April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Tater Conspiracy

by Korda - Jam Entry

What is the Tater?
Where did they come from?
Why do you care?

All these questions and more may or may not be answered in:
THE TATER CONSPIRACY

The Tater Conspiracy is a First Person Treasure Hunt
Find the clues, solve the riddles and discover the truth behind the Tater Conspiracy

WASD - Move
Space - Jump
LMB - Interact
RMB - Show Current Clue

Linux and Mac builds are untested.
Comments are welcomed.

*All versions have been updated to remove player blocking wall from the maze
*Added source files

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#68Mood(Jam)3.68
#96Graphics(Jam)3.88
#133Theme(Jam)3.67
#170Overall(Jam)3.38
#233Audio(Jam)3.03
#282Humor(Jam)2.10
#287Fun(Jam)2.84
#334Innovation(Jam)2.77

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:23am

Are these shapes Unity-made primitives? Nice shader... I had some trouble moving the character it I think when facing the majority of objects. Maybe there's no distance culling + the effects?

Merkoth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27am

Like the color palette and the ambience. Nice job!

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

@Preclucid Some primitives some export from 3D software. The distances are quite large but I didnt have any issues on my end with controls so Im not sure what the problem is.

@Merkoth Thank you!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32am

Well I absolutely loved the visuals. My biggest problem was the sensitivity of the turning of the mouse, but maybe that was because it was a tad laggy for me. Overall nice!

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Thanks Qdowngames, I have my mouse sensitivity pretty low by default maybe that's the cause

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

Cool look and feel. The mouse moves very fast and I couldn't figure out where to go past the first clue though.

Aevek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46am

I was loving this game and desperately searching for the next key, when suddenly there was a huge inexplicable diagonal wall across the middle of the maze. :(

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

@ Aevek Haha sorry I thought I moved that damn

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

This is brilliant, but I got stuck in the maze. I thought I followed the right path but there was a massive block in the way. Anyway, the visuals are great, the town eerie, and the puzzles clever (up to the point where I got stuck).

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56am

Nice ambient game, didn't make it to the end kept getting stuck on the maze. But nice job anyway!

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

@ ilo and Jellycakes Thank you! Its not your fault you got stuck in the maze the wall from above was intruding in on it
I have updated the webplayer with a fix for it. The stand alone versions are being updated now but take a while to upload

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

I really enjoyed the visual style of this game, the gameplay was also quite smooth and enjoyable, though the mouse sensitivity is a little high.

raincole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

It's amazing that you made these primitives so well-looking

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:54am

Amazing visuals that really set an eerie mood. The mouse was a bit too sensitive and laggy, as others have said. I got stuck after the third clue. I like it!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:29am

This town is really cool ! Fun fact: i have found a strange triangle in the ground but it was a pit to oblivion. Anyway good job !

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Wow incredible job on the look, lightmapping, and mood of the scene, really love walking around and looking at your world. Kinda reminds me of a Brandon Chung game.

Embarrassingly I couldn't get past the first clue at the fountain. Arrived there just not sure what to do.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Ambience was nice, but I didn't really get what was going on, which gave me little incentive. Got some clues, but they do what? A bit more agency would have gone a long way. Still, looked nice.

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Thanks everyone! The lack of agency was actually intentional my aim was to see how far people could get with as little info as possible. @ataxkt Right Mouse Button displays the clue

Teejay5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:29am

The windows link appears to be 404'd!

Teejay5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:30am

scratch that, i just had to reload the page.

bbrown2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:39am

Beautiful, playing this game is like walking through a De Chirico painting. A game this good deserves a better ending and title.

Korda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:30am

Thanks a lot bbrown2. I actually forgot about the ending until the last minute.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Hey I reached the the end of the game with only 2 solved Clues :D I don't want to spoil... But this is a really nice game. Soundscape fits perfect to that simplified Design... Nice piece of work

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:40am

Not bad! I like your minimalistic design =)
I got three clues and got lost into underground =(

OrangeeZ says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Wonderfully executed. Soundtrack, a feel similar to Gravity Bone, great minimalistic design and a potato - I liked it all.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]