April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Travel

by Gravel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalistic game, reduced to its essential components: signs, inputs, feedbacks, a quest.

I started late so the content is short.
It's a bad for a good as it will let you finish it pretty fast.
============================================================

Bugs fixes:
- Walls are no longer covered with adhesive tape.
- Enemy behavior is now as expected (or almost).
- Defeat message is correctly displayed.
- Pause layer is foreground.

Added:
- Arrows controls.
- Character speed slighty increased.

Bug added:
- You can double your speed by pressing both arrows and ZQSD Keys (I like it).

============================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#22Theme4.34
#113Innovation3.79
#409Mood3.08
#674Overall3.06
#906Graphics2.59
#1039Fun2.42

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

The controls are pretty wonky and hard to get used to, but a neat idea!

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54am

I had no idea what to do at first but after getting used to to the controls if was great, nice idea.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

Woah! Fantastic concept... I only made it through a few rooms - but great idea. I had to switch my keyboard to AZERTY to use WASD keys though... why don't you support both? Or was that an art choice? In my entry (which also happens to feature invisible levels!) I let you set AZERTY via a querystring param - 'cause a menu would have messed with the minimalism ;))

I feel like you should move a bit faster too. Hope you continue working on it after the jam.

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

I was just waiting that something happen at first, then push keys and discovered this wonderful game, well done !

Angerus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

Comment coming directly from a game session :
"Raah stuck again! Dude, is there some duct tape on theses walls?!"
Anyway I love the concept!In my opinion, the theme is well answered and I do appreciate the vibe ( even better in a dark room). Just only one thing: could you please make the step's square a bit bigger(a feeeww pixel)? It's overlaid by the "dust" on my screen... ^^

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:33am

@mrspeaker: thx. I will try to fix the WASD issue. I agree with the move speed, I find it too slow. I will try different settings. By the way I like your game!

@Angerus: Thank you! I noticed the wall's bug on the web version yesterday. Things are better on the .exe, don't really know why... I will try to fix this asap. And for the step's square: no way! :D

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

This is genius. Best theme interpretation I've seen so far.
Too bad it's easy to get stuck in a wall (it happened to me often, and I had to start all over again each time)
(I played the .exe version)

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

You took mininimalism to a whole new level, haha. Neat idea.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Nice idea, ZXCS is an odd control scheme, but otherwise a very... minimal game.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Great concept, in accordance with the theme. Well done!

dray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

really good entry for the theme, some room are better than other, and sound would be good. nice entry, like the style.

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Cool idea, but the controls are super confusing, and I wasn't quite sure what to do at the beginning. But, like I said, I do really like the idea.

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I wish I could play with WASD or arrow keys! I'd surely enjoy it a lot more!

Very original!

Webravenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

awesome idea ;)

May 1, 2013 @ 6:29pm

This is minimalism.

Volute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Very impressive idea !

Logun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Good idea, but need more interactions and gameplay features. One of my fav' in this LD from here.

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very nice, I feel like a little ambient noise and some footsteps sounds would have done wonders though.

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:02am

This is a very innovative and surprising idea!

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Now I know how AZERTY people feel when they play my WASD controlled games. :P Loved the style and the game play. Would have liked some audio and getting stuck on the walls was annoying (though I did the same thing in my game, so I understand!)

PsenFilip says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:07pm

So... I did it. I reached The Face.

This game is very creative! Pretty inventive use of floating texts for environment art.
You managed to make a quite good atmosphere out of a very limited resources.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]