April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Doad

by magicdweedoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#428Humor2.42
#987Innovation2.50
#1149Theme2.81
#1175Mood2.10
#1309Graphics1.75
#1332Fun1.46
#1337Overall1.83

Comments

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

Not sure I understand, is there just menus to navigate and no game? Minimalism is about doing a lot with a little, not simply doing a little.

scriptorum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

I like that you made a game out of trying to unlock menu system secrets, but I wish there was more to it. Also, I set my fly controls to fart and it didn't work.

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

Unfortunately I discovered after a while of experimentation that the arrow keys reset your progress for some reason. Wasn't compelled to try again.

magicdweedoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

woops! thanks for pointing that out thriftshirt!!
I'm going to fix it once this thing is over.

Frolacosta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

I liked it although I found that the menus were unresponsive at times and it could've been done better.

Also, here's a tip for using GM: Studio. Once you've created the application, open the index.html file in something like notepad and look for the <title> tag near the top of the page. That lets you change the page title from Created with GameMaker:Studio to whatever you like :)

magicdweedoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

oh cool, cheers frolacoaster

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

Slightly too minimal I think, it has potential though.

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I tried. I got stuck somewhere in the menu. Cool idea though.

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:40am

Kinda hard to see.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:40am

I had a good laugh with a few of the different combinations. :)

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55am

Quite min! I liked it.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:15pm

It ends at loading then?

rezzish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:48pm

That was wonderful. Once it clicked I loved looking into the rest of the menus.

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
IS there a game?

The controls were funny, but after a while of not being able to play the game, I just kept refreshing. And then there WAS no game.

:/

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:32am

A bit odd, but certainly unique. It would be great if you could restart without refreshing the browser. Some audio would help too. You certainly went minimal on this one!

magicdweedoo says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:02am

max good idea I will add a Restart button in the end... maybe button click sfx / toggle

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]