April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

S

by rodrigomotta - Jam Entry

>>> !!! Can only be viewed in browsers that supported WebGL !!! <<<

He fell in love with a girl.
She had been dead for years.
But he did not give up.

Minimalist game. Minimalist commands. Minimalist graphics. BIG Story.

A Minimalistic Adventure in Time.

* Great Story;
* Innovative take on time travel;
* Cool minimalistic graphics;
* Amazing 8bit versions of 4 famous songs;
* Experimental game logic;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Innovation(Jam)3.89
#36Audio(Jam)3.89
#56Graphics(Jam)4.14
#80Mood(Jam)3.63
#116Theme(Jam)3.71
#139Overall(Jam)3.49
#191Humor(Jam)2.48
#307Fun(Jam)2.81
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Can't get the link to work. I'll check back.

rodrigomotta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

@Prelucid Sorry, we have problems with upload. I will fix this soon.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Always nice to see brazilian teams in here. I'll check back, once you fix the link!

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Game not there :(

visibleatom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

Same as others. Will rate when I see a link :)

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

Could not run. It pointed me to an empty browser directory.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Yeah, too bad! :(

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Looks cool! Have you tried DropBox

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Can't rate due to empty folder. Bookmarked for rating later.

brantkings says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46am

Use the minimum to convey the most: that, my people, is minimalism. Good job! Couldn't figure out the game of thrones part though.

cwilloughby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23am

Like the art and audio. Loved the intro. Cool use of theme!

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:32am

@brantkings hsauhsuah thanks man, this is own objective. Thanks. So, kill the dragon and take a sword with blacksmith, save the girl and... and... play to see. ;D

May 1, 2013 @ 2:33am

I was carrying around the musical note, but I wasn't able to do anything with it. I really liked this idea, though. It's quite abstract!

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33am

Good game! I was able to play it to completion and I was impressed that you could convey the goals in such a "minimalist" manner. Well done!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:37am

Quite artistic game!

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:41am

@cwilloughby: Thank you, man! o/

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42am

@CloudiestNights: Approach the "musical note" and click on it. Be calm and stay tuned for all the details.

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:43am

Very nice and well polished. I really like the graphics, and how each time track had its own color. Very unique gameplay.

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:43am

The game is good objectively.
Subjectively, what the heck was it?
I was collecting items, stuff went between screens, there was multiple time periods, an alien saucer, then boom - the game's done.

netguy204 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44am

Love the art style and some of the music. Gameplay ended up being a pixel hunt for me (probably because I was missing some critical piece of understanding of what my purpose was.)

This is nicely polished and well done. Silky smooth at full screen. It's cool to see people using browser tech at its best. Good job.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:45am

@anjack: Oh, thank you. It is more difficult to create minimalist challenges than traditional.

@DaanVanYperen: oh, thank you.

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:52am

I clicked on the link without seeing the screenshot. I was pleasantly surprised when I hit the green S'. Sometimes it was a bit hard to understand but it was pretty cool.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:03am

@oldtopman: This was a trip across the time, searching for a impossible love. ;) It's a big story with a minimalist way... or, I'm so crazy. ;)

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:20am

@zazery Its very cool listen this words. Thanks.

Prelucid says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26am

I think my game got bugged. After while I couldn't advance. Nice graphics, sounds. I recognized the tracks.

Hayawi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

Wow, I really like the abstract feel and the music was really incredible (Woohoo Go William)

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

Awesoooome game! Minimalism taken to the maximum level, this isn't just a game, it's a piece of art! Congratulations to the team!

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19am

Loved the look and music! I couldn't figure out what to do after grabbing the heart and the S shape. I turned on the computer but then I couldn't interact with anything else. Even grabbing the S shape took a lot of clicks to pick up. Thanks for sharing!

agmcleod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:56am

The graphics and feel of the game is very well done. Not sure if maybe some hints earlier on might have helped, but either way well done.

dertom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Nice, you built up a very dense atmosphere. Even though I wasn't 100% sure what I'm doing to advance I came to a certain point :D Well, done and very polished. Good job!

