April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Depletion

by Riley Adams - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Extract and run bin/Depletion.exe to play.

This is Depletion. I'm not 100% sure how to categorize it. It's a simple (heh, minimal I hope...) first person survival game. You have a limited and ever depeleting amount of energy and you must keep exploring the bleak, procedurally generated landscape to find energy packs in abandoned structures. And you're not alone, flying enemies will attack and attempt to track you if they catch you in their spotlights. The goal is simply to survive as long as possible.

WASD moves, SHIFT sprints, MOUSE looks, and ESC quits.

It's really _really_ untested/unbalanced/etc, and to be honest not really any fun, but it was fun to make; I had a string of LD's where I gave up midway through and it's really nice to get back to actually finishing *something*.

I haven't super-extensively tested (especially on Windows, since I developed on Linux). I had some visual issues (alpha blended objects not appearig at all) on a laptop with an Intel integrated GPU, so there may be some problems of that nature with such devices... Let me know if you have any critical issues and maybe I can get a patch up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

solons says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

The colors are so pretty - I could get lost in these dunes forever! Also, those footprints are so lovely.

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

I really liked the graphics, although I did not see the red light on the ground only black and white (it is awesome !) and also I did not see that house.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

Awesome graphics! A little journey-ish (i should remark that i haven't played journey yet). The procedular landscape makes it feel like really getting lost in the dessert. There is not much to do but waiting and get some energy and try to find new buildings that some times are too too far away to reach... well, just like a real desert xD

jolle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:43am

Seems to work fine on Windows.

Pretty cool, but it gets old relatively quickly. I found some houses, stayed around to use the energy packs, moved on to the next building I saw. Hid a bit from red thingies. Was a tiny bit of an ARMA feeling. Would have liked more of a goal.

May 3, 2013 @ 2:31am

If you are using shaders, you should add a blur shader and anti-aliasing :) would make the outlines look better (I think)

gregdevice says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:47am

Nice setting! I felt like I was being hunted. Would be cool if they could track your footsteps. Nice work!

JawbonedHero says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Cool idea. Might be nice if enemies would spawn / move in on you whenever you come close to a house / energy so that you have some motivation to move on quickly, but otherwise great job.

RedElixir says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I played this game, and I fell in love with it, it's style is awesome, but the gameplay can get kind of slow, as JawbonedHero said, it needs motication to keep you mooving quickly.

QXD-me says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:29pm

This was really good: it created a very tense atmosphere, although it desperately needs some audio.

I only saw a few buildings near the start then couldn't find any. I don't know if that was intentional, but it would be nice to have more of them appear. There was also occasional pop-in of the landscape, but that was only a minor issue.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Really quite fun! I only found two health packs in the four times I played, but the red orbs freaked me out!

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:39pm

From my Jammate Brian: "First run I fell through the map floor. Subsequent runs went pretty well. I like the exploring aspect quite a bit. Found myself just wandering around for the heck of it earlier."

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:13am

Very stylistic look.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice graphics, but...I have run, I have found some house with health pack... I avoided the red light...But i Haven't understand what I'm suposed to do.

Hologuardian says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Beautiful!

Keast says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Make it multiplayer and throw in some character development and I'll buy it! (:

infinitedog says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Cool game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]