April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Allied

by JPatrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you survive until help arrives? WASD to move,left click to shoot. Spacebar activates the last brought ability, as long as the tower power bar is full. Right click to throw distraction grenades, which you can buy 5 at a time from the shop. Good luck!
DROPBOX MIRRORS
Dropbox mirror for the downloads:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71157819/Allied_Linux.zip
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71157819/Allied_OSX.zip
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71157819/Allied_Windows.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#580Humor2.19
#827Audio2.23
#1130Mood2.20
#1196Fun2.15
#1213Innovation2.09
#1234Overall2.38
#1250Theme2.59
#1266Graphics1.97

Comments

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Having some issues accessing the download site, I'll check in later to see if its resolved.

JPatrick says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Dropbox mirror for the downloads:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71157819/Allied_Linux.zip
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71157819/Allied_OSX.zip
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71157819/Allied_Windows.zip

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I tried 3 times and last 11 seconds exactly each time, the more I shoot, the more monster come, and the more they come quickly ?!

JPatrick says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Yeah, its round based, so the higher the round, the more squares will attack

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

The enemies are coming in way too fast and too close, I think. It's hard to stop even half of them :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

This is brutal.

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

nice game

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Whoooaaah, I survived 14 seconds on NORMAL. The colors of the title and game over screen are too intense, I think.

gmaker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:00am

nice idea! =) good job

May 2, 2013 @ 11:01am

Doesn't work on my machine :( Win7 64bit

May 2, 2013 @ 10:51pm

good job man :)

hthornton says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Good game, keep up the great work. :)

JPatrick says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:40pm

To the windows 7 64bit guy, I develop on windows 7 64 bit, is there an error in the console? Thanks for the feedback guys :)

Milo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:59pm

The game works well, although I wish there was some break between the waves and that the enemies would spawned further away.

john_conder9 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I made the mistake of trying to play this at normal mode at first - jeez.. this is a very hard game. I bought lots of the slow down items since I thought they'd be incredibly important but I couldn't figure out how to use them. Space bar, as far as I could tell, didn't unleash a powerful aoe attack, maybe some meter had to fill up but the game is so fast paced I didn't really have time to look at my screen and figure out what was going on. In fact, some sort of tutorial level or something would have been pretty helpful here, or some way to not be immediately throw into the action so players could have a chance to figure out what everything on screen meant, how to use different items, etc.

But, other than that being dag-on near impossible, the game itself was pretty fun.

FAKE-EDIT: I tried one more time after writing this because the thought occurred to me, maybe it uses items in the order you purchase them. The answer appears to be yes! Okay, so, that's cool. I made it to round 10 on hard mode using the slow down things, I think with a transition to the aoe things I could go further. I'll play around with it and see, but figuring this out made it more fun, so, great job :D

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:32am

Don't have Java installed. Sorry:(

May 6, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Wow, this is brutal even on the easy level.

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Puh, not that easy. Especially cause it starts without the player knowing how to control the game :D Actually the game is good, but a bit too hard even in easy-mode :D Ok, I didn't had that much time to enter the shop. For sure there I would have had better options to helping my friend :D

And a big plus for releasing a linux-version. Thx for that

JustinMullin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Very very hard, but fun. It would have been nice to have a brief pause in between levels to shop, even though the shop screen pauses the game.

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:03am

I like the idea (defend yourself and someone else), but the enemies just came too fast. Even if I tried to buy the slowdown from the shop right away, couldn't last more than 12 seconds.

Kvisle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I don't think this is wrapped up correctly in the Linux download; This is the error message I got - http://pastie.org/private/knqdcf5jn8s8zpxowiyag

I've played a lot of games with lwjgl, so I suspect it's a problem with the archive.

JPatrick says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Kvisle, you need to run it via the .sh script, not manually in terminal

Kvisle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:27pm

OK! Got it to run now :)

This game is hard!

f7f5 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Every time I move the mouse to enter the shop 1000 enemies come and hit my friend :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]