Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Smash The Vase

by CryoGenesis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--IMPORTANT--
If you get a class not found or class unsuported error you need to update your Java from:
http://java.com/en/download/index.jsp


My first Ludum Dare entry! You play a vase on wheels. You cannot move yourself, the only way you can move is but changing the pull of gravity. If you hit the walls too much you'll smash the vase.
Do this using the A and D keys. Feel free to edit the map, it's a .png file. If you make it to the end of the map it'll spawn ten lovely, little vases for you.

I used sfxr, GraphicsGale free, and Eclipse. It's written in Java and should work on every OS.

--Changelog--
-Changed from pre-rendering map to active rendering due to -heap memory space problems
-Updated source code download link to latest
-Made an applet version for people who don't like downloading stuff
-Changed vase graphic. It has a potato in the middle now.
-Made the level pretty huge

--Instructions for editing the level--
Basically the level can be fully changed by editing the /res/maps/0.png image. The map is loaded by reading the image and depending on the RGB of the map, a wall is put, the player position is set or the exit is set.

RGB values:
Red of 1: Solid tile (wall)
Red of 0 or more than 1: blank tile (non-solid)
Green of 255: Player position (only put 1 of these)
Green of 100: Exit

I didn't add support for more than 1 map, unfortunately.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#127Innovation3.76
#434Humor2.41
#526Fun3.02
#533Theme3.56
#619Overall3.11
#871Audio2.15
#906Mood2.53
#951Graphics2.54

Comments

LostDatagram says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:33am

See you removed a certain word from the title :P

LostDatagram says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:37am

Doesn't run on my system for some reason:
$ java -jar Don\'tSmashTheFuckingVase.jar

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: main/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
Could not find the main class: main.Main. Program will exit.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:34pm

LostDatagram have you got the latest Java runtime?

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:38pm

It's an error you get when using an older version of Java to try and run a program written with a newer JDK.

ddlyheadshot says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Claims it can't find the main class and crashes...

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:13pm

That's weird, I'ma go on the IRC and see if they can help me see what the problem is

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:18pm

One sec I'll update the post, it requires java 1.7 to run without error.

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Not bad, spent more time on it than I would perhaps have liked. Gets infuriating as I sometimes seem unable to avoid crashes. The sounds left something to be desired but it stayed true to the theme. Nice concept in general.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

not bad. pretty hard, took me a while to get the hang of it

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

Interesting concept, fun to control the vase. I kind of wish you could rotate gravity faster, though.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Thanks for your feedback!
I think the game is too hard myself. I've never actually completed it. And yeah, the gravity takes too long to rotate, I should have made it follow the mouse.

Thanks for playing!

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Nice concept, gets really hard quite fast.

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28pm

:O Very nice concept, really hard, I liked it!

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Nicely done. Very smooth but challenging control mechanic. I smashed a lot of vases, but had a lot of fun doing it!

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Very challenging, but great idea!

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Thanks so much guys! Really appreciate it!

miro662 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

nice idea, but I'm too lame for this game

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I quite like the concept, but I think the controls let it down. what you want to do most of the time is send it in one direction, then reverse gravity at the last minute. Since you have to go through a whole bunch of other directions before you get to the one you want, you are more or less guaranteed to smash into something that you weren't even thinking about. Maybe you could try defining gravity by the mouse cursor's direction relative to the center of the screen?

iFred_QC says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I couldn't play it. I'm using a version of Chrome that doesn't require UAC, and it lets me use the latest version of Java without actually updating it (My IT won't upgrade Java on this machine for some reason) but it still doesn't work...

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

@nintendoeats Yeah I feel the same after re-playing the game

@iFred_QC I would like to help but I can't really do anything after the comp has finished:(

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Good idea. I liked when you mess it up and there is nothing to do but watch you get harmed. With patience, it is possible.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Really good idea - I'm a sucker for any game that involves messing with gravity!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Very nice idea altough it's a bit hard to control the vase. At some point I just started floating on empty space after restarting the level.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Very original concept and character, though I'll admit I didn't realise it was a vase until I came back to this page - I thought it was a badly drawn WALL-E :)

I'm probably just bad at it, but I found it a little *too* difficult because changing the direction of the gravity felt a bit slow. If the gravity spinner went round faster or maybe it was controlled by the mouse position, I might be able to get to the end of the level!

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

@Casino Jack I know exactly what you mean, if I were to re-visit this game I would definitely change the controls.
I find that wall hugging is the best way to get to the end (even though I haven't managed to finish the game myself)

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

It was good fun, However it was hard! I have no patience, so i wanted to go as fast as possible :D

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Well, I thought this was a really good idea for a game, but it feels very tedious to me personally. Its not bad by any means, its just not exactly my cup of tea...

Husky says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Cool concept, and pretty hard lol.
Good job!.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

The pot mechanic was cool and a bit fun to play with, but the actual gameplay was a bit more 'hug the wall'. Still, it took a minimalist idea and really delivered well in an interesting control scheme and a nice pot mechanic. I feel that if the game was stage-based, less maze-like and more obstacle-puzzle like, it would have been a more enjoyable experience.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:25pm

It is a little boring and I don't understand how you die, suddenly i just hit the wall and die :(

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:55pm

This game seems interesting. Sadly, keyboard input doesn't seem to work for me. (Mac OS x 10.8, running JRE 7, tested both the downloadable jar and the web applet)

maxking1234 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Really good and fun, but challenging!

yokcos700 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I quite enjoyed this game. It was pleasantly and surprisingly difficult to play. I'm actually finding it quite difficult to think of anything wrong with it.

CryoGenesis says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Thanks for all your feedback guys!

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:55am

It was incredibly hardville, and we couldn't beat the first level. Concept was good, and the controls were good if the gravity wasn't so powerful.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]