April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Attack

by Krise20 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

FIX:
Bug where pressing space moved you to the next wave without a bomb.

Bug speed on some people's computer was too fast, Limited fps to 60.

When you get the game over screen. press enter to get back to he menu.

Due to to the random spawning of enemies. entering extreme mode can be difficult as it may keep saying game over. for now if you just keep entering it, you will eventually get in a state to play.

Sometimes playing a 2p game, there is no collision and you cant do anything, a current workaround for this is, press escape, enter a single player game, press escape and go back into the 2p mode.

I will try to fix as many of these bugs as possible without changing game play.

Keep your criticism coming. It keeps me going :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#498Theme3.59
#761Audio2.35
#817Fun2.70
#898Innovation2.66
#929Overall2.82
#936Humor1.71
#1140Mood2.18
#1224Graphics2.09

Comments

Krise20 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Didn't take me too long to whip this little game up. its not very complex!

However it's a lot more successful than my last Ludum Dare, which was a disaster :P.

feel free to let me know about any bugs.

There is 2 ways to start the game.

1:click the Run.bat (this will open cmd on windows and it will stay there)

2:click on the LudumDare26.jar which will start the game.

The game uses the Slick2D game library and creative commons sound.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04am

Web came back as an error.. hope you get it fixed.. good try..

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Yeah! for some reason the applet will load and play from my computer but not if I put it on my webhost

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Fixed it. However for some reason if I try to use the version with sound, it just refuses to load in the applet for some reason =[. Download the native for funkay sounds!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:32pm

A solid foundation, but it feels like it's missing something. What? I don't know, I'm just an NPC.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Simple, smooth, nice. The two suggestions I have are to make it automatically advance after you've cleaned up all the shapes in a wave (I was pressing space; I assume that's what I'm supposed to do?) and maybe to make your size change with health to make it easier/harder to dodge things. Good job!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I really like the game and the approach on the theme. When the game starts there a quite a lot of shapes and it's hard to avoid hitting the wrong ones. Also it's difficult to get the last one or two shapes when they are moving in random patterns :)

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

lwjgl apps hang up on my pc( dont know why

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37pm

A bit annoying that the only way to restart is restarting the game.

The concept of the game seems interesting, but isn't executed well and gameplay doesn't feel good. The other shapes move way too randomnly and fast and you are way too slow in comparison in order to actually be able to plan ahead.

I think the instructions said that you can advance to the next wave by pressing space when you have a bomb - but actually, you can always do that even without a bomb. Also, at high waves, the amount of shapes and the lag that creates is ridicolous.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

The extreme mode seems to be glitched.

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I didn't realise you could move on by pressing space. you're only suppose to be able to do that when you have a bomb. that's a simple glitch fix. Thanks for the criticism guys keep it coming :D

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

So simple and yet so fantastic, I liked the music.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Like the game idea. It seems so simple, yet you managed to make a complex game with it. Was quite fun to play it. :)

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

thanks :)

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Quite an interesting little game.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

It was tough to understand what was going on with this game. I played one game where the screen cleared completely before I even moved the square/circle avatar.

As for the sound, did you validate that your sound files were in the .jar file? I used Slick2D for my game, and Eclipse did NOT bundle the resource files into the .jar. I had to use 7zip to add them manually.

minibutmany says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

I thought it was quite enjoyable, but it was a wee bit annoying having to restart the game to play again. I took a peek at the source, I think you would have an easier time using a StateBasedGame instead of a BasicGame. It makes menus way easier. Also you should use JarSplicer to pack all your .DLLs and .JARs into one file.

Krise20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

thanks for the advice. yeah a few people have mentioned the restart thing. I'm not sure if they mean restart the wave or restart the actual whole game. because if you press enter at the game over screen it takes you back to the menu.

My source is soo messy, I don't usually code like that. I think when I get a bit of time I will use stateBasedGame. I lost a lot of time at the start of the comp by half making a game then abandoning it cuz I made it in swing / awt, and decided to do this in slick2d

:)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Insta-killed on spawn at wave 7. Perhaps a "safe zone" starting area would make that a little less unpleasant. Good concept, great work.

Krise20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

yeah that's a big problem with my entry. it does eventually get impossible!

One of someone else's ideas was to move size with health, which I will do as out of compo addition. but thanks :)

wy477wh173 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Interesting, Could use some more work though.

May 2, 2013 @ 11:48am

Interesting game. Next time try to teach how to play through level design instead of writing a wall of text :)

euske says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:07pm

The idea has potentials.

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:50am

the "how to play" text goes off the screen for me, so I can't read it :| "when you touch another shape you wil-" I think I figured it all out though so I was still able to play. Fun game idea, good job.

Krise20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:41pm

oh no. Thanks. I forgot to resize the window when I resized the window

gerritg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Liked the concept, missed more forms and something like a spawn protection since it happens that you or your enemies spawn directly in each other. Still a nice entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]