April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Compositions

by Kali Purr - Jam Entry

My man Scott Inglis used his Mathemagical skills to make the things move and actually come to life.

All I did was give it a voice.

Also technically you, the player, are the artist, so we all made this happen! Yeah!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Theme(Jam)3.87
#116Fun(Jam)3.33
#126Overall(Jam)3.53
#134Graphics(Jam)3.73
#283Innovation(Jam)2.93
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

gameXcore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Your links all lead me to empty white pages.

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Another Mondrian game! I love it. Love this style so much, am glad to see it featuring in Ludum Dare. This has similar mechanics to another game I played but I think (not wishing to be harsh on the other one) that I prefer this implementation. Tighter, brighter, and the output feels more Mondrian-like. Very nice.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I think your links might be broken.

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07am

A nice artistic spin on a classic game, though I wish it were a littler more challenging.

Trench says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

Pretty fun but it was horribly short!

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Very fun, and simple. Great job !

brookman32k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

This game concept has been seen many, but it is nice how you incorporated it in the minimalism theme. I like the music and sounds very much.

evilseanbot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:22am

I love the presentation, Sound effects oddly reminded me of Killer 7.

Another evel would have been nice!

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:08am

The game takes a while to load so be patient.

As a creator of another Mondrian-themed game, I really, really, really liked this one. It's so polished and professional and dynamic, with beautiful artwork and lovely sound effects and really nicely matching music. In some respects I was hoping that what I built would be able to come out as nicely as this.

Great work. Much compliments.

Kali Purr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:06am

Oh wow, I'l really overwhelmed by the feedback, guys!
Yes, the game takes a little while to load, but I unfortunately couldn't tell you why that is. Please be patient, even though it can be a little frustrating. All I really want is to share this experience with you guys. :)

Kali Purr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:08am

And yes! The levels!! I feel each an d everyone of you on that! We just didn't have time to think of that. We both wanted to make something that felt like a complete and well thought out project, given our time limit (and, you know, life outside the Jam).

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:40am

Taking the classic game Jezzball and turning it into minimalist are is pretty clever, the game is simple but a very solid entry.

Aevek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:08pm

A concept I've seen several times in this competition, but by far the best implemented that I've found. Actually played like a game, and I had a lot of fun with it.

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:57pm

This seems to be a duplicate entry - I already rated the other one (see http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=5127), so I won't rate this one, but it was cool. I used Mondrian as well, but in a very different way.

Kali Purr says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:13am

@DaveDobson yeah, you're right. I talked about it over with my partner and we decided to both put it up through our separate accounts. I'm glad you liked it, though! Thanks for checking it out.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Really addicitive, great graphics and music. I'd suggest adding a limit of times you can try to separate the balls so players don't keep spamming.

ZYXer says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Wow, what a great take at the theme! Now we know how Mondrian created his art: He built a time machine and played your game ;)

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:23pm

simplified xonix. like, seriously?

ncgames says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:23pm

awesome. simple yet innovative

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]