April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SINE

by ElScootro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A physics puzzle game where you create music.

Minimal gameplay = hit a block with a circle
Minimal sound = sine waves for sound effects
Minimal colors / design = greyscale and green + circles and squares
Minimal score = lower score is the goal!

Tech = HTML5 Web Audio API + Cocos2D-HTML5
Sound = Dynamically generated sine waves via HTML5 Web Audio API

SOURCE: https://github.com/mcscooter/ld26

Tools: Cocos2D-HTML5 with Orthogonal Engine, Illustrator, Photoshop, Web Audio API Synths, Tiled

ENGINE: http://www.cocos2d-x.org/projects/cocos2d-x/wiki/Html5

ENGINE #2: https://github.com/mcscooter/cocos2d-html5-orthogonal-tile

EDIT: Added Google Analytics gameplay tracking so I can see what folks are doing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#153Theme4.00
#227Audio3.25
#300Fun3.27
#306Innovation3.44
#344Overall3.39
#566Mood2.86
#746Graphics2.78
#852Humor1.85

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

Very musical. It would have been nice with some added animations when you hit the note blocks. Some better colour would have been good too. Maybe some percussion blocks (am I asking for too much), and a bit of polish with timing and controls. otherwise I thought it was fun and innovative.

Killswitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

This kind of fun as if I'm playing a combination of DX-Ball and virtual golf.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Fun and simple, good graphics yet I've experienced a few troubles with palette.

papa_troll says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

Nice, simple. Think with more time for careful level design, this could be something special. Something a little less minimal (OK I know that is the theme!) on the music side too might be nice. But great game

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

I love the sounds! :)

ElScootro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Thanks for the feedback! The colors looked fine on the monitor I designed on, but I played on another machine this morning and noticed what you all are talking about with the palette. I plan on making this a full game, so I'll definitely be redoing colors first thing!

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Very funny and pleasant to play! I like your approach to the theme. Only the levels where you have to bounce against circles are a bit frustrating - they are really hard to predict!

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Cool game. The circle-circle collisions are kinda hard to predict though. Combos could make a great addition (additional points if you can hit elements in a "musical" order, or hit the same color multiple times in a row).

agmcleod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Very nice. Loving this game. I think my day might be gone.

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

The music thing is great! It's beautiful to listen but some levels are hard to see the diference between some colors

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Very nice! Loved the simplicity and the audio. Great job.

f7f5 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

So this is the other Sine :) It kind reminds of Mini-Golf and pool. It's pleasant to play, has a nice colour palette and the music part adds a surprising touch!

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Nice and simple. The sound effects were very cool.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I value the approach to making sounds with every bounce, but maybe you could have included more instruments? It kinda sounds monotonous to me :/ Either way, nice job!

ElScootro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

@AlbertoSM Including only sine waves was a nod to the Minimalism theme. I totally agree more sounds would be better and plan to build out the game with a full suite of sounds. Thanks for the feedback!

May 3, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Very minimal game especially how the audio goes... I like it :D ... Good game.

Milo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:34pm

This is a neat concept and I liked hearing the ball move while I played, but I felt like there were really two different games with conflicting goals, since making music was an opposite goal from getting a good score. Perhaps it would be better if the fastest path to the goal made some sort of intentional melody or something like that? (or as bummzack suggests, a sort of "combo" thing).

May 6, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Thinking about making the music more interesting: perhaps you could make the sines loop at an interval depending on the speed at which they're hit? Anyway I liked your game, the gameplay was not that interesting of course but the music made up for it.

ThirteenWB says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Well I finally got a high-score of less than 100 on something like my fifth run through :p
Not sure if that's good or not but I hope so.
Good game :)

ElScootro says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:20pm

@thirteenwb I've only gotten < 100 once myself :) since I've added analytics on May 2 you are the only sub 100 score!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Aiming to bounce the circle off of the walls and circles interested me. If you continue to develop this, the bounce music sounded unstructured.

csanyk says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:00am

This was rather pleasant.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:55pm

The backspin on the ball was annoying on some levels, made the second bounce turn away from the reflected line.

geepit says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:00am

Really nice, simple and enjoyable!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]