April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

XYZ

by ataxkt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Its a very short unique atmospheric puzzler about shape and space across dimensions.

XYZ is my first completed Ludum Dare, I hope you enjoy it!

Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/29/looking-back-on-minimalism/
Presskit: http://tomkail.com/press/sheet.php?p=xyz

Unfortunately some people aren't able to run the game. if you're only getting a purple screen I'm afraid I can't do anything for you at this time - it's an issue to do with a small number of old graphics cards. Expect a fix after the contest!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Theme4.47
#11Overall4.18
#21Innovation4.17
#42Graphics4.17
#46Mood3.86
#53Fun3.78
#75Audio3.67
#748Humor1.97

Comments

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

Great concept. I think the lack of perspective cues such as texture/shadows on the objects was the key to the puzzle. Looked and sounded great too. Very rapid fire, sometimes I didn't know if I was just stumbling on the answers or if my brain was subconsciously figuring them out.

pknowles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

excellent game! I'd like the shapes to stay for a little while after each success as some I solved by accident and maybe be able to rotate without holding the key down. the style matches the theme really well and I played it all the way through proving it's fun.

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Fun puzzle game. Really enjoyed it. Good job!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49am

This is such a stylish game! I got stuck on the title screen for a moment pressing keys, which would have been averted if there was something telling you to click on it, or if it just took any and all input. I've got no criticisms of the actual game, it's great.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

@oatsbarley - Cheers! Yeah, you might be right about that, I'll update it after the contest!
@pknowles - There is a short timeout already, any more and I found that it felt unresponsive. I agree about pressing instead of holding keys - another one for the future iteration!

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

This was slick and satisfying! It reminds me of simian.interface.
I did feel like I stumbled into success during the earlier shapes, but once they got more complex I was forced to take it slower and try to understand them.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Wow! Really good, really clever game. Felt like I was being tested by Aliens

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Brilliant. The only problem I see in an otherwise very diverting game, is that it is too easy to reach the correct pattern by try and error. Maybe there could be a harder mode in which you have a finite number of steps to reach the desired shape. Also the underlying 3D volume should be easier to observe in order to be able to derive the right solution logically. Well done.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Perfect. For me, its the best game i have tried so far. It just matches everything required for the theme :)

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Amazing game. I liked that it's simple but very nice. Great use of colors :)

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Saw a flash game like this once. Really like the concept.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Really nice puzzle game.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

@timtipgames - A lot of people have mentioned this. The game used to allow you to rotate at any angle, but you would not believe how hard that made it.

@deige101 - Do you happen to remember the name of the game? Damn, thought I was being original :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Very nive and relaxing game! :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Very nice and relaxing game! :)

hockeygoalie5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Amazing concept! It was great trying to figure out the shape with which I was working and learning how to manipulate each one into the outline. Fitting and pleasing audio.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

This game is FANTASTIC. The concept matches the theme perfectly. I love it!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I enjoyed that a lot. The way the shapes were rendered really works well for this, because they kind of look like 2D shapes transitioning into each other. I've played games like this before, but this one is especially nice because of the way it's streamlined so that you're not trying to find the perfect angle, but just rotate it to one of a few, so you can complete the many levels in quick succession. It has a good flow to it. I liked the ambient music, too.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Amazing game, slick visuals ! I loved this one, very clever use of perspective and great theme interpretation. Well done !

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I like the concept but I'm not sure I get all the shapes as its difficult to tell without any guides. Sometimes I'm not even sure if its a 3D shape. Awesome work tough!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Wow, love the concept. And nice presentation/music. Not a lot to complain about here.

