April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Broke Down

by saguaro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Broke Down is a Twinestory about tearing shit up and getting off on it.

The basic structure is super minimal, but you can increase the prose by several levels to uncover different layers of story. I used a number of Leon Arnott's macros, which are documented in the source.

FYI, this game contains profanity and violence and a conversation about scat. If you are familiar with my work you are already aware of my affinity for profanity.

I plan to release a post-compo version because I'd like to add more interactions. The best routes are the ones I wrote first, so if you want a recommendation I'd say go town, then casino, then ho, then geek, then kill everybody. YMMV.

Update: postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/broke-down-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#126Mood3.56
#157Humor3.07
#334Overall3.40
#492Theme3.60
#494Innovation3.19
#638Graphics2.93
#826Fun2.69
#1045Audio1.48

Comments

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

I liked this a lot. The writing was interesting, giving me just enough to catch my interest but not spelling everything out. Also very well designed for interactive fiction. Nice work!

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

This is amazing writing. I always read the things twice. Savor it baby.

Awesome stuff.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Interesting concept!

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

Very original. I enjoyed the choices and the outcomes.

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Awesome, great writing.

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I'm a tad disappointed after The Cards Never Lie.

While the expanding text gimmick sounds interesting, in practice it's only a bother to read the same text repeatedly with some alterations - most of which are just filler text which don't really add anything to the experience, in my opinion. Perhaps it would be more interesting if all hidden text actually added something and could not be displayed when you first read the text - for example, requiring you to have read certain other parts to 'unlock' the hidden text. As it is now, I eventually ended up just expanding everything to max size every time after a certain point, so I wouldn't have to reread the same thing thrice every time.

The plot feels very disjointed, chaotic and random. While to some extent this is justified by the subject matter, it feels like the story is distorted beyond what the protagonist's perspective would provide - like if the world was a dream and simply had no logic. Even with the protagonist's mental state it would make sense for it to feel like one continuous story, but rather it seems like a collection of separate snippets, as if you are skipping three pages for every page you read in a book.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Wow, that was pretty awesome. Haven't seen a text game that actually made me play multiple times like this.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

Very unique visuals and concept for a Twine game. How much of the custom flair did you create yourself?

Axelhein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

This is probably the coolest twine game i have ever played. The writing was amazing and the way that the text was divided into sections and vague really fit the theme. The colors and the fonts were also very well chosen. The game was super beautiful in general.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53pm

This is awesome! Super stylish and the writing is perfect :)

saguaro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08am

Everyone, thank you for playing and thanks for your comments. If something doesn't sit right, feel free to leave a note about that. I try to absorb it all so the next thing will be better.

@protensity - The CSS was mine, but the custom macros were Leon's. List in the postmortem:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/broke-down-postmortem/

Mase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00am

That was hot.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I felt the need to play through each scenario to dig up more details about what was going on. Digging is a strong motivation for me in interactive fiction, so I liked the addition of a scale of detail in the writing.
I wonder what it would be like if you only unlocked higher-detail text modes as you complete the story multiple times. So that maybe the bare minimum is all you get that first go, and it blossoms out from there.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Really interesting to see how the meaning of the text can change as it's given additional detail. I love the colour scheme - very Mirror's Edge

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:26am

I enjoyed this. My favorite twine game so far.

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Holy shit this is so good.

Jod says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Loved switching between verbose and minimal. Extremely well done. I loved how it all just 'fit' when switching between the two styles.

Such a sad little robot. At least that's my theory ;).

SnoringFrog says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:57am

Expanding/collapsing the story was an interesting idea. Seems like it'd be a fun exercise in stripping down a story to its bare essentials. The story itself was intriguing but never seemed to reveal a lot. Occasionally there seemed to be some spacing issues (playing on Google Chrome), but overall it was all done well. Good stuff.

Adrian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:56am

Well, not the kind of games that I like, but I can see that it's good. And very well into the theme, too. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]