April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

pigMINt

by Phase - Jam Entry

Pigmint is a fast-paced color-based block-smashing arcade survival-style game. See how many points you can rack up as you deflect incoming colors and land some shots on the other side.

Same-color blocks will break when they hit, but other colors will pass right through. Aim carefully! As you progress, the game will increase in difficulty, so sharpen up your reflexes. You only have so much health so keep on eye on the meter on the left...

Controls:
Mouse up/down to aim.
Mouse left/right to change color.
F11 to toggle fullscreen.



Made by Sam Suite and Sam Brown of Austin, Texas.
Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#43Innovation(Jam)3.83
#94Theme(Jam)3.80
#98Graphics(Jam)3.87
#151Fun(Jam)3.23
#164Overall(Jam)3.40
#204Audio(Jam)3.11
#236Mood(Jam)3.07
#340Humor(Jam)1.88

Comments

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34am

Cool concept and really pretty to look at. It took me a while to figure out that the x-coordinate of your mouse cursor controlled your color, though, so maybe you could spell it out explicitly in the game for people too lazy to read the description.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

Interesting game, minimalistic to be sure. Yeah, I didn't realize that you had to move your mouse horizontally to change the color either, directions could use some work. Definitely an interesting game, though, good job.

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

It's so pretty!

Although I figured out pretty quickly that it's a perfectly viable strategy just to spam the heck out of clicking everywhere. There doesn't seem to be any limiting factor. Perhaps a limit on number of bullets or negative points (which would require more in the way of points) for firing too much?

richy486 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03am

really cool, would love to see this as a full game one day!
I didn't realise the x colour thing as well ad the enemy stopped firing back at about level 10. Apart from that really great.

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:15am

Very interesting control screen, and as mentioned above I just started spamming until it got to the point that I couldn't tel what was going on. Still really great job.

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:20am

Fun to look at, I enjoyed mashing my mouse button just to see a bunch of colours !

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:19am

As others have pointed out, this looks great! :D The subtly different background adds a lot.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:50am

Lovely, lovely. Like double rainbow.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54am

Very pretty. And love the little melodies that it ends up spelling it. Awesome job!

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:23am

Absolutely gorgeous looking game. I love the simplicity of the concept, yet complexity of the gameplay. It was pretty difficult for me, but I enjoyed it regardless. I wasn't a fan of the audio, but I think it sufficed regardless. Great entry!

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Very nice simple and minimalistic, yet rewarding gameplay. Cool stuff!

Ian MacLarty says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Beautiful looking game, although it also took me a while to realize what I was supposed to do. I also found I could get quite far by spamming lots of each colour, which got boring after a short while.

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:26pm

This is very cool! The first play I didn't understand how to change my color, but the next time I got it and felt that it was a good puzzle. Nice instructions screen. The procedural music sounds great, and the concept is very creative. One flaw is that there doesn't seem to be any disadvantage to shooting loads of squares all of the time of various different colors. So mostly when I played I just did that.
High score: L6 160 points!

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very pretty to look at! I also didn't exactly realize how i was change my color (players don't read haha ._.) I guess maybe some ui or arrows next to the cursor to show how the color is changing?

Teejay5 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:24am

very pretty!

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:54pm

This game's a nice one. Graphics are great, Sounds are ok. The only problem is that you can just rapidly click while moving your mouse up and down and left and right (like a sine wave or something) and it would just spit out an impenetrable wall of colour and you'll pretty much just go on forever.

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:39am

Would make a very fun multiplayer game. Good work. :)

DaveDobson says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:25am

My best was Level 7, 269 points - it took me a little bit to get the concept (the help was too abstract for me) but once I did, it was fun. Nice, simple idea, implemented well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]