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

LOVE this game! It´s simple, yet tons of fun. the design and audio are very atmospheric. awesome! also good idea to put this on kong. i didn´t know you could do that for a LD entry.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Really like this one. If you put glow on the white objects it would be perfect!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

@naughtyloose I guess that's the puzzle! It's always a 3D shape, no cheating. Might have been fun to throw a tesseract in for kicks though.
@Split82 I actually tried that! I found it didn't add anything to the game - Minimalism!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

First game in 50 that I've "beaten". Excellent visual design, but to be honest I did clear a lot of the shapes by random button mashing.

reustonium says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:50pm

this is really great, one of my favorite so far. When I first moved a shape in two axis my brain took a second to catch up, it was a really awesome experience. Fantastic sound as well. What pro-featuers did you use aside from vignetting?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Very "minimal" concept executed surprisingly well! The game has a very quick feel that I wasn't expecting in a puzzle game.

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Very nice one, I played till the end. The only problem is you can brute force the solution, try every possible case etc. Still a very nice game!

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Thanks for telling my about the link issue. I fixed it. You can play now :) Let me know what you think.

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=18057

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

@reustonium I have a slight grain on it, and the entire style is dictated by the Edge Detect Effect Normals effect. I'm glad you had that moment, it's what I live to hear as a budding game designer!
@Zaszx A few people have mentioned that! I get the feeling that less people would see it through to the end if they couldn't do that though - I don't think I'd change it even with extra time!

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

I loved this game so much, I wish it went on for even and I could just dip into it when I wanted. I found it really relaxing and enjoyed it lots. Thanks yo.

Norgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

Awesome game and really good use of the theme. The way you just somehow flow through most of the puzzles paces it really well and frames the ones you have to stop and think about nicely.

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

I loved the presentation and art style. The puzzles were great too. Very good overall!

Bear says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

I came, I saw, I finished; and I loved it. Nice work man! This is was really fun to play.

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

Awesome game! Couldn't stop playing until I finished it! very very nice mechanics!

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34am

Really good, fun and simple. Well done!

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:38am

I feel like my whole life I've been preparing for this challenge.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

Challenging yet simple at the same time. Not too strenuous yet very puzzling. One of my favorites by far!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44am

This game would be great in mobile, working with the accelerometer, wouldn't it?
Sometimes the visual feedback is a little tricky to figure out when it is possible and isn't to turn in some direction, but I'm sure that's part of the game design, as long as there's no penalty for that.
Nice work and spot on theme and graphics -> 5 star!

daydalus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

Really enjoyed this game. The perspective-shifting gameplay reminded me a little of Fez. The art and music really fit the theme well. Great work on this!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

I really enjoyed it!
Cool puzzle game with beautiful visuals and great audio.
Great job!

ceMelusine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06am

Fantastic. Pretty much my favourite game I've seen thus far from Ludum Dare

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17am

This was so damned cool. Just what I need after a hectic jam. Something completely relaxing that I can zone out and enjoy.

I love it, and it fits the theme perfectly. Congrats man.

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

Awesome idea man! Some times I haven't solve the puzzle yet but the game tell me that I have O.o

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

this was really cool. great visual. cool idea. very minimal.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56am

Beautiful game and awesome mechanic. I love it!

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

Holy crap. This is really good. Love the art. Love the style. Love the music. The atmosphere. The silhouettes didn't always match, but it still cleared me. Sometimes it felt like I was spamming. This is really good. Nice work.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

The first time I played it I didn't understand that I was rotating 3D shapes. And if you just press WASD briefly the shape flashes and seems to rotate back to the original position. I only came back to see it a second time after another friend said it was worth checking out.

Anyway - cool game and maybe there is a good shape you can find for a couple intro levels to make it easier on people that don't get it right away.

MatrixBai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23am

Great job. I played one similar game long ago on Symbian. This one is more elegant.

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

So incredibly slick. I went into a mellow minimalist trance state playing this. I think you hit the nail on the head.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09am

Great puzzle game. I loved the look, the sounds and it's as minimal as you can get so it fits the theme :).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

Wow. Great use of the theme - you've created a zen-like experience. Music, gameplay, graphics all fit together so well. Congratulations!

xel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43am

Very slick.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53am

Really cool, for some reason I couldn't stop playing! You nailed the minimalism theme perfectly with this game.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:25am

Great puzzle game. I really like this type of game. You've made a very good job on this one.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43am

So great. Please make iPhone version!