AlanBazan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Great game! I think I have to play again to catch the idea. Great music and mood too!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:20pm

You crazy man???!!!!

Show de bola, game zerado!!!!

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Nice game! Cool graphics and mood.

Frosnite says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Surprisingly cool game, when you get to understand what to do :P. Took me a while to figure out that I could move my character on the first level as I was moving my second, but that discovery alone made me love this game :D. I love the artwork and was exhilarated when I heard the song from the lowermost level! Would love to play a longer version of that game. The concept is amazing, but I'm still not quite sure what everything stood for.

Overall, great game awesomely delivered as a minimalist story! Cheers!

aare says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:26am

Nice little game, I really enjoyed the expirience

FrederickK says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

Very beautiful and well made. Congrats guys! :)

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:07am

It's a very lovely game that has interesting game mechanics. I got up to the third tier. I was just kind of running around clicking on things. I sort of understood how to play the game, but I didn't quite understand what I was supposed to do. Very lovely looking, great job!

Pierrec says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:08am

I liked the game overall, it's well made and not really knowing what we are doing or supposed to do isn't really a problem.

But seriously, I have a complain :
I had to wait like FIVE minutes to start playing the game, and I'm not talking about loading screen here, I'm talking about title screens slowly fading in and out to display a single phrase...

Ok, it sets the mood. But before having played your game, I don't know if it's good or not, I don't know if I want to play it, I don't know if it's worth 5 minutes doing nothing in front of my screen.

I'm know I'm making a big fuss of a small thing, but it really annoyed me ^^

robotality says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:33am

Great mood & storytelling! Even though the game mechanic was quite simplistic it created a great atmosphere overall. Well done guys!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Nice mood. The graphics are really sharp. I felt like the synthesizer music didn't match the crisp graphical layout.

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I played through the whole game and... understood almost nothing. Too minimalistic. I want explanations! Well, you don't have to explain... But you said that the story is great... *sigh*
Sometimes, I kept clicking one place that is supposed to do something, and, it seems, it worked only after several clicks.

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Interesting game idea. But I had an issue the first time I played. I had the fire and couldn't do anything with it. After watching your video I tried again and it worked.

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:04pm

That was pretty cool. Crazy concept to grasp but was definitely interesting to play. Really nice job!

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Interecting and innovative quest with greate mood and graphics :) Really good job!

Tozy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:45pm

At first it was difficult for me to see how the game worked. When I understood the mechanic I managed to reach the end without problems, but I couldn't understand half of the story. It's a shame because I feel I'm missing something good :(

ethankennerly says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:11pm

The monochrome backdrops, familiar melodies rendered in 8-bit, and colorful things to click on entertained me. If you continue to develop this, I did not follow the story told through clicking on ideograms.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:24am

Really interesting, and I loved the art.

FaBrito says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:38am

Hey, it's a five star for theme and graphics in my opinion! I felt like a I missed a good story, but I couldn't pass through the 2nd tier... shame on me, cuz I see that some people did.
It kinda felt too abstract, in a level I couldn't relate to, but it's probably a really individual experience.
As some other fellows pointed out, I would enjoy a click to advance mechanic instead of timeouts while presenting the game, specially because I tried to play more than once... ;)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Beatiful game. Nice gameplay, very innovative and challenging. Maybe create some hints after few seconds could help players to improve the fun. Congratulations dude!

overlordzz says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:21pm

What i understand about the story...dude sees a image of the girl and fall in love, girl's dead, so he go all the way back so he can be with her, thats what i got -_- awesome job

May 6, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Very nice game, with very nice graphics and story! Takes a while to understand it, but overall, good job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Great game. Pretty emotional with an abstract representation. What tool did you use for realize this game?

May 7, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice art style. I like the game!

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I have no idea what I'm doing in this game, but it is very charming! Graphics and sound are really good but it needs a little intro or tutorial.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]