April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spike Line

by Yorwba - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Spike Line is a simple one-button side-scrolling platformer made with LOVE (love2d.org)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#339Theme3.76
#751Graphics2.77
#832Audio2.22
#838Mood2.60
#839Humor1.86
#898Fun2.61
#1045Overall2.68
#1260Innovation1.98

Comments

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41am

Nice game, suiting the theme, the only downside is the sound, which I really did not like.

ericlass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Nice game. though the music makes me a little gaga ;-)

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Nice, pretty much as simple as it can get. I think the audio fits pretty well to the visuals - the line one jumps around on looks a bit like what an oscilloscope could paint, when given these kinds of beep-sounds. However, the "music" isn't really synchronized to the level (or is it?). Overall, it's a fun little game, fits well with the theme!

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

The music was really annoying... And it feels like you maybe could have added something to make you feel like you actually are getting somewhere. OK entry though

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I love the idea and realisation!

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I am into this game :) Canabalt-esque

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Simple'n'sweet.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Really nice game, suits the theme perfectly and it's pretty fun. I do agree with other reviewers that the music could be better. Nice job!

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Fun game! Could do with being a bit more fast paced and maybe make the jumps smaller, or different heights of jump. Good job though!

zeelyndz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Pretty cool and simple, I like it. The music sounds like it's made with Musagi, is it? (Also you tried to check out my game and it was down, it's up now!)

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47am

Pretty straightforwards, does what it sets out to accomplish.
I would like to see more control over the jumps and some non-painful music if you were to continue developing it.

P.S. - I've fixed the Windows build in my game; thanks for pointing it out!

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:42am

118. Minimal and fun. perfect =)

May 1, 2013 @ 10:38am

Well done. Feels a little too slow in the beginning, but overall it's pretty nice. I've got to say that I quite like the visual presentation, minimalistic yet somewhat appealing.
I have to agree that the music is by far the weakest point though. :D

May 1, 2013 @ 11:15am

Extremely simple. Not a bed thing, but could have been a bit more interesting for what concerns its pace. The graphics reminded me of Vib-Ribbon

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:38pm

That is brutally hard, I would have liked it if the controls were just a hair tighter. I really liked the sounds, but they could have tied in with my actions more.

"Search in my car
Search in my house
I can't find just anything I want"

May 2, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Simple and in theme - maybe a bit too in theme, one or two more features would be nice, just to make it more engaging. Love 2D works on OS X and UNIX as well and since you're already using a cross-platrofm technology, you might as well export versions for those two or three guys on Ludum Dare who use those systems :P

May 5, 2013 @ 12:56am

Just tranced-out and almost got 1,000 points... nice.

kyru says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Not bad, felt like it could move a bit quicker.

pentaphobe says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Interesting idea, though the random generation leaves much to be desired.

Is that music procedural? It's irritating, but if you put the effort into generating music you deserve recognition for this :)

paulopn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Surprisingly...hypnotic... I personally think the jump would be better if it's height was controllable (like in Mario, for example) but that's just me. Nice =D

Threef says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Well... One of the best games I've seen on this edition of Ludum Dare! This is great! I gave you 23 stars!

scriptorum says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Was the noise supposed to be music, or variation on a heart monitor? I'd have preferred you stuck with the traditional beep, but hooked it in when you jump. The jumping feels a little sluggish and sometimes you can get in a jump loop - jumping continuously without break - which feels unfair when it ends in death. I thought the motif was morbid but decent. What if you added three lives, and every death ends with a flatline and Dr. Yorwba yelling, "CLEAR!"

alts says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:12am

The premise isn't very original. The implementation does fit the theme well, and I was a fan of the icons used. The jumping felt floaty, which isn't a good feeling when, at later points in the game, precise jumping is critical. I couldn't tell at first if the sound was generative or not. I think it might be interesting to use the sound to telegraph upcoming obstacles.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]