Logun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59am

I loved that game. Simple and efficient. But he unity web version ruined my web browser !

Robert says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39am

Love all the effects including the depth of field, and vignetting. The mood is fantastic. Simple but challenging. Feels like a finished product.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

Amazing concept, gameplay and visuals.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:00am

@FaBrito - If the game does well I'll definitely consider a mobile version with that control scheme! Thanks so much for the rating!
@cwilloughby How do you mean didn't always match? That's very odd.
@nimblegorilla Thanks, thats really useful feedback! Its hard to remember that people don't know what the game is about. That'll be another tweak for the mobile version!

Muu? says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Great polish for a 48h.
Fits the theme perfectly.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22am

i truly love this game, is clever, is sure minimalist,and very fun to play!

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

Pretty cool, though it was easy to just brute force the rotations.

4BitLightning says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

One of the best uses of theme I've seen so far.

AnnynN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Best LD26 game I've played yet!:)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Wow that was really satisfying, love the pace and transitions between new shapes.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Wow, very great idea. So simple but so effective. Good job

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

I really love the idea, but one some level it felt more like trial and error. I suppose as a casual game, it's great. But I feel like speedrunning it and I don't know that it's possible.

Still, really loved it overall. :)

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Nice. Reminds me of game called Spin (a.k.a. Sil), but I think this one is better. :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Tht's a very cool game! I like the mood created by the audio, and the graphisms are pretty simple and nice :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18pm

@alexfalkenberg - thanks! It definitely can at times, but sometimes it can be nice to let the game play with you :) It's not designed for speedrunning, more to offer an enjoyable pace that keeps up with the player.
@tonic - Couldn't find the game! I'd love to see it though

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

This is a really great game. Very minimalistic and very original idea. Never tought of using orthographic cameras this way.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

perfect!!!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Genius concept, perfect use of the theme.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Nice, relaxing puzzle game. Well done! :)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

This game is really engaging. Neat concept masterfully done.

YsenGrimm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

One of the best lm26 games I played so far, really great idea. Took me around a min to figure out how to start the game :D

NuSan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Excellent, maybe a bit short ^^. I like the mood and having to immagine the object only by looking at its projection is nice. Sometimes the game seem to accept some false answer for no reason.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

The better game i have tested for the moment. good job.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Nice looking game with a relaxing simple puzzle mechanic. Really fits the theme too. Well done!

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Awesome game! Very great work, liked the gameplay mechanic, really original

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Awesome game! This fits the minimalism theme perfectly!

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Breathtaking. Simple, "minimalist" play. Slick.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Great game!

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Pros: Excellent game mechanics and very nice graphics!
Cons: As some people already stated it was a bit to easy to reach a solution with trial and error

One of my favourite games so far. =)

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Smooth and creative, it is also somehow relaxing. Great game.

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Wow, very nice!

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Really really nice! Great concept and lovely ambience. Very enjoyable, great work

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

This is great, I want more.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Beautiful! Just... beautiful. The only problem with the concept is maybe that there are only so many orientations that an object can have (24?) so there is a limit to how hard the puzzles can be; the length is perfect as is but I don't think it could be made any longer. A brutal timer would solve that problem but make it into a very different, much less relaxing game :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

@Frozen Fractal - Thanks! Ooooh, I battled with that for hours! I wrote a script which rotated the shapes to any interval and took screenshots, making it easy to see how hard a shape would be. Its in the source. I can change the degree that you snap to - 45 degrees makes for a very different game! I found it too hard though. 90 works for me :)

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Well executed, fits the theme quite well. The amount of shapes and possibilities are very cool.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Brilliant idea and excellent execution. Matches the theme perfectly and the mood could not be better found. The only negative thing I can say is that it feels short and a bit repetitive, but that is the least important thing here. 5/5

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Nice and simple. Imagining what figures look in 3d and finding the right projection can be challenging.

