April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

::.::::::.

by rwos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please use Chrome if you can! (Firefox works but it's pretty sluggish, at least on my machine).

You'll find key bindings above the game - other than that, you're on your own. You'll probably figure it out, though.

As a tribute to the theme I've thrown away our hideously complicated alphabet and replaced it with a ternary one. That's also where the game's name comes from (it's pronounced "px", as in "pixel").

This was my second Ludum Dare but it's my first game with sound. :-)

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Mood3.97
#54Graphics4.13
#60Overall3.89
#121Theme4.06
#142Innovation3.71
#190Fun3.45
#221Audio3.26
#444Humor2.40

Comments

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

Extremely beautifull. I love the simplicity and the chaos at the same time. The fisheye effect is a great great idea. And to transform motion and action into a sort of painting is nice, but i would prefer a better integration of the "map" in the corner.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

Great game, Little dis-orientating, but awesome

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Great game! Eerie music and strange surreal graphics. My favourite!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Beautiful. Needs Oculus Rift support for gut-blowing terror mode.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Nice work - I didn't quite understand the shooting mechanism, but the feel of the game is great: I think the "theremin alien sound" should be a (tiny) bit more menacing... because the overall mood is really good and creepy.

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

The sound on this is very mesmerizing, specially when near an enemy. Very fun to play! Great work :)

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

I dig the simplicity of the 3D rendered world. I couldnt' figure out what shooting the squares was for though.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Excellent ! And thanks for the little souvenir !

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

There is some much coolness about your game. It's really something. How did you even accomplish this ? It's 2D right ? It looks awesome, it's simple and engaging. Great job, it's exactly the kind of game I like to find in the Ludum Dare.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I think I just beat the matrix...

Seriously though that was quite the experience. I think my ears need to pop.
I wasn't entirely sure what was going on but there were coloured blocks to shoot so that was ok. The disorientation brought on by being hit was pretty cool. Don't think I could play it again right now but yeah, memorable!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Very great game! loved it. Congrats.

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

@gabehollombe: the colored cubes hurt you if they come near. So you shoot them. :) Also, shooting them places colored pixels on the canvas/level-selection thing.

@Simon: it's basically 2D, yes. It's a Raycaster - the same kind of renderer Wolfenstein 3D used, for example. Except that mine is quite a bit simpler/dumber than Wolfenstein's (mine can't display textures).

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:47pm

It is impressive ! Liked it, even if i am not sur to understand everything !

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Surreal.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Wonderfull. I like the effect of getting hurt.

jcvsmc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I love the idea at the end!!!! :D here's mine =3 http://imgur.com/H1bMefB

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

@jcvsmc: nice, thanks for the upload :-)

here's my last-speed-run-before-submission map: http://imgur.com/khghwdY

Toinane says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

:o whoaw ! It's a very great game ! I love this HTML5 game ! Good job seriously !

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

If ever need someone's eyes melted, I'll give you a call. Thanks.

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

i loved this! i loved the feel of the movement and the fisheye prespective. i loved it even more when you got hit. the map screen is also really awesome. only complaint is i think it would look much better in a stricter b/w aesthetic.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

wow, nice work. The look of the game is very cool, especially the out of the game area effects. And the nice little touch at the end with the PNG is super.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

I really like the controls in this! I feel bad about killing those cubes.

Kiasaki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Hey, your game is awesome, took me a while to figure out that the black on the cubes were their HP !

And thanks for fixing the linux version of Factorism

chowdy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Great job! I love disorienting feeling of taking damage. Great way to represent enemy HP, also!

Jiddo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I really liked it. Awesome atmosphere and quite eerie, I have to say I actually felt goosebumps on occasions. I tried the web version and was pleasantly surprised at how fast it's running!

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Really liked the level design in this game, good work.

dagothig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Real fun, it's amazing you have done all that in web!

queader says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

WOW! It's an awesome game and I really forgot about the time, while I was playing it! Mysterious. And I liked the way the HP of the enemies is shown :)

aaronmueller says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

nice!

