April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minigames Octacade

by bvanschooten - 48 Hour Compo Entry

#####NOTICE: There is now a postcompo version with small fixes, like a restart game button and fixes for some game flaws. Check the postcompo page for a full list of changes.#####

8 minigames based on a variety of arcade classics. All games have one enemy type and one (short and hard) level. You get a bronze, silver, or gold achievement according to how well you played.

The idea of this project is to try and score high on the fun/play time/replayability factor by offering multiple minimalist games instead of one large game, providing maximum variety in gameplay and art.

- I'm curious to hear which of the games you like best/least.

- Some easily fixable flaws are now fixed in the postcompo version

- the sprites are 12x12, scaled to 36x36. Instead of going for the usual pixelated look, I tried using artistic filters (a sort of rough stained glass for the sprites, and crumpled paper for the tiles). Do you think this looks nice, or do you prefer the usual pixelated look?

Each game took 2,75 hours to create on average. I used my self-developed tools (JGame and the recently released random sprite generator) to accelerate development. All art assets are procedurally generated. I am developing my own peculiar art style, you might notice I've also produced other games with this art style. I hope you like it!

Some technical notes:

- The applet will not save your achievements between sessions (no file permissions), but the standalone jar will.

- The sprites show some black glitches resulting from the sprite filters, I did not have time to remove these. Fixed in postcompo version.

- I discovered the applet sometimes runs slower (with a lower frame rate) than the Jar. Run the Jar for best effect.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#323Fun3.24
#406Overall3.31
#465Humor2.36
#639Mood2.79
#751Graphics2.77
#877Audio2.14
#951Innovation2.57
#1022Theme3.00

Comments

jami says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

"The sprites show some black glitches resulting from the sprite filters, I did not have time to remove these." Dude, you made 8 games in 48 hours, I can deal with some glitches :) Nice work!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53am

Wow, *EIGHT* games in one? How did you manage that? I enjoyed the Manic Miner Clone. But you nailed Axis Invaders, this one is great. I had a good time playing it :).

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08am

Very good job !

Crynix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

Wow, 8 games. Great job!

Vincenzo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

This game is nicely done, but that would have been really better if there was a pause at the beginning of the game. I mean, it's impossible to understand the rules of the runner game in less than a half-second.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Nice game. Great job making 8 in 1. Must have been a challenge.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

No way! Minimalism too easy for ya? Times it by 8!

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Fun minigames. Would have liked a "restart this minigame" function instead of constantly going back to the mainscreen. But fun!

lorancou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Quit fun … congrat

lorancou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Quite Fun ! Congratulation

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Ambitious.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Excellent collection, and a testament to what can be done in 48 hours, which is absolutely mind-blowing, as some of these games aren't that obvious to recreate in such a short period!

My only complaint is that the controls could use some tightening on certain of the games; especially bearing in mind that some of those games want you on your feet quickly.
Also, it would be very nice to be able to restart a game from inside the very game, and not through the main menu.

As a side note, something like food for thought: any of the games on its own fits the theme perfectly. But can a collection of 8 minimalistic games be considered minimalistic as well? ;)

Congratulations! :)

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Interesting concept, but those colors!
I so missed the music in digger ;).

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Wow, 8 finished games in 48 hours, congratulations! Most of them are old-school hard, I like it.

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Wow, and I had problems finishing one game. Awesome stuff! That's a lot of different mechanics to finish in such a short time. I like the psychedelic graphics, and the sound fits nicely. I had the by far the most fun playing Leaping Larry. My least favorite might be Axis Invaders simply because I suck at it. I really wish there was a restart button though. Great job creating all of these.

bvanschooten says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Hi all! Thanks for your comments! I now have a postcompo version with a restart game button, and without the black sprite glitches and other minor tweaks.

