April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniCave

by aare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I always wanted to make platformer, so here it is :)
You play as a blue triangle with the goal to survive for as long as you can. This pettit triangle comes with three different weapons attachet that vary in speed and damage. Landing on a different corner of the triangle activates different weapon.
That's the theory, in practice it's quite random and buggy - I had some unexpected problems with inkscape, parsing SVG and stuff so there wasn't enough time left to fix it.

To shoot press S, to jump space and move using arrows. Jumping mechanic is also buggy (man, platformers are HARD!) and sometimes you would need to move around a bit before be able to jump. Sorry about that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#336Innovation3.41
#464Graphics3.16
#475Theme3.62
#576Overall3.15
#610Fun2.93
#730Audio2.41
#747Humor1.98
#852Mood2.59

Comments

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

It took me a while to realize that each side of the triangular ship fires different weapon. somehow the square-chunks weapon only seem to paralyze the stubborn yellow boxes.
I thought from the impression it was going to be a 'lunar-lander' game based from the screens, instead it's a tricky platformer with bastardized yellow boxes. keep it up!

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

Really nice game, very solid looking and fun. My one complaint is that there is no objective other than to score points. Maybe if there was a waypoint of some sort

Harsay says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Nice game but it gets boring after few minutes.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Love it, but difficult, i kept alive only few seconds

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Graphics are beautiful. Controls a little bit hard.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I like the concept, and the graphics are crisp and well done (as well as the physics - platformer style, but not too floaty). My only complaint is that it does get boring after a short time.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Pretty clever! I have a lot of fun with it!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Interesting one! I like the simple survival mechanic, glad theres no objectives! Sorry @Hayawi! Lacks replay value though.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

LOL Was fun. I think that with less enemies at the beginning would be a lot better.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Very nicely done. I love how you completely change the way the game feels just by making the player character a triangle. Only complaint is that enemy respawns were instant, meaning that killing enemies (which is hard!) is not actually that rewarding in terms of survival.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

Smooth and playable.

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

Slick presentation, love the physics-y approach to it. Wish it could be restarted even more quick as I kept dying hehe. 1380 was my highscore.

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

Really nice, graphics are cool.

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

Actually pretty decent considering your first platformer! Cool ideas and not that buggy from my play experience... Pretty fun! Would've liked to have more structure though like levels of increasing difficulty, but then again, it is Ludum Dare.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:07am

At first glance I was intrigued by the player mechanics. Only after a couple mins I was able to move around in a decent way. It was cool.
I bet implementing a game with this kind of chaotic control scheme/mechanic is not an easy task!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50am

Fits theme well, was fairly difficult

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48am

Simple and addictive =)
Jumping is glitchy. Also I can't understand how weapon changed =(

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Would liked to have some goal instead of just shooting thing for score. Also, a bit more control would have been nice.

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Loved the control mode, even though it made the game tricky ( Slight contradiction there I know ) but it's a great core mechanic.
Nice work mate.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

Fun game! Figuring out how to not die in the first few seconds was hard. Nice graphics.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:04am

Nice one! It's a funny/cool concept. My only suggestion is regarding the balancing. I think the most powerful weapon should kill enemies in one shot. It's a little dissatisfying to just sit there kinda chipping away at the enemy's health even when using a weapon that appears powerful.

Zemmi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:15am

Cool controls, I really liked how weapon switching worked Would have been cool to see a wider variety of weapon types, like a laser or spread shot. My high score is 1140.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26am

I Really like this game!
I love the weapon-change mechanic and the physics.
Very hard game, but gives great gratification on kills! :)
It needs an high-score!

Kyle Bolton says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:29am

I really liked the way weapon switching works, though I wish I had more control over it somehow. Sometimes it was a little difficult to keep up with which side would fire which weapon type.

Good job!

Pat Hemphill says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

At one point I was able to cling to a wall by pressing in that direction which allowed me to hang out as a turret and shoot at all the squares with relative safety. I'm not sure if that is a bug or a feature. Fun game overall.

