April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Hero

by Kimau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 Sec Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=xGgGu84svSo

Minimal Hero is the exploration of a minimal where I tried to strip out all the unneeded bits. Everything is done with mouse and left mouse (or one touch). Actually removed some visual stuff that felt like too much.

The web version is my preferred version, likely to do a Post Compo version on Android.

Today I was going to do two more modes based around locking picking and shooting and had all the mechanics planned out but just felt it layered in too much. Also sticking to the 3 colour limit.
Also loaded up SFXR and left most of today for sound but I found it didn't feel right when I started dropping sounds in.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#344Innovation3.40
#386Theme3.71
#717Graphics2.83
#758Overall2.98
#843Fun2.67
#872Mood2.57
#885Humor1.81

Comments

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

Game appears to get stuck on "HERO" screen. Unrunnable.

Kimau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

What platform? Did you press down the mouse button?

Fadobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Really cool. Took me a while to figure out that HERO is actually a level and how to control. The ball feels a bit heavy at times, but it's great fun and really challenging.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

The level design is really hard for such different controls and it's explained poorly in the game howto play. Also the moving platform moves waaaaay to fast, I can't beat that level x.x

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Found it pretty funny, the physics was really different from what I expected, like falling in Jelly.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I like it, but it takes till about the 3rd level to get really interesting. Seems cool.

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I'm not sure if this is the right idea, but maybe a little bit more responsive controls would make it better? Right now movements feels a little bit too clunky.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Pretty good once you get the hang of it. For ages I was wondering why the hero was only jumping tiny amounts - I didn't realise I had to drag it sideways before up!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Worked perfectly. Love the changing camera distances. This would be ideal for phones and tablets as I'm sure you've considered. Keep up the great work, USER NUMBER FIFTEEN!

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

I rather enjoyed this. I thought the control system worked well, though the stealth levels were a highlight (partly because the falling was so slow on the platforming levels).

DST says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Brilliant idea!

Corofides says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:56pm

The concept seemed pretty good I wasn't too fond of the controls though. Also the title screen takes a while to figure out.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Gravity could do with being a bit faster, so you can get back and redo the level faster once you know you're screwed. Generally a good thing in skill heavy, difficult jumpers to let you retry quickly :)

Once you figure out the controls it's a lot of fun and the levels are imaginative and challenging :)

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

The controls are a bit frustrating, and it feels like the ball is slowing down in mid air sometimes.

Good work though!

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I managed to get to the level you pointed out on the second screenshot (the green one).
I would say the controls need more work. They are way unresponsive at the moment, especially the Jump.
The concept is good.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Nice!

Kimau says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Might do an android version with more levels and tweak the controls. I intentionally kept them immediate and analog. Though they don't seem to have gone down well.

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Nice game -nice graphics . The "falling" is a bit slow.

henrykun says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Pretty cool game. At the beginning it was a bit difficult to understand how to play but once I did it worked good. Maybe I'll enjoy a higher gravity, to have a better control over the player. This game would be suitable for touchscreen devices in my opinion :).

KEFIR says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I can't pass level with platform. Ball falling so sloooooow :( But conception is really cool! I'll try it on my android device!

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:33am

Very good gameplay idea! Manipulating the objects was pretty fun!

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Not bad, the movement is a bit frustrating, especially in the air. Id have prefered keyboard controls.

Interesting mix of top down and platforming.

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Good game.
Falling feels way too slow at times.
Managed to get stuck on the moving platform level and hat to restart the game. The platform pushed me inside the wall and it wouldn't respawn. A way to restart a level would be nice as it was irritating having to wait sometimes.
Also the level after the one on your primary screenshot goes back a level when you die which seems inconsistent.
Still don't know how the level with the rope worked, managed to complete it somehow...
Not sure whats up with the final Hero screen, could move about a bit then it stopped.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]