April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

*Humorous Title!*

by Graf_Grun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Humorous Title!* is a lovely game full of dodging, lines, perspective, and more lines. In it, you can experience the joys of minimalism first-hand by leveling down each of the three categories, Color, Geometry, and Gameplay. Or, if you choose, you can avoid the minimalism by leveling them up. Whichever you decide, your gaming experience is not complete until you reach lvl 5 of Gameplay - it's pretty crazy. Really.

Controls:
Keeping with the minimal theme, controls for *HT!* are mouse, mouse, and more mouse (and Esc to pause).

Tools:
*HT!* was made 'from scratch' in C++ with SDL/OpenGL.
The graphics and font were either made programatically or with Aseprite.
And the meager sound effects were made in sfxr and powered by SDL_Mixer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#21Fun3.94
#63Theme4.17
#68Overall3.86
#255Graphics3.53
#300Mood3.20
#365Innovation3.37
#425Humor2.43
#993Audio1.82

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04am

This is neat :) It took some time to realize I was the small square, though the camera was me. :P

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

Nice game and idea. On the first level if I failed once the second change I could go through walls without hitting them, not even the sound was played.

Moromann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Wow, really good and addictive game!

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35am

Simply fun!!!

ZYXer says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Great minimalistic game concept and graphics. And fun to play. :D

For some reason I couldn't hear any sound. (And yes my loudspeakers are on ;) )
It would be really nice if it was visible how far the square is in the space, I intuitively assumed that the square was at the depth of the screen, which it isn't.

hissssssssss says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:45pm

This game was an absolute blast. I played it over and over again trying different combinations of gameplay, geometry and color. That adjustment system turned a simple yet fun game into something really marvelous. Amazing job!

Kharza says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:07am

Well done!

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:41am

Probably one of the most mechanically fun entries yet, great job.

dapierce says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

Love how the speed ramps up in this game.

aeveis says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

Very cool, a bit hard for me but that kept me playing for a while to see all the up/downgrades. Nice job!

ChuiGum says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

GREAT GREAT GAME! I love the idea of just go through holes and don't crash. Really love it!

Ryusui says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

Heh. A lot cleverer than it appears at first glance. (Am I the only one who found the game easier on Geometry 2 and tougher on Geometry 1?)

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:34am

very clever game, took me awhile to realize the significance of the level-end stat choices. Once you do, the theme really comes together. Nicely done!

Ditto says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:54am

This is really awesome! So simple and yet it feels so good to play!:D

euske says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:49am

This is a really fun game! Simple enough yet deep. Love it. (I'm a Super Hexagon fan, so...)

YSelf Tool says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:05am

Needed some time to realize I have to go through the structures, not around them. Pretty game, but sometimes I die without knowing why (I was in front of the holes).

Benn says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:41am

Neat! I enjoyed this!

Snail_Man says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:57pm

A fun game, although it wasn't at once apparent that you had to aim for the shapes, rather than avoiding them.

Brunodev says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Awesome, it fits the theme and its very addictive. Congratulations!

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:50am

This was really fun and addicting. I wanted to explore all the options, but it was very hard, I guess that's what made it addicting though. Great job!

Maple says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:01am

I played through enough to see the each of the different levels of each stat in action -- from black and white to psychedelic, 2D to depthy 3D, and static squares to rotating polygons. I couldn't manage to beat the rotating one though. :) This is really good.

Constructive criticism:
-It's hard to know how far away you are from the wall, and if you are through or not. I think it would be better if you hit the wall or go through if the camera is much closer to the camera. It feels weird that the cursor was me instead of the camera being me.
-With the rotational stage, I think resetting to no rotation each time you die was kind of annoying. I would have made it either keep rotating, or if you really needed to reset the rotation back to nothing, I would have made it rotate in the other direction each time it did that. I think the best thing though, would be if it changed the direction of rotating each time you died, but didn't reset the rotation to 0 in-between.
-Some win/lose animations/screens and audio would have been nice.

Overall, well done. You did a good job and I had a fun time playing.

gerritg says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:54am

Addictive! Thanks :)

MathiO says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Well I thoroughly enjoyed that! Once you sort of get in the zone it's like you gain a sense of the depth of your avatar dot. Oh and you weren't kidding about level 5 gameplay!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]