April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Block Hat

by yetanother - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for the Minimalist theme.

The goal is to remove the blocks by clicking on them. Each block start red, then become orange, then yellow, then explode.
If you achieve to explode a complete column you gain a bonus points.

Minimalism: "where the work is set out to expose the essence or identity of a subject through eliminating all non-essential forms" - Wikipedia
I have choosen to make a game where you remove block from the head of a guy to let his essence coming out (removing a whole column).

The game should work in any up to date browser.
It has been made in HTML5 (canvas + javascript).

It was a lot of fun to make but the gameplay is not very solid. I was not very inspired by the theme (I was a big fan of the theme before starting making a game of it).

Around 8 hours of work.

Potato

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#504Graphics3.10
#714Humor2.00
#788Innovation2.83
#1006Theme3.04
#1097Fun2.33
#1104Overall2.61
#1182Mood2.06
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

Haha... cute :3

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

Cute graphic :) It's a clever take on the "tetris" type gameplay. For some reason it seems a bit laggy unfortunately.

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I was a little confused at first, but liked the idea. I thought it was a little too easy though. I was able to clear the entire hat just by clicking at random, instead of thinking about it in a puzzle-like way. Great job though, it was fun!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I like the concept and visuals(needs animated explosion), but, as you say, the gameplay isn't there, it's too easy to keep the board clear until you add a line every 5 clicks, then it's impossible. Still had fun playing.

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

this needs some work gameplay-wise as you said. not a bad idea though. not sure what the hat on the head of a character has to do with anything =P

theomnis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02pm

The person's head really looks like a skateboard.

Nambew says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:49am

A good idea, I like the tetris twist, but need balancing for difficulty.

davidwparker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32am

Cute game, but isn't super difficult.

Did you make your js engine from scratch?

yetanother says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:20pm

@davidwparker A big part of the code is copy/paste from https://github.com/yetanotherportfolio/jamjs/tree/second-try That I wrote.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I like how the eyes move.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:47pm

It's cute alright, but I just keep on clicking around for some hours on end and I can't seem to clear that hat even once... WTF!!! :)

Ithildin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I managed to clear the hat :) Nice idea, and as several people have told you already, cute graphics. Good job!

Tom 7 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:40pm

site's down? :(

DaveDobson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:13am

Is it possible to win? Doesn't seem like it. I got his hat down to nothing, and it seemed like it just made a new row each time. Hard to see where you're placing pieces when you get to the bottom (and the shape of the pieces didn't seem to matter too much, although I think it was cool to be working with that as a variable). Fun, simple, and visually appealing.

rezoner says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Hey cool idea and execution! I really like how your coding skills are improving. Your code architecture is really close to my preferences.

May 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

Funny little puzzler! Took a moment to figure out just how to play.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]