April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Beyond Minimalism

by SaintHeiser - Jam Entry

Your aim is to find Nature =) It really hard.
No special ending, so you should press ESC (or close tab) if you get to the (pseudo-)realistic trees.

Controls:
WASD - movement
Space - jump
Esc - lose focus in Web version (permanent quit in standalone version)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Theme(Jam)4.11
#63Audio(Jam)3.73
#67Graphics(Jam)4.08
#72Mood(Jam)3.67
#82Overall(Jam)3.66
#164Innovation(Jam)3.31
#170Humor(Jam)2.61
#270Fun(Jam)2.89

Comments

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I couldn't find any trees, and quit after a while...I suck. Great graphical style though!

NiftyLlama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I really liked this, getting lost in your minimalist environment was fun.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Interesting... unlike theomnis, I did find the trees, though not as I expected. The first time, I went through a couple of rooms until I reached a red cube of death, which (presumably) killed me and sent me back to the start. I then repeated the route, fell off of the edge (possibly a bug?) and reached the trees. Actually, it was a shame I couldn't explore more of the trees, I quite liked that area.

On to the game, it was quite innovative and fun, and I felt it approached the theme pretty well. The only issue I had with it was that it seemed a bit lacking in what I could do - I would have liked more than going down a path and coming back.

iambored2006 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I wish I could give you 50 stars for the audio, it's absolutely sublime! This is a game I'm gonna go back to!

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

This thing is... relaxing. It rewarded me well.
You achieved to make me play in a non-eucidian (or what it is called) space without headache.
Great experience.

shinestrength says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

I found Nature. :D

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

Beautiful and relaxing. Found nature the same way Polar did.

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29am

Interesting navigation, but after I kept coming back to the same room and didn't totally understand how to progress, I quit.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30am

I guess I won, I saw the trees. The graphics are really good. Since this is a jam, did you use existing assets like the grass shader and the tree models? I liked the comic in the stone room.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43am

Very nice minimalist 'mood' with the art, music, and gameplay - it all matched the theme pretty well. The long path made me give up, and lots of identical areas made it hard to know where I was - some variation and landmarks would have helped with the tedium in the environment.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46am

I'm glad to give this game a second chance, I was indeed relaxing a with great sound.
I also would have liked a bigger tree area.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

The last thing I expected was after falling I was going to see a nice nature scene. After falling, I didn't knew what else to do though.

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

Once you found nature is that it? other than that nice job.

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

I liked this game ! Fresh and intelligent, it took me some time to understand how it works.
Nice work !

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

A bit crazy. I like it! I found nature :) Or not?

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51am

Nice relaxing game. I dig the graphics and the music.

kazukishida says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Amazing game! You're right, the theme and graphical style of your game is really much like ours, albeit you did much, much better in terms of graphics and music. XD

The added humor and surprises were great! And I love the ending, man -- it caught me off guard!

The sight of nature is indeed wonderful to behold. Great game! :)

OysterKLAN says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:59am

This was amazing! I couldn't find any trees (how long is that long road?) but it was nonetheless a great experience.

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Whoa that ending, at first I thought I broke the game, then... trees! Wonderful glorious trees! I also found potatoes. Nice and relaxing game.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Pretty and relaxing game, I found the nature after some searching and man was it beautiful.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:53am

Clever take on the theme. Really liked the shader effects. Thank you!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Very relaxing

May 2, 2013 @ 10:44am

Interesting game. I got lost after a while and I quit, but I liked the mood and the feel.

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:48am

Version tried web on Chrome/Windows7. Mouselook a bit rapid for comfort. Nice dynamic world. Sound seems to work on web version. Long long path excellent(!), reminds me of twisty passages all the same;,. Like the resolution/modelling increasing for nearby objects, very MMO-world - you just tweaking the alphas... ah no the whole thing is dynamic... lovely... Very clever and great entry.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Great game. Immersive universe.

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Found the clues, followed the clues, got run over by a red cube. :(

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Found the clues, followed the clues, got run over by a red cube. :(

Quite good. Loved the audio. Loved the weird geometrical headspace. Not quite a fan of the always-the-same trigger box...a little variety there would have added to the symbol over each path.

Use of potato noted.

Great submission, thanks.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Good idea... just so funy... minimalism art is used by a lot of people but not in this direction ... i like

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:43am

It's a shame some people are finding nature by accident, it's really clever what you do in this game, everything was very well executed and informative without a walkthrough. You just explore and slowly realize what you needed to do. Too often these days games coddle the player, this was the perfect balance of letting me discover on my own without it feeling unfair.

Easily contender for my favorite game of LD26. 5/5

2 small things:
1. You probably could have made nature a nicer place, maybe changed the skybox and the music so the player really feels like they've "found nature"
2. Why no love for potatoes?

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:59am

nice one. i love the minimal rendering style.

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Was this by any chance inspired by Antichamber? :)

I didn't expect that I would be giving my first 5 stars to a game like this. I really enjoyed exploring the world, and I found the trees after searching everywhere, EXCEPT down! I also liked the design of some of the rooms. It was a very interesting world to explore.

patrickward says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I had to try this game several times before I started to get it. The clues are there, but it took some time for me to get what they were pointing to. This was a strangely addicting game, I didn't want to stop until I saw those trees everyone was talking about. I'm happy to announce that I finally saw them! Nice job, but it borders on being frustrating at the same time. Graphics and sound were superb.

Dir3kt says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:35pm

When the scale change, that's really mind blowing effect. Neat game.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:57am

@lulzfish_4
Yeah, grass and trees is standard TerrainV2 asses from Asset Store. Edge effect is modified script for wireframe drawing with GL.

@Maple
I've finished Antichamber few weeks ago. Maybe I inspired it for a little =)


Thanks for comments! This game is small part of my current project with I working on! You all inspired me a lot!

CMaster says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Really love the effects and style of this.
It's not mega interesting as a game, but the fade- in and out of changing, outlined objects was very cool.

Beldarak says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I couldn't finish it because I lack the time to do it right now but I'll definitely come back to it later. Awesome game, congratz !

KevinLaity says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:48am

The surrealism is giving me a headache. Good job!

Ryusui says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:47am

Reminded me a lot of Antichamber - always a good thing. I just wish the paths led straight from one area to another - turning around and going back each time got a bit tedious.

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Fun and at times very funny. Love the art!

VDZ says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Absolutely amazing. I think this is the first time I've rated an LD game 5/5 in every applicable category. Perfectly executed in every way, it's a shame so many people don't get it.

--SPOILER WARNING--
To the people who don't get it: Each door has a minimalistic symbol above it that indicates where it leads to. Using these symbols and hints you find on the walls (notably the ones to search for the red cube and that 'nature is below your feet') you are supposed to find your way to nature. (The eventual solution is to find the room with the red cube (! symbol) and jump off the path leading to it; nature is below that room.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]