April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Cheap Atari Game

by DrZanuff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Edit 01/09/2016 - Updating link for Itch.Io

This a a Cheap Atari Game...

(Please! Press F11 to Full Screen it!)
Ok, this game was supposed to have more levels, more exploration, more enemies, more bosses and more everything... But it didn't. I had all the mechanics done, a second level done, but for the time sake i made some cutbacks (a lot of) to finish the game to the compo. Tomorrow i'll work, so the jam is not possible. I felt like i cheated the Ludum Dare, giving a so cheap and incomplete alpha of a game. But i had to finish it, my second LD without a game. NO! This have to finish now! So whith you... A Cheap Atari Game!

Arrows - Move
Up Arrow - Jump
S - Sword (When you grab the Sword)
D - Shield (When you grab the Sword)
F11 - FullScreen (If you want to see something)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

The game is fun! The minimalism, is it mostly that its pixels or what is the minimalism part of the game? The music is good, though maybe doesn't fit to the game?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

With the music and animations and overall style, you manage to create a little world. I like it.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Nice full-featured platformer. Good graphics and sound. The sound effects are a bit too loud in comparison with the music.

intripoon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Fun game! Checkpoints would be nice though. I was killed by the boss at the end and it put me back to the start :(

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:44am

One of the best i have tried. Good controls, good minimalist graphics, and good sound :)

May 5, 2013 @ 6:25am

Nice start for a larger game. You had enemy variety, boss, water, items, swinging things. You just need time to develop it more.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

Nice, I actually beat the boss and got the End screen. Reminded me a lot of Castlevania.

May 16, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Fun atari style, a bit like Pitfall II, maybe... :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]