April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Patty's Perilous Plunder

by blearn - Jam Entry

Help Patty collect plunder on this running and jumping perilous adventure!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Fun(Jam)2.74
#355Audio(Jam)2.53
#417Mood(Jam)2.47
#453Graphics(Jam)2.50
#468Theme(Jam)2.61
#476Overall(Jam)2.58
#494Innovation(Jam)2.11
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

blearn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

There are reports of it not working on Windows. In these cases it crashed while loading the game and did not output error messages.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

I tried the .bat and .jar files, but nothing seemed to run. Not sure what to do with it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21am

hmmmm -- cant seem to run -- windoes 8

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48am

Hard as balls! I will beat this if my life depends on it. It's working for me on windows.

blearn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Thought I posted another comment but apparently not. The windows issue has been resolved, if it doesn't work for you on windows try downloading it again.

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18am

Gets pretty tricky, ended up stuck on level 2. Good job though.

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20am

I tried running the shell script but I wasn't able to get it to launch on Mac OS 10.6.8.

vrinek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:21am

I tried executing "run.sh" on OSX but it didn't work. It was complaining about "lwjgl" missing.

nseward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:40am

To big for my laptop screen.

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46am

Looks like this has to have java installed in the path?

nathanj439 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54am

Nice job on the difficulty curve. I thought the game would be a cakewalk based on level one but by level four I was cursing loudly.

I was really digging the music at first but it got a bit annoying after restarting a level for the tenth time :) More tracks would be an awesome next feature.

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:36am

Worked on my Win7. Made it to yellow level before the wife called me into the other room. Pause would have been helpful. :) The people having problems getting it to run might be on an older version of Java? I am using Java 7. Other than not really being minimal, it was a neat 'runner.'

May 1, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Can't play. Gives me an error message :(

blearn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:25am

@nseward, you can change the resolution in the options menu however the smallest is 800x600 which had some cut off on my netbook but still playable.

blearn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:36am

For those having problems with the game on OSX, try downloading the zip again.

The problem is likely with lwjgl library files as it was for windows. Somehow when I copied them over they become corrupted. I have updated the osx libraries. Although I have no way to test it, so if that doesn't work you can try to download the lwjgl osx libraries yourself and place them in the ppp_lib folder.

http://lwjgl.org/download.php

blearn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:03am

Other general thoughts:

There you CAN pause by pressing enter during game play but that is never stated anywhere. Consider it an easter egg :P.

I wanted to make more music tracks or at least extend the one I had but I guess I lost the musical inspiration to make anything decent.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:08am

oh :( can't get it to work on win7-64

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:04pm

works for me on win7-64. Might be an issue where the game is using the wrong version of Java for some people. I have both a 64-bit version and a 32-bit version of Java, not sure if that matters, or if it matters which version is installed in the Path.

blearn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I couldn't get it to run on a 64-bit Linux system today.

It is compiled for java 6 (1.6.x) 32-bit. It runs fine for me with java 7 32-bit also. That is for both Linux and Windows. I haven't confirmed it but my guess is that the issue lies in using the 64-bit version of java. I'll test it more on 64-bit and try to fix any errors I come across.

In the meantime, if you are having trouble and want to get it to work then make sure the 32-bit version is installed and that the PATH environment variable is set for that version. For Windows it would be something like, "C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.7.0\bin". Also, if you are familiar with java development feel free to grab the source from git and compile it yourself. https://github.com/learnb/LD26_WeWillShall

Thanks for the feedback.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:15pm

It's working for me (Win 7 64-bit). But the music... and the colors... not my cup of tea.

TaleLore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:45pm

The jump animation is very awkward. "Why am I growing?", haha.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Nicely made and minimal, but the music loop, while good, is way too short, and restarting from the beginning after each death is a pain.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:53pm

PS: Ran fine on Arch Linux 64 bit with openjdk7.

blearn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:06pm

haha I'll admit that the jump animation is strange. When trying to determine how to do that from a top-down view I thought, "why not just scale the sprite?". It looked decent so we kept it but we planned to fine tune that so it looked better. Kind of forgot about it I guess. I would have liked to scale it less (peak of the jump is currently 2x normal size) and add a shadow to better show where you are standing, kind of your collision box.

The music definitely gets annoying but it reminded us of games we used to play while we should have been studying for finals. "Studying can wait, I WILL beat this game."

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:44am

Oh man, this is like a really stripped down version of Skyroads, a game I adore! :)

The music got old really quickly so I just muted it, and the jumping mechanic was a nice addition for some varied gameplay but overall the game needed something more.

Hope you keep developing it post-LD!

Merkoth says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Couldn't get it to run on OSX 10.8:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.LinkageError: Version mismatch: jar version is '23', native library version is '25'

Not sure what's going on :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]