April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MINUS

by rubna - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oh. Oh well this just isn't any fun at all... Well, better luck next time I guess.


CONTROLS: arrows. GOAL: get all the balls into the hole I guess...? You figure it out.

MORAL TO THE STORY: first work out your idea in all its details. I got a way better idea this morning but there ain't no way I'm going to finish that on time. Maybe I'll make that game as a post-compo.

(I put it on anyway because... well I'm not really sure (this is also totally an intended rip-off of Luke O'Connor's Ishihara(http://lukeoc.co.uk/ishihara/ishihara.html))

**UPDATE

I made a post compo version with mouse controls. It should be less infuriating to play now :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#243Innovation3.53
#255Graphics3.53
#393Theme3.70
#423Fun3.13
#553Overall3.17
#788Mood2.65

Comments

intrudergames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

Well, i think is really fun and innovative. Good things can come from this, keep it on!

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

It's interesting but very hard.

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

A very challenging and fun game.
I really like the way you handled the difficulty.
Unfortunately part of the challenge comes from the difficulty with the controls.
It just feels like I'm sliding all over the place.
Very good use of simple shapes and colors.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I really liked the shapes and how it took up the whole screen, the controls seem too funky though

magnpeas says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I like the way this game looks and I think it's the beginning of something cool

Nisshoku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:10pm

The idea is fun but the controls feel to awkward for me, maybe make it less floaty or keep the direction movement axis aligned.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Well, this was impressive! Nice idea. Gameplay is smooth, controls are fine, there's enough difficulty. Even if you say it's not finished, i don't think so.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:14pm

It's not that bad really, but it's a bit hard, and at first you don't really know what to do... :) Controls could be smoother, and it needs sound and/or music. Otherwise, not bad!

Andy Go says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I think it was fun. But hard....

dreamlogician says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I think this prototype is much more promising than you give yourself credit for. I haven't played anything quite like it before, and yet I was able to figure out what needed to be done with no instructions at all (I accidentally skipped over the "get the balls in the hole" bit of your text and only saw it after I was done playing). You're on to something here. Don't give up!

Qaterknan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice game, challenging and entertaining. It's a shame there is no ending.

TravisChen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Fun mechanic :D

Sanguine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:47am

I really like it! As others have mentioned, the controls still need a bit of work

hughsk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:21am

It's pretty hard, mostly because of the controls though - I like the choice of colours :)

Binary Gambit says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:23pm

This one was really promising! You had a solid arcade mechanic down, but unfortunately didn't execute on a game. The controls were also a little bit awkward, but the graphics were pleasing in the clean style.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Don't be so harsh to yourself, your game looks really nice! And its fun to play around in that giant ball-pool :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Almost... maybe with some balancing and some polish this could be decent.

rubna says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Hi everyone! Thanks for all the constructive comments I got. I uploaded a post-compo version with better controls because most complaints were about the controls, so give that a go. Thanks again :)

Cosine says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:01am

Great game, got me shaking my head every time I accidentally switched back to grey :)

henrykun says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:22pm

I really think that the idea has potential. Y played both, your compo and post-compo games. The second one is much better, because of the controllers and difficulty. In my opinion if you let the player move faster would be good. Think about making this for tablets and multiplayer, it would be cool :).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]