April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Distradiction

by shines - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Inspired by how complicated it is to maintain a minimalist mindset with the constant distractions which embody life, I was able to create this quick game, Distradiction.

I built it in an hour Friday evening and 10am-8pm on Saturday.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#135Theme4.04
#336Innovation3.41
#387Humor2.51
#423Fun3.13
#501Mood2.95
#563Overall3.16
#683Graphics2.88
#1036Audio1.52

Comments

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

That was a really fun little game, Props :)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

AWESOME use of the theme. A little too short for my taste, though! Lots of fun.

chobrah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

Haha simple and cool, nice one.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Excellent expression of the theme!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

i liked it.. bit too short for me ..leaving me wanting more tho is a good thing :)

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

That was really enjoyable. Even thought it was a little short. but awesome! good work!

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Very innovative game, but hated those annoying distractions ;)
Good job :)

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Nice simple game, why did I want to eliminate myself in the end scene?

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Very nice. I loved it. A bit short... but that might be a good thing.

johnfn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

That was fun! That last level was stressful haha. The first time I was like 1 second too slow. Circle circle collisions are messy! I liked it though.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I love the controls, I would like to see a full blown RPG with a similar battle system.
On the other hand, a game about getting rid of distractions sounds like a ... Oh, excellent title.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Clever use of the theme!

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I really needed a few deep breaths, hehe. Looks pretty clean, it's fun and fits with the theme. Good work!

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

a very relaxing game, just what i needed now. you pretty much represented the mental state that i have when i study :S

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Fun, Simple, Cool! Great job.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

@techmonkey: holy shit I did EXACTLY the same thing. Then I got into this long argument with myself about how I am the biggest distraction in my life... ;_;

Anyway, neat game for the amount of time you put into it. The level with arrow distractions was not so clear because sometimes they would be removed and sometimes they would loop over the screen.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Too short on my opinion.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Interesting concept and well made

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Cute little game. Just the perfect length.

henrykun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Cool idea! I like the art too, simple but good.

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Very simple and innovative idea! I like it.. You managed to keep it very minimal as well, too bad it was minimalistic in length. :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Not bad for 3 hours!

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

Those damned distractions!

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

Cool game, great idea! Sometimes the distractions get rid of herself!

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

I like it. Some of them are a bit frustrating. Really wanted audio. Graphics and narrative are good!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

Distraction is an elegant and simple distraction. It felt like the tutorial for a game.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19am

nice and simple

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21am

Nice little game, I liked it! It can be expanded into a full, cool game :).

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

Quite fun and quite simple. Loved it!

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37am

Wow nice game. In the end I even tried o eliminate my self and the end text. :) You got me in a mind set.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

I was amused. :-)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Too easy. Good work for 11 hrs

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

I like the minimalist approach of the gameplay. Graphics could be more colorfull ^^ Well done :)

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Distractions ELIMINATED!

Nyyman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Very good. Simple and well working, and most importantly fun to play. Kinda short though.

nintendoeats says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43am

I was extremely distracted by the word "Bigfoot" in big yellow letters.

That was a cute thing. It has some potential, though I don't know how it could be expanded (or if you want to). Good work!

Making objects that move in such a way as to irritate the player is one of the top 10 most fun things to do as a designer.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:11am

Simple concept but well conveyed. Giving it top marks for the theme purely because of that!

dreamlogician says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31am

Short but sweet, and I think the brevity is appropriate given the minimalism theme. I always like the idea of trying to represent a concept or point of view via dynamic behavior and interactive rules, and this serves as a concise example of such techniques.

I do wonder if the explanation sentences are maybe just a bit too explicit about what's going on? This is just personal preference, but I think I would prefer text that left a little more space for my own interpretations while still hinting at the theme. Overall, nice work!

iamorim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03am

Good work! But we need more levels. There are a lot of interesting thins you can add to it. Keep working :)

Komradus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47am

Conveys an interesting message.

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49am

Cool little game. I liked all the different varieties based around the same little shoving mechanic. I also like the very iconic style to the graphics.

whitetigle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37am

I really enjoyed your game. It was neat. Clear. Precise. Worked well and did fit the theme. Too sad it was so short though.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01am

Why do I think of my dog when I played this game lol.
Interesting idea!
Good job :P

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:05am

great concept and you made it fun nice job!

Drabiter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:46am

Great concept. You should make more levels!

Kimau says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Brilliant clean and simple, fits the theme and it just feels clean and fun with no wasted effort. Top notch ^_^

Kiwiboi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Well done sir, it definitely fits the theme perfectly. Pretty fun as well! ^^

rogueNoodle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Cool - I'm a master distraction eliminator! Now I can get back to work... ;)
A great concept well-executed.

euske says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Gaaah, that round one was annoying.

Diamonde says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Very interesting and clever. I got surprisingly frustrated on the last level and was glad it was over :D
Pretty cool game overall and I like the fact that it took only a few seconds to grasp the concept!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Woohoo, I'm a master eliminator! Wish I was this good at getting rid of distractions in my real life. ^_^

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Nice and clean. Now that we're all master distraction eliminators the next LD should be AMAZING!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Nice and clean game, too bad it's not as easy to get rid of distractions in real life :(

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02pm

There was no challenge :( just like mine xD
Nice entry, I wish it ended with some survival with all the enemyes classes together.

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Very nice! Clean and simple.

karlin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Really nice idea, fits the theme perfectly. I really liked how each level had something new and my only complaint was that it was a little short.

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Fits the theme perfectly, was very enjoyable!

bentog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Innovative, good run on the theme. I would like to see more levels and some audio :)

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:09pm

The physics are wicked; nice entry! Too short however.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:21pm

I've got a mitigated felling about this game. I mean, the design is quite good, the physics is quite good too, the story telling is funny... but there's absolutely no chalenge. This is not a bad game, but what the point of it?

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:25pm

great game! too short

eedok says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:30am

Neat idea, would prefer to have free over indexed movement though, and the game got stuck on the level with the timer(kept moving down and couldn't do anything else)

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:28am

Interesting take on the theme, but the level design seems more like a heavily architected tutorial explaining the nature of distractions than a full game about them. Should this entry have had an ending at all? Distractions have a nasty habit of being endless.

Great work considering the amount of time you spent.

messiano says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:39am

Truly unique, great concept and execution. Too bad it was too short, I felt like playing more. Congratulations!

nilstastic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice and simple!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Cool game. Congratz!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Nice representation of when we need to do something and lots of distractions keep bugging your mind. Amazing!

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:06am

Reminds me a bit of IvoryDrive's game Orange... Did you ever play that?

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:54am

Really like it! Fun little concept.

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Sometimes you just have to get pushy with your distractions. Good job!

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Really short but a cute idea. Definitely an issue very close to my heart! Nice job.

Cosine says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:59pm

This is Rachel's son. I like the game, it's a great take on the theme (there are few that start out less-than-minimalist and end up moving towards minimalism).

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:11pm

It's short, but funny and so true. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]