April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shrink Shift

by MrHalfman - Jam Entry

You are a removal man : the city where you live didn't have enough space. With your superpowers you have to clean & shrink flats by emptying them.

Move items one by one to the exit, be careful : the world depends on you.

Credits :
- Lykan : Sound & Music
- Azopi : Graphism
- Demurgos & Halfman : Development
- Cabra : Level Design

Disclaimer #1 : Loading can be long (5 Minutes max)
Disclaimer #2 : The game is fully working but we dind't had enough time to implement all the things that we want to implement. A Post-Mortem version will be posted soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#175Humor(Jam)2.59
#210Audio(Jam)3.09
#406Fun(Jam)2.53
#413Mood(Jam)2.48
#422Theme(Jam)2.79
#457Overall(Jam)2.64
#524Innovation(Jam)1.98
#525Graphics(Jam)2.06

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Nice take on the block pushing game!

titi987 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:00am

I like the music but graphics are too simple.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

Cool new take on sokoban! Great job with the music.

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

Removal man )) That's funny one!

Demurgos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Certainly one of my best games so far. :)

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Cool concept ! Great game ;)

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I love the concept, but the movement was way too slow for my tastes.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Love this game, even the graphic and style :D

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Good puzzles, but I got stuck with the last (or maybe second to last) of the "red" levels. Also there was no "Remove" spell but maybe I just didn't get far enough.

Good music, though!

brookman32k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

I found the reaction of the controls a bit unsatisfying. Made me quit the game pretty quick. I like your concept, but it could have been executed better (I think improving the movement will do a lot). I like the music and sfx of your game... reminds me of some old classics.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Great music, I live chiptunes! The game itself was pretty good and amusing. Pixelart is a bit simple but it fits the music ;-) Also there is a bit annoying delay between pressing a key and movement

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24pm

nice :D

Demurgos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

[[I love the concept, but the movement was way too slow for my tastes.]]
@hissssssssss :
It certainly depends of the persons, I received other reclamations because the game was to fast.

[[Good puzzles, but I got stuck with the last (or maybe second to last) of the "red" levels.]]
@fysx :
Thank you. :)
If you are talking about the 5th red level (2 openings : bottom left & bottom right), he's really challenging but is possible (don't forget about the spell). The "remove" spell was added but we did not have time to create enough GOOD levels so we hide it for the PostMortem version and the tip remained (there are 24 levels in the game).

[[I found the reaction of the controls a bit unsatisfying.]]
@brookman32k:
Can you explain a bit more ? I fully rebuilt the controls because they were a real pain before, now they seem good. Are there too fast, too slow, do not respond ?

[[Also there is a bit annoying delay between pressing a key and movement]]
@Qaterknan:
Thanks for playing. Normally the game just waits the previous movement animation to end. But if there is a delay when the character is not already moving... erm that's strange. Can you explain a bit more how you feel that ?

Yacodo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:15am

The music take me by the hands and say : "Play!", nice work.

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:46pm

This reminds me of an old Windows 3.11 game I used to play! Very nice execution, plus the music is very fun! Great entry overall

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12pm

@messiano : Thanks it was one of the effect we wants to do :). We love retro games and making games that we played in our childhood is kinda like a dream.

jtzp4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Reminds me these old Sokoban games.
Cool game, I love the music!

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:08pm

@jtzp4 : Thanks :). Feel free to listen the music on soundcloud (plus 1 bonus theme ;) ) : https://soundcloud.com/cyrilvincent/sets/ludum-dare

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:02pm

The decision to make the control scheme as confusing as possible is baffling to me. Was the intention to make it more challenging by making the controls clumsy and unintuitive? Because please don't make a habit of doing that with games. It's the worst kind of way to make a game challenging and it's simply frustrating.

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Sorry, my earlier comment was mistaken. When I glanced over how to control the game, I saw the QZAD keys mentioned and I didn't read a bit lower to see that the arrow keys were an option as well, so I mistakenly was trying to control with QZAD alone. Sorry--I've fixed the rating.

Now that I'm not being an idiot in controlling it, it's much better. I find it a bit frustrating when I get in a stuck situation where I have to restart a level because there's nothing else I can do, but that's just my personal preferences. It's actually not bad, though the music loop gets a tad tiresome after a while.

Demurgos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Ok, thanks.
Yes I still don't understand why Halfman choosed to support the Azerty keyboards instead of Qwerty.
At least you was able to test the game as it should be ;)

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58pm

@Cybearg : Thanks for the correction ;). (In addition : it's not QZAD but ZQSD keys as mentioned)

Music was a hard choice : Shall we do a longer but only one music or multiple small musics ? We chooses to make one music per chapter.

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:59pm

@Demurgos : Because I have an Azerty keyboard...

Demurgos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Oups, sorry.
He explained it and finally I totally agree with his reasons.

ZYXer says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:30am

Quite a tricky game. I especially like the music. :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:25am

sorry -- could not figure it out -- nice effort.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Simple but effective style! I really tried to beat the whole game, but it's simply way too long for me (I have no idea how you could fit that many levels in 72 hours). Anyways, I can see you didn't spend much time in graphics/sound and more on level design and gameplay. The only problem would be that you made way too much so that the player has a hard time actually finishing the game. I think I just spent 10-20 minutes on a flash game and only got up to the blue section part.

Lykan says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Hey pikmin4000, thx for your comment.
I actually did spend 72h in sounds quality, but maybe you just don't like 8bit or chiptune musics. :)
Feel free to listen all my other non-8bit game musics on my soundcloud ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]