April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniBlock

by xehbit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second Ludum Dare compo, but my first finished game! Hope's you like it :-)

Your goal is to get much points as possible (ehm.. logic..!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

Fun! This was really fitting for the theme.

kyru says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Fun game and good music for a bit of a hectic feel.

pl0xz0rz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Fun game, but really horrible graphics. Also too weak connection with the theme.

Proch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:15pm

this was awesome! how to make a simple game interesting with some little effects... well done

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:17pm

The game suits the theme really well, i wanted to mute the sound and i couldn't find out how. Props on implementing a potato!

LizEngland says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I don't know if it was intentional, but with all the minimalist painting games around I absolutely loved that the blur + shake made it look like paint raining down a canvas.

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I was pleasantly surprised when I grabbed that first flashing block, and then the game just got cooler from there. Basic concept, fits the theme, but not lacking at all in terms of gameplay, fun or mechanics. Loved it!

SuperDisk says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Was quite simple, but ok.

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:37am

I like the idea of the different effects being applied to the screen.
I'm not sure how you implemented the mouse input because I couldn't get the bat/paddle thing to appear when I was trying to run the game on my second monitor. Not a big deal at all though..

May 2, 2013 @ 8:58am

@Sebastian: Yeah, i know the problem with a second screen. I will fix that later this day.

And people that sya's it was simple or horrible graphics: The theme was minimalism, so ehh yeahh.. :)

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:32pm

At first I thought this game didn't run on Chrome but did on IE. But now I understand, because IE was on my primary monitor.
Nice original take on a classic. Nice effects (for me those count as 'fancy')
I understand using Autotracker but I have heard too much of those melodies (the first LD I was enthousiastic about it).
Next time add some bleeps of your own?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]