April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Littleballs

by littleball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to take over the board!

Instructions:
- on your turn place a ball either an empty tile, or one of your own colour
- if you place more ball than a tile will carry, it will explode, sending your balls to the surrounding tiles
- exploding balls take control of the tiles they land on

You can play with a friend or three (changing the number of players will also expand the map).

Note: It's a turn based game, so even on your own you can still play - even if it's against yourself :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#240Innovation3.54
#408Fun3.15
#475Audio2.83
#505Theme3.58
#520Overall3.20
#861Graphics2.65
#926Mood2.50
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

Liking this. It's a simple and easy to understand game initially but there seems to be quite a bit of complexity in the explosions wich would add depth as you learn more of the strategy.

I was only playing by myself but I had a few surprises where the losing colour came right back and won in only a few turns.

Only thing it's missing is a "replay" button once somebody wins.

:)

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Thanks for the feedback. The game can turn around very quickly, and that's part of the fun ( frustration ).

If you want to play a new game you can just click back on the 'Menu', then on 'New Game'

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I can only try the 2 player version. It's not really fun cause the first player seems to have a big advantage. But i'm sur it's fun with more player. I'll try it as soon as i can. Great audio and graphics.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

I love hexagons and chain reactions; this is fun!

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:38am

Ah, yes...another game I can beat my girlfriend at.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:12pm

It's a refreshingly simple game. But it's definitely in need of a computer controlled enemy to play against.

chowdy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Great game! I wish there was a computer opponent, cos I had to play by myself. I like how quickly the tables can turn.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:16am

Indeed, this game has a neat personality with its music, sounds, and exploding balls. I think the win condition is not very clear, but it's still fun just to play with the little explosions.

littleball says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Thanks @loxo and @chowdy. I will try and get a version up with AI soon!

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Red Player wins!! I think this game would be a really fun casual time waster if you had an AI working!

blearn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Really neat strategy game. It is more complex then it seems at first. An AI version would be awesome.

Lerc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Hard to gauge the subtleties of the gameplay without an AI. barring any easy-win scenario it looks like a solid idea.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:52pm

good little game man.. quite unique :)

Drabiter says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:18am

Love the music and animations. I played the 2p version.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]