April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pink Haze

by jwin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pink Haze is a minimalist take on the third-person shooter.

Arrow or WASD keys to move.
Space to shoot, aiming is automatic.
Do nothing to duck behind cover, reload, and heal.
The symbol on your back displays health and ammo.
Rooms are shuffled on each playthrough, but the final room can only be reached by beating them all in a single round.

EDIT: I think my original instructions were a bit too minimalist. :( If you stand completely still and don't shoot, you'll duck down. This lets you hide behind boxes (you won't get hit) as well as reload and heal after a couple seconds, and is generally a good idea when several baddies are all shooting at you.

UPDATE: I've added a post-compo update of Pink Haze!
* Two new rooms!
* Infinite play. Keep randomly going through the rooms until you die. No more disappointing ending.
* Some small style and AI tweaks .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#38Fun3.86
#68Overall3.86
#113Graphics3.88
#163Mood3.46
#318Audio3.10
#336Innovation3.41
#408Theme3.68
#444Humor2.40

Comments

TylerNocks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11am

Very Nice!!!

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:16am

Best game I've played so far!

bb_buster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

I Liked it, nice and simple and pretty fun =)
Good job.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

Very cool

Zenithik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

Awesome :D

maloki says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

I love the concept! At first my right hand felt awkward not having to do anything...until I remembered that the arrow keys worked too. :P

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

I like how all the necessary info you need is integrated into the back of your character.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

Casual. When my brain hurts from playing so many games the one handed thing feels nice for some reason.

Canyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

Not having to use the mouse was awesome. I digged the music and the art style.

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37am

Brilliant!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

One of the best games on here. a endless mode with harder enemies would be cool. love the auto aim function.

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

very nicely done, I just couldn't get the hang of the controls though :S probably more my fault than yours! :P

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45am

Really great. I liked the randomization of the levels and the overall visuals.

My only gripe was the "singlemindedness" of the enemies - almost all of them jump out of the cover at once, raining bullets on you; then at the same moment they all hide again.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Pretty cool!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Very nice game, congrats :)

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I loved it, but it took me fifteen tries to get past the 1st level.

KhaoTom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:18am

Wow, very clever and fun.

tzamora says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:22am

I like it.

May 4, 2013 @ 5:26am

Excellent job. By far, the funnest game I have played so far! The reloading and gaining health by ducking/not moving mechanic was nice. The level design was excellent. The animations were perfect. Hearing the bullets whiz by me was a nice touch.

I think the only problem I had about it was I don't want to stop playing it!

Very well done!

hughsk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:11am

Was actually pretty fun once I worked it out - it's a bit hard at first, but otherwise great job! :)

jwin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:21am

Thanks for playing it everyone! I'm glad so many of you seem to enjoy it.

It seems like my instructions were a bit lacking, however, so I added a tiny blurb to the description. Hopefully that will make it a bit less confusing when starting out.

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:19am

Really fun. Once I got the hang of using the cover and popping up to shoot I had a blast. Make more levels! :D

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Great cover game! Impressed by the simplicity of the system used...

Dmitrix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I like the music and graphics.

May 5, 2013 @ 12:13am

Cool game, nice and simple!

biscuitdough says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:11am

Kinda want to see it as a phone game, very interesting controls.

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Fantastic stuff, really boiled down the essence of a cover-based shooter... Really loved this one, even if it is very difficult!
Excelent work!

3.14 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Awesome game! Minimalistic Gears of War. I would really play an expanded version - more enemies, more weapons, more variety, some simple procedural storyline. More kinds of rooms.

MAKE IT INTO A FULL-BLOWN ROGUELIKE!

The ending was kind of anti-climatic tough. I entered the obelisk... and that's it.

LTyrosine says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:58pm

This game is pure fun. Nice music, furious action. Really nice work.

kyyninen says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Good reductionist take on the genre! Definitely my favourite shooter so far.

messiano says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:22am

Simple and fun, at first I didn't understand how to duck, but once I realized it then I liked the minimalistic controls. Good take on the theme.

May 6, 2013 @ 4:36am

Well done! Concept fits the theme well, and it's surprisingly fun given what little the player has to do. A lot of nice little touches as well, with the sound of bullets whizzing by and the reload/health meter on the back of the player's avatar.

fishbrain says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Nice! ...that was fun!

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:23am

Quite fun, bit hard though. :P

May 7, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very enjoyable! The controls aren't 100% spot on, but I think this is not a bug but a feature :) The ending is a bit disappointing though, it definitely left me wanting more.

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Hehe cool, like a simplified version of Mass Effect using gameplay cover.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

marnaouf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:28am

Very fun game.

gerritg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:40am

Loved it. Everything. Well, except that I'd prefer to pick/aim myself. But that's me ;)

Xanjos says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Incredibly fun and addictive. The ducking/reloading mechanic makes the game look like a really nice cross between Gears of War and Time Crisis.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]