April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Laser Drift

by MrOtton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Laser Drift is a top down drift car game. Your goal is to reach the finish line as fast as possible without crashing into the walls. Your crashes will be added to your time at the end of the round. The less the score, the better you are.

It's made in Construct 2 by Scirra.

Have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#525Theme3.57
#625Fun2.91
#683Graphics2.88
#690Audio2.47
#721Overall3.00
#756Humor1.96
#898Mood2.54
#954Innovation2.56

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03am

Pretty neat laser line drift game. I sux at the controls. but the collision detection reaction is pretty neat. Good job.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Very cool. I could see playing this as a great 2 player game.
(Great mood music.)

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

The controls are pretty bad, it's pretty much impossible not to hit the walls which seems to be the main goal.

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

good drift game.

strange physics on moving backward.

scriptorum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This was fun. This is more like piloting a boat, or drifting on ice. I would like tighter steering controls - it's very difficult to drive in a straight line because that requires such a minute key press.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Good game!

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I think, the idea is cool, but the drunken car driving is hard. It doesn't move like a car, more like pushing a dead cow on a frozen pond. But it was okay. ;)

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I like the concept of the game and the simplicity of the graphics. Well done!

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I crashed 200 times. It's just like real life!

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:59pm

"dead cow on a frozen pond," ha!

I didn't realize the purple box was a finish line, so the first time I played, I went around backwards. That was stupid in retrospect.

This was pretty cool, with appropriate audio, and minimal in the good way.

Dohan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:35pm

The control feels almost like a shopping cart. Very funny!

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:18am

Fun game. Needs tighter controls. Couldn't submit scores. All that aside, I enjoyed it :)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:19am

The controls are a fun challenge!

MrOtton says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Thank you for all the feedback :) I added a new level and implemented the leaderboards in the new version. You can play the it here: http://laserdrift.clay.io/

Have fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]