Krahe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

This game is amazing; I've never found a game I could autopilot on with my brain both satisfying and relaxing at the same time quite like this. A+ / would like to subscribe to your newsletter

metadept says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:53am

Very nice, stylish, polished mechanics and effective minimalist interface. I wish there were a bit more challenge or complexity to the gameplay, but this is very impressive work for 48 hours. Great job!

Komradus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44am

Wow that was really impressive. Great concept and execution, well done. Though controls were a little twitchy, sometime the shape would "overform" past what I intended it but nothing I couldn't get around.

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

Excellent work on this one. Love the visual style and the mood you've created. Congrats on your first LD completion!

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:33am

Brilliant - very reminiscent of the PS3 game "Echochrome."

...I'll admit I'm tempted to pronounce the game's name as "Ek-seez." ^_^;

Yarek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:48am

Really nice piece of art :)

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:59am

Awesome!

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:13am

Nicely done, great concept and visuals.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29am

Great, great game. Best one I've played so far. Very cool; great look, neat sounds and graphics, terrific interface, very simple but stylish. Nice work.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:07am

I like the zen aspect of your puzzle game ! Very unusual ! Great game, very well polished and made in 48h. Congrats :)

WhatTheTeam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:46am

Just awesome.

Ditto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:15am

Woah dude, I love how you get this intuitive feel for what you are doing, but if I try to think about it it was a lot harder! Great job!

DrGeraud says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I can't believe you manage to do that in 48 hours, this is amazing.
The level is so high in this LD.

maloki says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Challenging yet relaxing. Not sure if I had the controls down at first until I held down the keys longer. Usually one key moves it to the next rotation, but I guess this works to see what the shape is.

Good job! :D

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Great concept and execution! Beautiful interpretation of the theme. Very smooth aesthetic and audio.

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I can say with complete absolution that this was one of the best games I've played today.

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Love this game quite much, it's a great idea. Very easy to understand and the controls are very intuitive.

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Very innovative to me. Smooth and solid.
I enjoyed it a lot thanks

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Best score I gave so far!

villhest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I love it!

CharlesBoury says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Woah.

sittaman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Amazing idea and concept. Congratulations!

lathomas64 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Had trouble running the web player version of this in chrome. it even after clicking in the game it occasionally tried to scroll the window instead of react with the game or just didn't respond at all.

gilmore606 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:03am

Brilliant!

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:28am

Simple and awesome!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Wow very cool game !

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Fantastic puzzle! Congratz!!!

May 2, 2013 @ 10:06pm

great game man.. quite unique :)

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:54am

Really like this simple but fun idea. I've always loved perspective games like this and the calming music and nice colors made it a cool experience. I do think there are some bugs though because it quite often reward me for correct matches when I know they weren't full transformed/correct yet.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:49am

Very interesting concept and a well-executed puzzle game that personally stands out among the lot of puzzle games I've seen this LD. Great job!

patrickward says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Beautiful, relaxing game. I found myself engaged the entire time. This was very well done for the time. I wasn't sure about the controls at first, but part of the fun and learning experience was figuring out how they worked. Nice job.

Travis Irby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:55am

Really like the unique concept and the clean simple graphics! great job :)

Sestren says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:14am

Felt like part puzzle, part interactive thingamabob. Fun, and pleasing to listen to and watch.

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:53am

This game is just amazing. Unique idea an fitting for theme.

hughsk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:53am

Great style and execution on the theme, good job! :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Pretty awesome! Great little perspective puzzle game.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:56pm

This is a great and simple game. Works really well.

reverso13 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Really enjoyed the game. Great work

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Ok for the most part I was like "ok I'm really good at this" and then I was like "what am I doing here" hahah finally realized I was rotating a 3D piece fit in >.< Awesome work. Really pro stuff.

brxtr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:12pm

A very elegantly designed puzzle game with a nice flow to it, although the puzzles can be brute-forced—one way to sort of fix this would be to award solutions with minimal rotations—and sometimes it seems as though the shape is not completely filled when a level is won.

jadams says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Great execution of a nifty idea.

