April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Words

by Andy Go - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hiya,

A game about minimalism I guess.
Maybe not a game by the bay but I wanted to learn a few things in AS3.

Made with Flash and AS3.
One sound is from wavsource.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#33Humor3.79
#215Mood3.34
#224Theme3.90
#359Innovation3.38
#504Graphics3.10
#873Overall2.88
#889Audio2.11
#952Fun2.55

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

I got to the exit with no sound on and then it froze up.. Good go hope you get it fixed up..

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23am

Thanks, I think it works not (I did not have the bug but I changed one thing).

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52am

it works "now" (not "not")

EggDestroyer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Fun turn of events, I enjoyed the "screenplay" and sweet graphics in general, some strange force kept me interested by the dialogue (maybe the somehow wacky proposed answers ?), too bad you can't replay the labyrinth at the end :p

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Was it intentional that the dialogue was played with the arrow keys?

Great take on a minimalist game, made me laugh at the end.

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

I want this guy at the end of all my games to explain them to the uncultured masses on newgrounds.

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Actually, I find the sound labyrinth idea not bad at all, that would have made quite a good game, I think. The dialogue on the other hand was... well... "interesting" :-)

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

J'adore les gros plans sur le personnage et le mode de la conversation est vraiment cool...

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Fun dialog. Now I don't know what is a game and what not. The idea of the sound maze was really great.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Fascinating.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Nice graphics/concept - very unique, and raises some interesting questions. Good job!

bleating says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

You'll mostly be preaching to the choir with this game but it's still clever.

Yakka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52am

Genious.

Andy Go says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24am

Tx for comments everyone :).
@aurelien oui t'as raison, je pensais faire alterner dialogues + rejouer le labyrinthe plusieurs fois avec qques changements mais pas eu le temps :(
@techmonkey yes I think keyboard is more adapted as it's mostly reading and choosing and not moving but I may be wrong

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

WOOF WOOF ! Btw, I liked :)

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Pretty solid game. not much gameplay though, only text

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Fun, good dialogues and i liked the graphics.

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:48am

It kept me interested enough to finish, and made me chortle in places. Interesting idea. Good work.

Aaants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Hehe, that was great

Rastagong says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:47am

Fun and instructive. I liked the smooth transition from the fake game to the dialog. :)

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:23am

Wooho!
I like the game, it's so humor lol.
Complete reading ! :p

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I laughed. Who is playing whom, here?

DaveDobson says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:55am

Funny idea, and the commentary from Mr. Artsy Pants is pretty amusing. Creative and well-made.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]