April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Paddlewhite

by Dohan - Jam Entry

Paddlewhite
-----------

You are Paddlewhite and your objetive is to minimalize the complexity of the game to face the evil Error!

In each stage; mechanics, graphics and so are reduced to aproximate a minimal expresion of the game.

INSTRUCTIONS:
-------------

Arrows or WASD: move you through the screen.
Spacebar: shoot.
LShift: raise reflector for 2 seconds. Needs another 2 seconds for cooldown.

Detailed instructions below, if you prefer to discover the game mechanics by yourself stop reading and go play it now!

-Stage 1:

Avoid getting hit by the enemies or their bullets, or destroy them with your higher firepower! You are equiped with a jetpack (allow you to move left and right), a reflector (sends back enemy bullets, but doesn't protect you from colliding against enemies) and a cannon gun (allows you to shoot). You have also a shield that regenerates over time (the blue bar on the left).

-Stage 2:

That previous stage was very easy so you discard both the jetpack (now you can only move up and down) and the regenerating shield, but you still have your cannon gun and your reflector.

-Stage 3:

Now you are only equiped with the reflector, so use it carefully and avoid as many enemies as you can.

-Stage 4:

11-points match of Pong against the boss of each level. The winner gets all the glory.

Enjoy!

---------------

This game was made in Unity from scratch for the 72h Jam by Red Little House Studios (www.redlittlehousestudios.com).

---------------
Music credits:

'Antiquated Machinations' by Mucky88
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/427639

'Cosmos' by TheOnlyFool
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/502153

'Wizard Dance' by Murcielago1
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/291191

'Atari Rockout (ver.1)' by The-Evil-Clown
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/275079

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#148Humor(Jam)2.71
#149Audio(Jam)3.34
#195Graphics(Jam)3.53
#270Fun(Jam)2.89
#281Overall(Jam)3.11
#344Mood(Jam)2.71
#387Theme(Jam)2.93
#433Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Pole :)

There's an ending after the pong stage, or just goes forever?
Nice idea, and strange concept art, haha :P

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11am

The pong stage is a 11 points match. We hope you enjoyed our strange art :D

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

Nice game, awesome graphics, good sounds! I really enjoyed it, though the shot colour was really hard to see for me.

Wilson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:46am

I enjoyed the game and the take on the theme, but that pong match was kind of dull, I would have liked a slower opponent, or maybe playing just to 3 - I almost gave up at that point.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52am

The graphics were some of the best I've seen so far in this LD. Nice job!

Agree with Xatulu that the enemy shots were hard to see due to being a similar color to the starfield.

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Nice game (Even though I got stuck in the third level since I couldn't shoot for some reason). I liked the music.

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

It seems link is dead.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Ooooh cool game! I like the sounds and gfx!

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Thank you all for your feedback!

@Xatulu & @SmilingCat: We were out of time to create a bullet sprite :(
@Wilson: Yup, the Pong stage is a bit too long, although the enemy paddle gets tired over time. The 3-points match is a good idea.
@Yoni: You are losing features from stage to stage, and in stage 3, you can only rise your shield and move on the Y axis.

Mago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Cool game. I enjoyed simpler and simpler gameplay. Good job. And the music is awesome!

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Good concept and graphics!

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

he he... great concept!

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

I figured out it was probably a "pong" but somehow all of the bullets hurt me instead of bouncing. I guess it is pretty exact then to place the paddle or so...?

Geoege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Really love graphics, and the humor.
The gameplay lacks a bit of tweaking but it's ok. Nice done.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Unity in Chrome says 'Failed to download data file' :(

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Great game! Very aesthetically pleasing. :)

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Loved the art in the first stage and the retro-fying thing was nice. Reminded me a lot of Bit.Trip Beat. Good fun.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04pm

I got stuck on the boss on the level I couldn't shoot. I waited for two minutes (on the bottom of the screen, where the boss apparently couldn't shoot) - but nothing happened. It was fun while it lasted though :)

May 1, 2013 @ 1:48am

I was unable to shoot on the third stage. That a bug?

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:44am

@dick_claus: It looks like that that was a server error. I've been unable to replicate it :/

@Diventurer $ @SomeNetworkGuy: On the 3rd stage you lose your weapon, so the only way to attack enemies is reflecting their bullets, raising your shield with LShift. It seems that I should clarify this in the game description.

Thanks again for all the feedback, time to play some more games!

mikeware says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:06pm

(grr lost comment before) Graphics and audio were nice, but it was very confusing to tell what was going on with the HUD in the first level with all the meters and plethora of enemies. I would have focused more on the minimalist third stage across the whole game, but then I couldn't defeat the boss at the end. I could just camp out in the lower-left forever...

Muu? says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:15am

I absolutely loved the level regression.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Nice work!

May 5, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Nice!

Super Hamster says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:08pm

It says "Data file is corrupt (not a unity web player file)".

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:32am

Getting invalid data file. =(

Dohan says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:21am

I'll try to fix that as soon as I can, thank you.

lotusgame says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:00am

Very nice game ! I like the way game play elements are minimalized. Two small details though :
- the color of your shot is the same than the ennemies one, so it's impossible to make a distinction
- the size of your character is too big, so the controls are less fun
Anyway, it's a very cool game and a huge amount of work :) Congrats !

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Cool game. Nice controls, graphics and mood. Well done and fun, but I think that it's fit the theme. Congrats anyway!

May 9, 2013 @ 3:44am

The interface reminded me of FTL initially but still a pretty impressive game you built for a game jam.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:24am

nice game -- nice graphics -- great job!

TheSarcastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:46am

Wow it's impressive you were able to add this much stuff :O Though I gotta mention that it didn't feel minimalistic :P

MinionStudios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Nice one! That is minimal, probably the most you can get in video games.

May 11, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very cool game! Nice graphics, audio and game progression!

Congrats!

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:31am

Cute art, nice idea and music!

manax says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:47am

It says "Data file is corrupt (not a unity web player file)" for me too. :(

Dohan says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:59am

Fixed, thanks!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:55pm

HAHA, the UI of the firt level. Good idea, but it's hard too perceive the enemis shoot and avoid it (the music is inspired :-) )

May 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Doesn't work for me : Data file is corrupt (not a unity web player file)... Sorry!

ataxkt says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Pretty neat!

Dohan says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 6:23am

And it's over. Thank you all for playing!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]