April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Phase Shft

by nickusername1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Three small levels.
Probably lots of bugs.

Use Up arrow to throw a block once picked up.
Down arrow to phase shift selected block.
Z and X to select block for phase shift.

Down arrow freezes selected block and gives it collision or vice versa.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#543Innovation3.13
#1029Humor1.48
#1111Fun2.30
#1120Overall2.58
#1231Mood1.83
#1287Graphics1.91
#1287Theme2.43

Comments

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

I like the freeze/unfreeze mechanic. It's simple, but leads to interesting gameplay. You've got a nice concept here.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

I struggled with the controls a bit, but it's interesting!

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Neat mechanic and concept, I'd like to see it once you've fleshed it out some more. This version could use some polish.

Oh, and I managed to get it stuck on level 2 by throwing the box when flush against the wall: http://imgur.com/ZduznQc

nickusername1 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

@Jaus_LXXIV Whoops, that wasn't suppose to happen.
Thanks for the bug report, I know exactly whats causing that.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice mechanic, it's a great concept. Good gameplay too, if perhaps a little laggy.

Kilian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Z and X is always a bit hard for us QWERTZ'ies ;-)

As in the previous comments: The concept is great. I can see brain racking levels around that :)

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Ahh, this game makes me feel like a moron. I feel like I SHOULD know what I'm meant to be doing, but I don't. Which is actually a really good thing, since it's making my brain work.

Good job!

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25pm

A little tricky but the idea is great, well done! :)

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Nice game idea, a little buggy but not bad.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Cool game concept! I made it to the end after being confused for a while because the controls were a bit difficult to grok, I think simplifying them would help greatly. Here's what I'd do...

Get rid of the Z/X select block buttons. Make it so the last block the player held is the selected block. Make the selected block much more obvious like totally change color, there is only a very thin outline. Put the phase shift button on spacebar and/or z instead of down so it isn't confused with movement controls. Make it so a block changes color when it phase shifts, you need to better communicate to the player what's going. After the player has finished a few levels you can introduce more gampeplay concepts like the ability to change which block is selected instead of starting them off with that ability. Generally it works best to start the player out with the minimal tools necessary and spoon feed them new abilities as they progress.

nickusername1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01pm

@KilledByAPixel Yeah, I ran out of time before realizing how confusing it can be. Thanks for the suggestions, they make more sense.

marnaouf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Cool concept.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice adea with the physics!

Sebastian says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very nice mechanics, I wish the movement was a little smoother though!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:09am

Good concept

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Really clever idea, you could probably do quite a few more levels with it. I like the double-jumping, though the jumping in general feels a bit floaty.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Good idea for a game

FREEZX says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice game. The concept is really awesome but the controls are a bit confuzing

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]