April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimum Score

by shatterhand - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Start Game. Shoot Enemies. Damage lose points. Get Minimum Score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#348Humor2.56
#717Audio2.43
#895Theme3.18
#941Innovation2.59
#1003Mood2.40
#1025Fun2.44
#1097Overall2.62
#1159Graphics2.20

Comments

LogiQ121 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:31am

Love the concept. Damn those stupid hearts! :)

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Interesting concept and interpretation of the theme, but I found the controls really frustrating with the bouncing and deceleration.

mire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Very hard to control well.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Loved it. Hard, crazy, didn't quite know what I was doing half the time.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

A tutorial or something would be nice

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

321870, I won isn't it!
I wasn't sure of what I was suposed to hit. But fun near the end when there is a lot of hearts attacking you.

shatterhand says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

NO TUTORIAL. MINMALISM

shatterhand says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23am

Move with arrows, shoot with control or space.

Every enemy destroyed gives you points. Grab hearts and you get points. Grab diamonds and you get points. Touch enemies and you lose points. Touch the explosions and you lose points. Touch the borders and you lose points.

It's possible to have negative scores. My worst score is around -30k points

shatterhand says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

The thing is thinking about when and how to kill enemies. The more enemies you kill, more they spawn. The more damage you receive, less enemies are spawned. SHooting enemies gives you points, but it may be a good idea many times (even more against the heart-givers)

I shouldn't explain none of this. MINIMALISM

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Anti-score game, though really a score game as the goal is still to collect things, just the things you're collecting for score are typically bad things. Not bad, and the music was nice. Also, hearts everywhere.

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Cant play that, it's just a main screen, i tried to press all the keyboard/mouse gestures but nothing happened.

shatterhand says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:07pm

You just press enter

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:37am

This game is crazy. It seems to me that the less you do, the better. So yeah, I really tried to get the point of the game but I'm not sure. Would be cool if there was either more info or tutorials on there.
Nevertheless I had fun for a short period of time.

shatterhand says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:21am

MINIMALISM

infernet89 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:35am

Whops, sorry! I feel so idiot right now! Nice idea, dodging hearts and diamond never was so fun until now!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Haha! I loved it. I DON'T WANT YOUR LOVE! GET AWAY FROM ME, HEARTS!

My best (worst?) score was 12230. I just wall-hugged and tried to hit arrows occasionally :P

hissssssssss says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:49am

I had some graphical glitching, but was able to play the game anyway.
It can get tricky, and I love the trade-offs in the gameplay. Smoother controls would have been nice, I guess.

shatterhand says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I find it really funny, last LD I made a game with very smooth, rigid, precise controls and people said it would be more fun if the controls were more looose.

Now I make a game with looser controls, and people complain they should be more precise.

Guess you can never make everyone happy :)

I still think this game here benefits from the inertia and bouncing, it helps the whole "wtf" atmosphere, while my previous game demanded precise controls :D

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:54am

At first I didn't know what I was doing. I kept pressing the WASD keys, then I press the arrow keys and got some action. I didn't like the mouse disappearing

shatterhand says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:47am

?? You don't need the mouse for anything in the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]