I didn't realize it was a 3D object for the first few levels, some shadows or a little rotating intro for each new object would have helped me at the start.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:43pm

A great interpretation of the theme, and rather atmospheric too.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:48am

One of the best entries I tried so far... excellent work!
Here's the only thing I'd improve: Rotating the 3D object is sometimes not working well. To me, a simple button press should rotate in a given direction.

Mago says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:07am

very interesting and original idea. I realy enjoyed this game

mollymus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:44am

I didn't quite understand the game, but i managed to complete the levels fast enough and overall it felt quite good just playing it - without understanding it perfectly:p Well done!:)

Zccc says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This is amazing, well done.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:22pm

It was so short it wasn`t challenging. Sometimes I saw the shape I should`ve been created, but I could fit a smaller shape in the same outline.

ataxkt says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:07am

@brxtr Agreed! I wanted to create a Zen game for this version, so any rewards and challenges would have detracted, but I'll be building a challenge mode in the future.
@euwaku Thanks pal! At the moment you have to hold the rotate buttons down - this is so you can look around the shape in 3D if you're confused. Perhaps I'll tweak weightings to make this more obvious.
@Madball I wasn't really looking to build an obvious challenge, more to make people look at things in a different way and enjoy the surprise (surprise when it all comes together is half of any puzzle!). A few people have said that - I don't mind if you make a smaller shape, so long as it fits in the hole! Maybe I'll design levels so to avoid that happening in the future.

KEFIR says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Nice relaxing toy! Not really hard puzzle thought

mildmojo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I'm glad someone took this idea and ran with it. I tried (unsuccessfully) to convince someone at our meetup to try it out.

I played the Linux build. Your default resolution was huge, wouldn't fit on my 1600x900 screen. Since Unity's Linux build doesn't yet have a resolution picker, I had to futz with command-line options to get it down to a reasonable size. A good default might be 800x600.

When I played, the graphics were completely greyscale, unlike your screenshots. Not sure why.

I wanted to have a perspective view of each model and more freedom of rotation so I could get a sense of what the object looked like in 3D so I could plan a proper orientation to fit the outline. As it was, I could recognize when the shape needed to be flipped 180 degrees around an axis (mirroring), but otherwise I kind of had to punch keys until something worked.

HELLO23 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:57pm

This game is awesome. I really liked the simplicity and the concept. I really like the idea, and I enjoyed playing it. Thanks !

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Rotating blocks to fit the silhouette interested me. The stark colors and ambient music focused me. If you continue to develop this, several times I tried all the rotations so did not feel like I was developing skill. Sometimes a shape matched that looked like it was missing half a square.

May 12, 2013 @ 8:26pm

It's a cool idea, but I just rotated the shapes until they fitted without really knowing what I was doing, and so completed the game. I still enjoyed it, however... :)

May 12, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Wooo I think I was tired when I played it, I understood that it was 3D shape only at the last levels (I though white shapes were randomly transforming X) Good job anyway

ataxkt says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:01pm

@mildmojo Sorry about that! I'm ashamed to say the Linus and OSX versions were entirely untested because I have neither.
@HELLO23 Cheers dude!
@ethankennerly Thanks for the concise feedback! Lack of explicitly required skill is something people have commented on, and I would like to address it in the future. Trial and error is certainly a part of the game, and I wanted people to try to make intelligent guesses, rather than the arduous task of perfectly understanding the shape.
@Jacques_le_lezard I'll definitely be making the nature of the puzzles clearer in the future. I hope you play again with your deeper understanding! It does make me kinda happy that the puzzles were truly puzzling though :D

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:52am

Cool puzzle game, well done!!!!!

zkenshin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Only problem was once or twice I clearly did not have the correct shape yet but it seemed to think I did and progressed. Fun entry though. :)

Cosine says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:36am

Great game overall: creative, challenging, and unique.

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Pretty nice and relaxing puzzle game. The graphics was good and the music was very calm and soothing.

May 16, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Very nice game. :D

Floko says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:16am

insanely beautiful. Very simple design but keeps getting interesting as the game progresses.

Well done!

I would only lower the volume a little bit. I had to almost turn off my sound here =/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]