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Fantastic! I'll have to look in to adding sound to my future html games.

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:02am

Thoroughly engrossing and pleasingly disorientating

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Great work ! I like the way to destroy cubes and the final random painting. Well done !

Panda313 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

o_o (nothing else I can say !)

Are says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

THIS. GAME. IS. SO. BEAUTIFUL.
The best game on LD so far in my opinion.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Incredible game! The visual effects are fucking awesome!! Congratulations!

Entity2D says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Very interesting game, the raycaster graphics are just awesomesauce :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Over the top simple and super fun. I love the effect when you get hit. The enemy's damage is a great bit too.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Quite fun, I played it through to the end. I love the wonky graphics with the slight fish-eye.

3.14 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:57am

I love the twist on the classic raycasting. Good work.

May 6, 2013 @ 8:33am

Raycaster without spherical distortion reduce :) Nice psychedelic feel!

May 6, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I got somehow terrified, the game has quite the atmosphere. And the sound! Whooo! Using the whole screen was brilliant, the game totally got me.

f7f5 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Loved the crazy effects and the sound.

Per says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Very nice graphics!
Kind of scary as well :)

Ragzouken says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Really nice aesthetic :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:14am

Not bad! Game is not interesting as visual effects. I like pixelating noise!
Very atmospheric in any case =)

Zener says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:20am

This is pretty cool! Minimalistic FPS and very playable

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:50am

This is a very good playing experience. I love the art direction of your project. Very original.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Winterblood says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:59am

Well presented, great ideas. Turn speed a bit slow, and could have used a little inertia to improve the feel of moving around, but enormously fun all the same. Good work!

triforcespark says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:43pm

I like how the background screen turns red :)

stevejohnson says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:44pm

This is AWESOME. Well-rounded and fun.

Norritt42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:52pm

That's minimalism. I really liked this game. I played it through to the end since I could see the end it did keep my interest. Some more reward in the end would have been nice though ;)

Sestren says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:51am

The art that you generate through playing the game is a really cool idea. I wish the machine gun sound effect had a little more variety to it, but other than that, I really liked this entry.

rsodre says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:12am

Congratulations, very good mood, I love the drunkening factor. It's interesting the fact that the map becomes useless on each try, making the level always more difficult when you die.

ethankennerly says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:57am

The shaking pixels on the walls and the ambient sounds lured me. If you continue to develop this, the shooting sound and image confused me.

HELLO23 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:02am

Amazing. I really liked the visual effects, and the gameplay. I also liked how the page's background changed when I hit the blocks. I liked that you did it with JavaScript. 5/5

mildmojo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:38pm

You've got a bug in your input system; your key handler needs to call the keydown event's stopPropagation() and preventDefault() methods to keep keys from bubbling up and triggering browser commands. I've got my browser set up to use letters to start its typeahead find feature, which takes focus away from the game and consumes all further keystrokes, so I couldn't strafe.

Really nice game. Great minimalist take on raycasting. I liked the way the rendering got jittery and ghosty as you took damage, though I got a bit of a headache trying to focus on it. Excellent idea to tint the whole page background when shooting, killing, or taking damage.

rwos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:10am

@mildmojo: Thanks for the bug report! I do preventDefault(), but only for the keys that do stuff in vanilla browsers (cursor keys and space). I completely forgot that people like to customize their browsers... :)

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:34pm

awesome graphics! the fisheye camera and changing wall distortion really blow my mind! good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:48pm

The sound is nice, and so are the effects you get when you're hurt. Nice game.

May 13, 2013 @ 1:48pm

good stuff man.. i love raycasting :)

atraxgames says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Woah! I feel the raycast-blurry in me. Great game.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Really great atmosphere and nice conclusion at the end. The gameplay is a bit simple, but the game is imersiv so...good job.

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:50am

Wow. Why have I never seen games mess with the page background outside the 'game frame' before? It was kind of fourth-wall-y and kind of awesome. Have all the votes

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:27pm

This game is like I like my steak: well done. Love how getting damaged made things look crazy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]