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:26am

Well, that's one of the weirdest platformers I've ever played. :) It is kind of cool being a triangle that can't move except by jumping and translating. I wish it was easier to defend yourself though or know which spot the weapons would pop out of. I'd almost like it better if whatever weapon was active popped out on the side you were moving towards w/ the keys. Or maybe all three sides. I died SO MUCH. Still fun and it made me laugh a lot.

kidevil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:38am

Cool concept, but the random firing thing made it difficult to shoot anything. Maybe have it so the arrow keys change which gun is active?

TiDitto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:19am

"machine gun" is very very annoying, very cool though. Im guessing that the ability to stick to walls is a glitch? useful glitches are the best, good job!

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:31am

Very cool game, digging the triangle mechanic--brilliant concept, and very polished and innovative implementation for your first platformer. (:

Nsmurf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:20am

Nice!

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

That was neat, a bit tricky to gain control (meaning how long it took me to sync up my hand-eye coordination) -- Well done. Assuming it doesn't have levels you should make them so that I can get to a door instead of just sitting around shooting. I didn't have any motivation to move around.

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:25am

I like how it looks and feels, but I get killed way too soon everytime I try to play it.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:57am

The graphics are simple but pretty and the gameplay is decent. Great job!

Skoggy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:25am

Cool concept, very hard to control.

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29am

Not bad. Found a spot where i could sit and shoot indefinitely and just keep ranking up points tho. Bit Hectic until then.

Anickyan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:50am

Really awesome game, took a while to get used to controlling it. You should add some form of progression, though.

This game has great potential, you should keep working on it!

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:03am

I liked the idea of this game. I died the first few times, but having a score made me want to keep going back and try to beat it. I liked how each side did something different, although it did make me fling myself about a bit to see if another side would be more effective.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24am

It has nice and simple graphics and the concept is good. I do find the controls kind of hard and the replay value isn't that high for me.

Anyway: good job ;)

vapgames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:01am

Cool concept!

Metamist says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Very unique game, and also very difficult. Good job!

JaydenB says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Could have used some 8-bit background music to suit those sprites. And, I found it difficult to turn the triangle around when the side changed, and died many times because of this. Other than them, it was pretty solid and loved the idea and graphical representation of it!

bytegrove says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Cool idea having the behaviour change based on angle, really cool! The difficulty was a little to high for me though, and having to wait while the score screen faded away became frustrating as I died a lot. :P But the concept is really nice, thumbs up!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Fun concept with the three different weapons, too bad on the bugs though. Really nice style considering the theme. Missing music...

rxi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Really interesting concept, and though there wasn't much of it I did enjoy it. This is something I'd really like to see explored further into a full game. Nice work.

Cryovat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:03pm

The way the weapon switching worked felt a bit arbitrary, but apart from that I liked it. It could get pretty nuts. :D

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Very nice, looks very solid and I like the idea! It just needs more concrete goals to keep our attention.

ryuurei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Controlling the triangle was fun to learn to do, and the squares seemed fairly smart. The different weapons were a nice touch, but the game really lacked in audio.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I like the core concept of this game and the graphics. Would be nice to have some levels with different goals and different enemies, to use the different weapons with.

Wiering says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Nice that you can stay in the air against a wall and fire from there. Too bad the enemies keep coming back, I'd prefer to clear a level and go to the next.

bluescrn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Certainly an interesting idea, a triangular player with a weapon per edge, but it was a bit too unpredictable, and I never felt in control. Nice experiment though, and a nice minimal style to it

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Realy like the innability to have "precise" control !! Nice

d_durham says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I like the idea of the different weapons on each side, but I found the controls a bit tricky. The graphics are really nice, well done.

Xion says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:18pm

It's a bit too hard, and I felt like an actual destination would have been a much better motivator than a high score. I like the way the weapon switching works though, and the graphics are very nice and clean.

cableplays says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really Cool idea except it was hard to figure out how to switch which way the player was shooting!

orangepascal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:28pm

high challenge level, but fun :)

BradleySmith says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:32pm

This is really fun and quite a neat idea, awesome work!

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:59am

Nicely made. Good graphics. Fits the theme but it's difficult and a little bit repetitive :)

ddionisio says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:48am

Interesting take on the shooting mechanic, though it got a little too chaotic. Hard to strategize. I manage to get a handle of the controls and am able to stay longer. Pretty cool overall! Graphics is spot on with theme and doesn't feel cheap.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]