice. Fairly standard platformer. I got stuck on walls when falling, but I understand you could have fixed it with more time :P

Interesting use of powerups to allow jumping.

bvanschooten says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Interesting idea, getting powerups for abilities you need to solve the level. Platforming did not feel solid, I could float in mid air and walk through walls. The game was too easy. I completed all levels within 3 minutes without any sort of skill.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]