Team Castor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

GG :D

Madball says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:00pm

You made 8 games? Bravo. That's a positive side. Now let's mention negative sides:
* Poor graphics. The game seems tailored for many pieces of different color and material. Character sprites, tile sprites and background sprites don't match at all. On top of that, scaled sprites look blurry, which is bad, and they are even, erm... let's say "bugged with black", even in the post-compo.
* Poor controls. Especially in Dragonflight and Cave destroyer, but in others too. Keys work not intuitive when you press several at a time (In Leaping Larry you often can't climb ladders holding right or left; In Icebreaker you often don't stop moving in some direction (or can't push a block) if you hold another key). In Digger placing/removing dirt is unintuitive.
* BUGS. In Toad Trek (not post-compo) I reached the end, got over the upper edge of the screen, and didn't get anything. In Digger, enemies and stones someimes count tile you stand on empty, even if you are placing dirt at the moment.
Oh, and you actually use "R" as back and "Z" as reset? You might want to swap them, I am used to reset with "R". And add a "back" key.
The only game I fully liked is Axis Invaders, though it still had many graphic glitches. Next time consider making one game, but doing it properly.

Tom 7 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:08am

Excellent! Perfect for my short attention span. I enjoyed being taken back to the golden days for some of these, though "axis invaders" is a new idea to me and deserves more exploration! Really good entry.

May 4, 2013 @ 5:23am

Among the 8 minigames I like Axis Invaders... I enjoyed that shooting game.
The graphics doesn't match with each other... But good job making the 8 games in 48 hours... It was a good game :D

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:30am

@madball, "Next time consider making one game, but doing it properly."
This comment doesn't seem in the LD spirit at all. Are you angry with me for creating these games? Don't you remember that once upon a time you yourself created 6 minigames as an LD entry?

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:44am

I'm not angry at all. After all, it's your decision and your games. But I prefer playing one good game, not eight average. And I think that your ideas are better than games.
Oh, and about my entry for the MiniLD #32, it was the theme.
(Now I think I really make lots of games. Well, if you think I should also make less games, just tell me.)

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Hi Madball, good to get a conversation going. Of course, this is just an experiment. The idea of minigames, the graphics, etc. I don't really plan to make minigames next LD, even if just because you don't seem to get specific critiques. What I do like about your critique is that it's actually the most detailed. So let's talk about that.
General: The games have flaws, like every LD entry, but I believe they are not gameplay breaking. I still enjoyed playing most of them myself after I submitted them, my favourite being Roof Escape. I am intrigued by simple games, because my experience is that, in the wild, people often like my simpler games (as simple and even as rough as these minigames) better than my more complex ones. Also, you have to be extremely efficient to get around in the game industry. Unfortunately there are only few people in LD submitting minigames overall, and I'd have liked to play your entry too if the file wasn't removed.
Dragonflight: the controls are essential to the game (Joust).
Larry: I copied the controls from the original (Fast Eddie). I do want to improve them because I like this game.
Icebreaker: press Z, then a direction, to push a block reliably.
Toad: thanks for finding that bug, it was a typo.
Digger: yes, this game is a little quirky. It's also possible to spawn stones if you stack them the right way.
R and Z keys: I used the R key for restart at first, but I really hated moving my finger off the Z key every time, so I changed it to Z.
Graphics: I think they are far more pleasing than having programmer-drawn graphics like most LD entries including my own (I am not a graphics artist). I know some people like these colour schemes. The black edges look ragged because Java2D does not support alpha blending. The sprites have been scaled using a "stained glass" distortion filter to make them look more organic.

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:27pm

That's surely a long answer... Thank you for taking your time.

pansapiens says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:27am

Wow, all these are quite fun, with the odd original twist on some classics. I had a play with the sprite generator too - very nice and good fun in itself. It seemed like the sprites in these minigames don't look as crisp (some antialiasing ?) compared with what the generator produces - I think it would look better if they maintained their clean pixelated look.

AaronYip says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Wow, very ambitious and quite an impressive feat of timing. I'm sure you had a lot of fun this LD, hehe. (: Axis especially showed off a talent for making fun simple games.

May 20, 2013 @ 2:50am

While not really original, it was still a fun ride.
A bit shoddy, but the variety of retro games is nice.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:38am

graphics were great -- nice concept -- my favorite was roof race -- great job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]