April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Haunted Dojo

by ramoncb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Slash the ghosts in a haunted dojo!

Game made with the Blender Game Engine using only logic Bricks!

Controls:
A -> attack
Arrows -> moviment

3D graphics and logic bricks: Blender
Music: Otomata (Music Gerenator) and edited with Reaper

Known issues: graphics differences in the Linux version, sometimes you may got stuck in a area for no reason (sorry guys, don't know how fix those things =/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Graphics4.04
#626Mood2.80
#832Audio2.22
#847Theme3.23
#1027Overall2.70
#1129Innovation2.23
#1235Fun2.05
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Really torn on rating this -- those visuals are astounding, I can hardly believe you did those animated models and cool visual filter in 48 hours. However it doesn't make for much of a fun game.

ramoncb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Thanks for the feedback, I completely agree xD

I passed too much time making the graphics and the gameplay suffered because of that ^^'

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53pm

That was quite enjoyable, the graphics were lovely! I can agree the gameplay is a little repetitive, but I'm sure you could easily expand on it for a post-compo version. Keep up the good work! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

A nice looking game, but it feels there could be more depth, and I did run into a screen-lock glitch that wouldn't let me continue. Still, the animation and dark/light coloring were quite appealing.

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I loved the monochromatic graphical style, and the music was cool. I found the gameplay a bit flat though...it wasn't clear what I should do next. But I did keep going right and beat the game. Some more animation and game sounds would make this game better. I hope you put more time into it :)

spliter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01pm

There's some promise here but the fighting is very unresponsive and whether you hit the enemies seems to be completely random (that or they just don't respond). Loved the visuals but gameplay needs a bit of work :]

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Nice post process.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

As others have said, the visual style is really effective - very otherworldly and haunting - but the combat is unpolished. The attack animation isn't satisfying, and there is a lack of feedback to indicate when you are hitting, missing, being hit, etc.

wallmasterr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I love the npr stuff going on, almost looks like an Edward Gory drawing at points where the black lines effect the shading. I do effects like this but id be interested to have a look at how you did this , downloading the source now. Also the music reminded me of the save screen in ICO so that was nice. And yey for blender, :)we really need a reliable web plugin though. Well done

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Excellent visual! I am sure you spent more time on graphics than the game play. But you did a GREAT job on it.

multikorv says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Really nice visuals! The gameplay suffers a bit though.

MuffinTrap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:31pm

The black and white style was cool, but it felt like the game would never end.
The combat was awkward. I would have liked a more clear indication whether I hit the enemy or not, for example a sound effect or a visual feedback.

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Cant play this.
Linux version crashes when I press enter to start.
Blender crashed when I tried to open the source file.
Wine wouldn't run the windows version.
Shame, this looks interesting.

ramoncb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Thank you all for the feedback, it's very important!

I uploaded a more specific example of the trick with the lines here:

http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?290443-Haunted-Dojo-%28Ludum-Dare-26%29&p=2368404&viewfull=1#post2368404

(it's quite simple! ^^)

----

user 'Someone', about the crashes... I'm really sorry, don't know how fix this =/

seems that the problem is in the .blend, but I made this game only with logic bricks, I have no clue about how resolve that kind of problem

please, if possible, try to play the game in another computer ^^'

May 4, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Cool idea, awesome lighting and animations! Gameplay... not as great, but it's a start!

pvwradtke says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:01am

This is awesomely well polished, loved the mood created by those stylish graphics. It reminds me of classical Japanese horror movies. The only problem here is that all effort went to create that amazing atmosphere. Please keep working on it, adding more variety and goals to complement you great vision of a samurai horror beat'em'up. As a last note, Kudos for providing Linux binaries!

f7f5 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:14am

The visuals are great and the music is also effective! But I agree with the other comments that the gameplay need more work.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:13am

The game looked great, but wasn't very fun. Audio was decent, but it felt a bit off for the mood/style of the game.

optimality says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:27am

Game did not work for me - crashed when I hit "enter" on Windows.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:25am

It crashes when I try and start it. The screen shots look amazing tho.

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:11pm

great visuals, kinda reminds me of the only part in path of neo that didn't suck. but it runs slow on my laptop. also, it would work better with a smaller arena and more complicated battle system.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]