Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

M-Cubed

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

In our game you play a maintenance engineer, you work for an art gallery where new restoration robots are being trialed. The robots have malfunctioned (as robots are prone to doing) and have started turning the paintings into minimalist art! You must head into the paintings and bring the faulty machines back to your workshop.

Controls:
Left & right arrow keys = move player left and right
Up arrow key = jump
Down arrow key = pick up block
Hold space & cursor keys = aim and charge your laser
Release space = fire laser (if charged)
Press space (if carrying block) = drop block

This is a game jam entry made in Construct 2 by three team members:

Adam Summerton (SecondDimension) - design, programming and music.

Adam Duncan (Kmad) - design and programming.

James Crossley (who is new to LD) - design and art.

We hope you enjoy our game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#72Fun(Jam)3.55
#76Audio(Jam)3.65
#84Overall(Jam)3.65
#96Humor(Jam)3.00
#133Mood(Jam)3.41
#151Innovation(Jam)3.33
#202Graphics(Jam)3.49
#345Theme(Jam)3.09

Comments

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

This is great. It has a good storyline and concept and is nicely polished.

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Really interesting game, like the walking animation and the music is nice too. Great effort for 48 hours.

rezoner says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I love the ... polygon animal, feels like Salvador Dali. The assets could be more consequent, overall quite a well established entry for a 48h

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Cool concept, reminds me of Super Mario 64 in a sense.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Wow that is a good game full game. I had some tarring between the blocks but that's just a minor.

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Nice minimal Mario. Good mechanics.

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

cool idea!

goleegrees says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:43am

Great game! I really like the music.

Hatscat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:46pm

I like it!It's really fun and ful. So, I played your game at least 30 minutes.
Good graphics, sounds and gameplay !

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Very nice atmosphere and interesting gameplay. Also, music is pretty good.

Colapsydo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01pm

I love the plot and the game mechanic.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Thanks so much for the nice comments everyone

TeamEagle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Cool little game! I think the controls could use some work - alternating between down, up, space feels a little clunky still and I got hit a few times when I had intended to charge the beam. I liked the background music, it's very relaxed, but the sound effects are a bit typical. But pretty original overall, so good work!

ovenchips says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Good concept. Music was very nice indeed. Controls were slightly fiddly - I kept jumping instead of aiming. I'm giving extra marks for the potato reference. :) Well done!!

May 3, 2013 @ 9:14pm

We agree about the controls, they are a bit of a pain. We were planning to revamp them to use mouse-aim, but it just never happened due to the time constraints.
I just played through it again and some of it is bloody difficult. I was cursing the stupid people that made it...

NateNaterson says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Wow! Great art/music, and a very nice interpretation of the theme. Not perfect, but deserving of an Overall 5/5. Fantastic work :)

Grouflon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Very polished game, nice gameplay, nice graphics, nice audio. It's a risk to do a story-based game in a such small amount of time. Lovely experience I really enjoyed!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I like the music, the story i think is very good game!!!

May 4, 2013 @ 7:29am

Nice game .. great graphics

nseward says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:15pm

So...much...fun! Great concept and follow through.

joekinley says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:16pm

I love the music. These 2 tracks are plain brilliant and they set an awesome dreamy mood for the game.
The puzzles got quite hard in level 2 and 3. But overall it was a nice concept. Very well done.

The picture stuff reminded me of mario 64, and in a good way too. This is a nice game and I had a lot of fun playing it.

tsb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Great entry, very interesting ambience

FREEZX says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:08am

Fun game. Feels very finished. Awesome game mechanics!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Added a download of the soundtrack if anyone wants it, it's just a zip file with both MP3s inside

aquilicoco says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Nice game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:27am

Interesting game. I could not get very far...

onzephyr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:34am

great idea. Very finished feel . liked the mechanics , and the audio complemented the style and pacing well.

_Rilem says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Loveley little game with a good mechanic. You should definitely continue to work on it. Sometimes the laser was a bit hard to control though.

Good job guys!

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:27am

Game was good. Couldn't muster up the strength to beat it, however. Why does the technician have some sort of painting corrector? Why do the paintings need corrected, weren't they perfect from the artist's point of view from the very start? It's all very deep.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:04am

I like this idea :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]