April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

swim

by codl - Jam Entry

Hey all, this is Vivix and I's jam entry. It's my second jam and Vivix's first.

It's some sort of swimming simulator.

The map is generated procedurally so give it time to load.

We're still not quite sure if this is a game. More of a relaxing experience perhaps.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Mood(Jam)3.50
#178Theme(Jam)3.53
#183Audio(Jam)3.22
#235Graphics(Jam)3.35
#409Innovation(Jam)2.50
#419Overall(Jam)2.76
#511Fun(Jam)2.10
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Vivix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Woo! It's done!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52am

Beautiful.

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54am

Really nice music, fits the theme really well.

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

It is relaxing, with the occasional glowing fish swimming by it would be interesting. Sadly you didn't do any game mechanics, so much going on on the bottom of the oceans, survival isn't easy and you can see many interesting things. high points for audio and mood.

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59am

I really like the style and movement! Unfortunately it takes me a really long time to generate the map (over a minute). Then I got stuck in seaweed and couldn't figure out how to get out other than refreshing and waiting another minute for the terrain generation. The map does look cool though.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Got the same issues with the map generation.

The view kinda annoyed me too. It wasn't smooth enough to fit with the overall mood (in my point of view). My character was always in the left of right part of the screen, so I couldn't see what's coming.

I think, to get more of the "diving into the ocean" feeling you should really care about this view stuff. Getting your character fixed in the center of the screen would perhaps help to feel totally surrounded by water ? Or what about some kind of dezooming too ?

Just some ideas : ) Anyway, nice job !

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

I like it. creates a wonderful atmosphere

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

theRestlessTaxidermists kind of said what I wanted to say. Relaxing environment, but the load seems excessive and the camera would be more effective if you could see more where you were going.

The mood's nice, though, and the tech seems impressive even if it's more toy than game.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

The landscape generation is really great !!! I always like games focused on water experience. Too bad there are no treasures to collect !

codl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:13am

Thank you all for the kind words :)

I've added a link on the game's page to a newer version which tries to make map generation a bit faster. Sadly there isn't much more I can do to speed it up while keeping the same kind of results, as far as I know.

The new version also has a much more reactive camera, as suggested by theRestlessTaxidermists and Hadyn. Thanks again for the feedback!

May 2, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I find it really nice. And i like the audio!

AaronYip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Beautiful environment, reminded me a lot of OneMrBean's [Together]: http://onemrbean.blogspot.com/2010/08/together.html (:

meszka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Beautiful environment. It's pretty fun just exploring. Would be nice if there were more things you could interact with.

michail says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Maybe it's not a game, but exploring generated map was still fun :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Map generation is cool, nice atmosphere too, it's too bad there isn't more interactivity.

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:49pm

nice and moody. lovely piece of tech, art and music.

FREEZX says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Cool visuals and awesome mood. But i would rather call this a tech demo.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]