April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

imy

by Ditto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

imy is short for the title of the game which is revealed at the end.

This turned out way better then I anticipated, yesterday everything felt like shit. Hope you all like it, I think I got a really emotional thing going on which feels pretty cool. Also, for you enjoyment, press 'alt+enter' for fullscreen and use headphones.

You'll need XNA to play.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
Mood4.48
#6Overall4.24
#15Fun4.02
#33Innovation4.09
#42Audio3.88
#49Theme4.24
#66Graphics4.08
#322Humor2.62

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10am

Awesome!

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Can't get it to work. :/ It crashes right when I start it, no errors / exceptions whatsoever. I do have XNA runtime installed.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

absolutely fantastic. one of the best I've played so far this Ludum Dare

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

Hmm that's strange, if you do have XNA 4.0 installed it should work fine. :(

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

I also can't get it to work. It crashes when I start it. I have XNA installed.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

This is really top shelf. I love the fog and the gameplay mechanic.

A bit short on direction early on but I suppose that was intentional. I didn't realise I could pick up the balloons I'd dropped until later on.

REALLY GOOD

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

I tried to run it from the source code (using visual studio 2010 - I have XNA), here is the exception (screenshot) : http://puu.sh/2JkeW.png

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58am

Oh my, thank you so much, eh, will try to fix that!

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

Okay, it seems to be a problem with windows media player not being installed and whatnot. I added a try/catch which should fix the problem, but in case the catch runs you won't hear the music.. : (

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49am

AWESOME GAME !!! One of the best games I have seen so far.. although I got stuck with no balloons. Minimalistic and simple graphics, but so beautiful ! A beautiful game and idea. I will defiantly go over the source code sometime, It is hard to believe it was all done in less than 48 hours !

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

HELLO23 Damn, did you ever get to the end? :( also, if you're going to look at the code, you're in for a ride. it's a mess.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

Not working on Win8.

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43am

Great job, very nice concept !
Graphics are really cool

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

This is awesome. Whatever your emotions were, I'm sure they are caught in this game forever. When the game was already over, I kept starring on the screen mesmerized for a while. Chapeau.

The Jahn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

Spectacularly done.

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I really liked the part where the level started to tilt.
Awesome details! :)

jami says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Why aren't there 6 stars? or 20 stars? Sooo awesome game! That's the kind of game you want to play over and over again. Thank you!

FenLudum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I love it!

Bluebutton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Absolutely stunning. Congratulations, hope you win.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Great job!

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Beautiful game!

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Really enjoyed the gameplay and music. Set the mood nicely! At later points in the game I could barely see the main character...a bit too much white. But loved it!

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The game started fine then after a while the framerate dropped to unplayable levels, I'll test this game again later to see if I can play it to the end

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

A very nice experience. One of the best games so far. I really like the different mechanics and the controls are tight.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Wow, I am just blown away by this. It's gorgeous and simple and minimalist and the balloons.. just so unique and fun! Music was really fitting too. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that it had to end!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Enjoyed it a lot, very awesome...

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Tankete, there's a reason behind that.

Thank you all for the nice comments! To all who have technical problems with the game, you're fueling my urge to learn openGL until next LD, hopefully I can reach a wider audience then : )

Greg Power says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26am

Really great. You nailed the balloon mechanic. I love the sound they make when pop.

Also, I've just had a bit of fun editing the game in the map doc. Ad hoc level editor!

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57pm

At the beginning I was expecting some fast twitchy game. But it was quite the opposite and I liked it a lot. You made my day, thanks!

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:59am

That balloon mechanic was one of the single funnest things I've ever seen in a platformer.

lanz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:04am

Very good game! Liked music, and theme. Colors were quite harsh for me. Overall it was very fun and sad in a good way. Great job!

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

Beawtifull and solid! nice entry

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:13am

You create an intensive atmosphere here. The music and the sound effects fit very well. The physics and the puzzles which you made out of them feel very smooth. Nice game!

Topaz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:32am

One of my favourites. Very interesting!

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:42am

The game doesn't start at all for me. No error message or anything. Got Win 8

Ditto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Is that so, I've already had some complaints from win8 users. I don't really know what I can do about it I am afraid. Sorry.. : /

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Really smart and polished. You left me hanging at the end though...

Ditto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Heh, that's real clever;D

ilo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very nice, Ditto. Very nice.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Moody as hell, with a gimmick that stands to be explored further. Hooked from the first second.

ddionisio says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:59am

Love the balloon effect, that was really sweet! I had a lot of fun with it. I like the ending, this game is a great metaphor.

The controls are smooth. The graphics and audio is great too. I feel the screenshots don't do justice until you see it in motion.

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:36am

Simply amazing. This is the best ld26 game I've played. Maybe the best indie game in a while. Excellent work!

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:51am

Wow... That's a fantastic mood. I put a hand on my speaker and I could feel the notes. :)

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:04pm

It is just plesant to play this game! So calm and nice! Very good level design and cute graphics. Fits theme perfectly!

zkenshin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Really great entry. :)

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:59pm

awesome game

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:59am

Loved the visuals on this one, the gameplay was very nice as well (it's rare to see platforming controls work so well)... Gratz!

kyyninen says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Short but very lovely! I honestly almost cried out loud when my precious balloons started popping. Then later I realized you could touch broken balloons and they filled again... AND THEN THEY POPPED AGAIN. Music is wonderful, still listening to it.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Deceptively simple, but very accomplished.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:50am

Really nice mood, good game (to short but great anyway)

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:24am

wow... great mechanics and well... nailed it all around. thanks for the experience!

fermcg says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:43am

Mini art!

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:49am

This is fantastic, I love the floaty jumping segments and the wonderful baloon/parachute bits, a unique mechanic and full marks for fun and mood and innovation. Great work.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I love this! Great idea! I'd love to see this as an expanded game.

Jun 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I'm a Linux user and can't run the game. Even wine couldn't make it run. Please use some multiplatform tool next time! When you develop a windows-only software, you obligate your user to purchase the windows thing. And the money is not the problem, the goal is about freedom and break the chains of the microsoft slavery.

Ditto says ...
Jul 4, 2013 @ 5:17pm

@Rodrigo: Yes, I totally agree with you. This is actually the last game I create using XNA and am currently learning SFML with C++. Hopefully in the future you can play my games. Thank you for your interest anyhow, means a lot!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]