April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SLEEP! we have a long way to go

by NicoJaujou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello,
This my comp for this 26th Ludum Dare (my second one).
"SLEEP! We have a long way to go" is a game inspired by our chidlhood games. Games that we continue to play in our everyday life: to waste our time sitting in a car or a train, to wait for something hoping that our success will accelerate the time.
Gaming, sleeping, dreaming, traveling...altogether in something minimalist.
I hope that you will like my interpretation of the theme.


- I used game maker, and I am able to export only the windows executable.
- I used GarageBand for the music and the sound effect (except the car sound).
- I used also Illustrator for the graphic conception.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Mood3.56
#175Graphics3.73
#196Audio3.31
#505Theme3.58
#621Innovation3.04
#664Overall3.07
#826Humor1.87
#1179Fun2.19
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Nice:). L'ambiance est bien cool.

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39pm

It's pretty interesting. I felt sleepy too toward the end!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Yo, really awesome color balance, absolutely perfect

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35am

Excellent mood, graphics and audio, and a really unique idea to boot! It's super relaxing, and I love the fact that "way to go" doesn't matter at all by the end of it. I enjoyed this - thanks =]

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Loved the graphics and the gameplay !!
The climate is really nice!

Hamumu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

L'Ambiance indeed. It's not a fun game by any means, but it does have this great ambiance and a strange nostalgia feeling in a way, like it's trying to tell you something important. But you're too sleepy to hear it.

NicoJaujou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Thank you very mych for your comments. I'm glad that you liked the climate and you understood the meaning.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice idea and atmosphere. Overall it's not very fun, but it serves well your interpretation, and the theme in general.

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Weird. I tried following my finger on the river and the display slowly collapsed then dumped me back on the title.

hissssssssss says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:54am

You put together a beautiful palette, and the audio was awesome. I did actually grow sleepy towards the end.
This was wonderful. Thank you.

NicoJaujou says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:24am

Thank you very much :)

May 9, 2013 @ 12:19pm

This is very nice.

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:03am

Very relaxing, I can relate to this a lot, your interpretation of the theme is great. Amazing Job!

NicoJaujou says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Thank you for your comment, I'm glad that you can relate to the experience and it makes sense with the theme.

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:55pm

What! That was crazy and unique!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]