April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

To And Fro

by iamwhosiam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Having no creative bones in my body and only being good at infinitives, I asked myself, "What is the most minimalistic game you could make?" At first, I thought of a 3D open-world, cover-based shooter, but, as those are so common in jams, I thought I'd go for the least obvious route: a shmup.

Everyone knows the only cool dimensions are the 1st and 4th dimensions. But, while a 4th dimensional game would be a good idea, I've yet to see a 1D game.

So, there. A 1D shmup.

A and D to move left and right. Right and Left arrow keys to shoot. You are the green square. Your enemies are red. You shoot purple. You collect the yellow for POINTS.

Once your accustomed to the game, the enemies speed up.

edit: Also, the green tiles in the middle heal you. Forgot about that. That's pretty important.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#402Humor2.48
#588Innovation3.09
#632Theme3.46
#881Audio2.13
#1053Mood2.33
#1154Fun2.24
#1186Graphics2.16
#1252Overall2.34

Comments

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

it took me a while to figure out what was going on:) had a good laugh when i finally did :D great idea!

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

cool idea. a few things: i had a hard time keeping off the wave of guys after a bit. maybe i'm just not understanding the mechanics yet, because i don't know what the darker squares seem to do. also i would make the player's square stand out more & (a minor thing but) ingame when it said "L&R to shoot" it confused me.

iamwhosiam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

By darker squares do you mean the green ones in the center? Cause if you are they heal And I totally never explain that anywhere.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Novel concept, but a very hard to read game with all the flickering of the squares.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Really have no idea whats happening. It gets hectic too fast so there isn't enough time to figure anything out before you die. The "L&R to shoot" text confused me too.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:10pm

It's a 1D super crate box with 1 weapon, and I like it! Though i couldn't play it without zooming into the browser window its soo tiny. The game could be a bit more visible - maybe if the shots were less flashy so that the protagonist and the enemies would stand out a bit better. Also, i'd change the screenshot you have here - the BEST thing about the game is how simple it is, don't photoshop it to make it look more complex. No one photoshops paper bags on supermodels so don't spoil your work as well ;) You followed the theme, made a game that's hilarious in how it works, and is enjoyable and engaging. Good sir, have my like!

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43pm

What just happened? :)

CMaster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Blop-blop-blop-blop

Felt like the grid set up made it hard to see you/the enemies past the rather large flickering squares.

TheCze says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Took me some time to figure out that L&R are the left and right keys and NOT the keys "L" and "R". After that it was a nice game :)

xRich_ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54pm

A little too fast paced to learn still can't quite get the hang of it, I'm sure it's a great game! Gonna keep trying at it! :)

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I just can't figure it out what I'm supposed to do... I'm not epileptic yet but I might become if I play 5 more minutes :)

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Fun little game i enjoyed playing it well done!

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Another game that hurt my brain from all the flashing details and game elements that are hard to make out. After understanding what was actually going on it was actually a very playable game! Cool concept and great that you have now shown me what a 1D-shooter would be like.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:18pm

I had no idea what was going on; this is definitely a 1D game! Haha.

marnaouf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Nice fun game and cool concept. Also pretty challenging.

davidpeter says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:43am

Nice concept! Became too easy once I reached the green squares, since it just meant I could focus fire on one side and then switching to the other if it got too close.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:45am

Very neat concept, though, a others have mentioned, it's difficult to tell what's going on. That could stand to be improved.

Also, I wonder if there is really much strategy or choice available in the game. It seemed to me that I just needed to hold fire for the direction I was going to move to get a square, then the other way, then back and forth until I ran out of life. Is there any way to actually minimize lives lost, or is it an inevitable decline regardless of what you do?

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:59pm

That is a very unique idea, and has a lot with the theme! But the execution leaves a bit to be desired.

The enemies move a bit too fast even in the earlier levels, and the shooting cooldown is way too high, so I die very quickly. The option of holding down a key to shoot would be very welcome.

Also, it was a bit hard to see the enemies, the shot and the player - maybe make a higher contrast between the rectangles and the units in the game?

Anyway, thanks for the cool idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]