April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

.MONDR

by Haette - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A fairly simple "dodge stuff" game with a coat of Piet paint. I forgot to mention it anywhere, but you can also use WASD to move if you like.

The only objective is to avoid the colorful rectangles as long as possible. The game ends once you've been hit by all three primary colors (red, yellow, and blue), turning your little square from black to white.

After getting hit by a color, you can safely ignore that color (and its component colors) for the rest of the game. I mean what would happen, you turn double-yellow?

Made in 47.5 hours with AS3, Flixel, Paint.net, and Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Audio3.41
#168Fun3.49
#181Theme3.97
#201Overall3.57
#282Mood3.22
#344Innovation3.40
#397Graphics3.26
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Screenshots don't give this thing justice! Its a great game!

jijaweb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Great game. I like it.

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

Nice one! :D

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:56pm

bookmarked

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Really not what I was expecting from the screenshots! A nice twist on the avoider genre.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Nicely done. You've done a good job on animating the Mondrian style.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:08am

Simple yet brilliant!
But It's difficult and challenge.
I like the style of your gui and effect.
Good job!

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:39pm

really nice. the timing made it a really fast paced experience. Really nice work, keeps you interested.

SonnyBone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:43pm

AWESOME! LOVE THIS GAME!!! AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

Haette says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:09am

AAAAHHHHH!! LOUD NOISES!!!

I really think this would benefit from some actual patterns. Get sort of a shmup or bit.trip thing going, you know?

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Awesome beat there, really liked that.

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:44am

Notes:

- This is madness! I like the syncopation.
- The audio gives it weight.
- Died. "HI: 9/1/2".
- It seems too easy to hide along the edges/corners.
- I lied.
- Aaah! I'm seeing colors where there aren't any!
- This excels.
- New highscore: 17/6/3.

Haette says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:15am

Yeah, my only real fault with the game is that it's -completely- random. Making the squares more "aggressive" somehow, or just outright adding patterns, would be my first priority to improve on it.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:57pm

HERE, SOMEONE FINALLY UNDERSTOOD THE THEME.

Very fun game, congratulations!

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:11am

Elegant and artistic! A Mondrian I can play. This was fascinating. If you continue to develop this, I'd be curious how I could anticipate where lines and colors will appear, is there a pattern? Like in bullet hell games, there is a pattern to the bullets.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:18am

Nice job connecting the theme, visuals, and sound together. Agree with the other post that says the screenshots do not do the game justice. Thanks for sharing!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I like the idea that you become "immune" to colors that already hit you. It might be neat if orange, purple, and green only affected you for 1/2 in each shared RGB value.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Great game :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:50am

Nice style and atmosphere but maybe too easy.

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:23pm

It's challenging when you don't hide in the corners (making it easy), and the synchronised sound and graphics makes it a pleasure.

davidpeter says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice twist (in a sense!) on the colors not killing you a second time. Really fun game, though I got lucky for a very long time!

Coil_Whine says ...
Nov 9, 2013 @ 5:43am

Good game. I liked the art style. Nothing much like it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]