April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tado Toss

by PixelOaks - Jam Entry

Tado Toss is a multi-player arena game. You play as a tado dog with the minimal ability to throw deadly potatoes at others!

Controls:
Please look at the included image.

Make sure to play in full screen for maximum fun! (F12)

Share with your friends for a 4 on 4 tado-tossing rumble!

(Note: There might be some latency/lag issues. Currently seeing about fixing that)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#37Fun(Jam)3.69
#45Humor(Jam)3.46
#50Audio(Jam)3.82
#52Graphics(Jam)4.15
#54Overall(Jam)3.76
#108Mood(Jam)3.51
#292Innovation(Jam)2.90
#477Theme(Jam)2.55

Comments

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

Wow! Awesome! An online game in only 72 hours? Great art, fun minimal game. I spent a good 20 minutes throwing potatoes at strangers. Definitely a recipe for success.

basspenguin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

How was this possible!? How big was your team?! lol

Great work. I could see this being the start of a game that I would find in steam.

PixelOaks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20am

Nonameghost: Thanks, glad you liked it.

Basspenguin: Thanks! On this Jam it was only 4 of us working.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

In Tado Toss there are no winners, Only less-losers. Haha, great game though. I think this is the first multiplayer ludum dare game I've seen. Awesome Job!

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

Nice, tossed some spuds at first and then we all became friends and tried to climb the terrain :)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

Hah found a great place to snipe from on top of the blue hut :) Excellent work, this is lots of fun!

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48am

I never knew throwing spuds at random dog rabbit creature things could be so much fun. Multiplayer spud arena in a 72 hour jam, awesome job!

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05am

God I love that little dog bro

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Very very cool !

grimpunch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Great multiplayer fun! :D

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Very nice game. Potatoes for the win!

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

First I was all alone :(
But then someone joined and it was a lot of fun. :D

I imagine this would be really cool if played with more people. :)

It looks amazing and the music fits the colorful graphics.
Great job!

PixelOaks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I think I might have been the one who joined :D
I'm glad everyone is enjoying it! Working on fixing some of the lag issues for those who've had them!

- Programmer of the team

Oliver Simon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

This was very fun. It's fantastic for an effort of only 72 hours. It would be more fun with a few more players online.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:36am

Love the graphics style. Really impressive to get an online game like this up and working!

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Amazingly refined multiplayer product for a jam entry. The only complaint I had was the player didn't capture my mouse.

Dabuuker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Luckily I had a friend to call upon to try this, the lobby was empty (a basic AI for a situation like that maybe). It was very fun, loved the feel of the controls and overall style.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Awesome and impressive!
The graphic and music is good,
And the character is cute lol.

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Oh maaaaan this is cute! One of my favorites so far! That run cycle!!! Augh so great! The music is awesome too!

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Seems fun but nobody to play against when i tested it !

robotality says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:29pm

I had actually one to test it with, but he/she logged out when I was winning ;( anyway looks nice but it would look even better with a skybox.
The fights are a little bit simple: Mostly standing infront of each other and hitting the mouse button.
Overall quite an game for 72h especially with the muliplayer support. :)

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:50pm

wow, I'd so much like to get the source of this (since I wanted to create an unity arena multiplayer game for a long time)

well done - I managed to get in a game with other players and had a lot of funk (once I got used to the controls)

very well done :)

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Nice graphics and animations.

Nick Cash says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I'm going to have to learn Unity. The stuff you can make with it so quickly is awesome! My friend and I played this for about ten minutes and enjoyed ourselves. The music is fitting and doesn't get annoying, the animations are great, and it has a good aesthetic. One of the few LD games I've played where I was legitimately amused for an extended period of time. Well done! :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:26pm

What a shame there was no one else to play against. However, it looked like it might be fun, and I enjoyed the animations.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Fun multi-player potato arena! Tight all-around design!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Congratulations on making an online game in such a short time! It looks great and sounds great. However, nobody was online when I tried to play so I didn't give an overall or a fun rating.

zkenshin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Fun game, nice work. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]