Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minirena - Sh1rogane - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minirena - a minimalistic arena shooter
This is my entry for LD26

Enemies are the red, blue and magenta colors.
Weapon boxes are brown

Controls
Arrow keys: Movements/Aiming
Z: Jump
X: Shooting

Some info:
When the time reaches 5400 then a little somthing happens

View Sh1rogane's journal. | View all entries by Sh1rogane

Ratings

Coolness100%
#310Fun3.26
#412Audio2.95
#428Theme3.66
#457Humor2.38
#705Overall3.03
#852Mood2.59
#999Graphics2.46
#1204Innovation2.11

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

Took me a min to figure out controls.. Other than that good go at it..

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41am

Hey, on mac (java 7) I'm getting "IllegalArgumentException Width (0) and height (0) cannot be <= 0"

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

fun little game. here i was thinking i the blue guys would help me or heal me or something and then i died =(

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

This game is really good, a shooter with minimalistic graphics. I liked the graphic. At the beginning I did not understand which color is an enemy and which is ammo. I think you should add that to the description.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

Neat little game, it's good fun. I like the jumping/fading death animations, they're a nice touch.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Good rythm and & Good difficulty curve. Player maybe 30+ games.
At 10 learn I can fire up ( take that blue flyers ! ).
At 20 lean I can fire down... Mmmh not so useful in late game buttons of funs at start for skill shot :D

5400 ? Seriously, I could hardly reach 2000-2500...
You should stop that counter on player death it would make the final score more readable. ( With a blinking and a little coin *Beep* ) Or at least show it on the gameover screen.

Tainting dead monster in white is genius, usually people tend to turn contrast down to make active game elements more visible, but white being plateform and hero color it somehow feel safe. Very intuitive.

I had no problems with ammo box, but considering the above comments maybe they would work better with grey ( like hero grey )

Great entry top fun mark !

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Pretty cool! very minimal :) in a good way

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Ok playability, naturally reminds of super crate box. :)

Harsay says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Simple and hard

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Fun minimalist shooter! Reminded me of the original Smash Brothers, but with guns!

Fadobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Good feel, challenging, fun and it's even with the minimalistic graphics it's easy to tell apart all the things. Well done!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Quite simply, fun!

Spanfile says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

The pistol is overpowered when compared to other weapons with its infinite ammo and one hit kills.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

The splash screen and the game are a bit out of sync. A blockier splash screen would have worked better. Rather reminiscent of Super Crate Box, but I liked the fact that you could aim your gun.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Haha, 2000 is about my max. I really want to see the little thing at 5400!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I really loved this! Lots of fun, great, simple graphics/mechanics and it gets very challenging fast. Nice job!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice rich sound effects. Also the game is really smooth and oddly fun for how simple it is.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

Very minimal, nice game :D

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Minimalistic metal slug! I love it.

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

WHAT!?!? All that only to find out 'there is no potato.' After a couple of plays, I fired up JoyToKey. I enjoyed the game much more with a game pad. Also, if you stand on the inner edge of one of the lower platforms and fire up, you're pretty much invincible until "a little something happens." But, overall, an EXCELLENT entry!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I like it, very simplistic and minimalistic!

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51pm

nice squares! =)

graytest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Surprisingly fun! :)

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Cool and fas-pacing game! Played a lot of rounds. It simple, yet hard, with good music and colors.

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:07am

Nice game! do a gameplay reaching 5400 please!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

Machine tells me that the Jar could not be launched (On mac OSX) unfortunately.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

Very simple but quite enjoyable. Too bad the theme was implemented as "let's make a SCB-like game and remove the graphics"

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:12am

Really loved the flamethrower animation, unfortunately, I didn't manage to reach the 5400 mark, too hard for me!

Sh1rogane says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

@infernet89 Fun fact: The flamethrower was supposed to be a machine gun but due to a bug, i made it into a flamethrower, I thought it was more interesting than a machine gun ^^

Canobie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:15am

Very neat!

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:28am

It reminds my of the original Mario Bros. What was your workflow like. For instance, how much time did you spend on QA and balancing?

Sh1rogane says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:35am

@PhaZ90771 QA in LD? I think i spent about 1 hour in total, i know it is very unbalanced, sometime around 2000 is it very hard and around 3000 very easy, and the weapons, i don't know :P

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Good game. The blue guys are hard to avoid when crowded with red guys. Nice entry!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Cool game. Extremely minimalist. Congratz!

May 4, 2013 @ 2:00am

Simple, fun and hard. I liked :)

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Pretty decent shooter. Needed to tell myself to stop playing. Really addictive and so simple. Nice one!

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:18pm

nice and playable. maybe graphics could have been less minimal but hey.. that was the theme.. :)

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:48am

Hey, nice entry. Can't win it yet, but I'll replay this game more and more. I liked it. :)

May 12, 2013 @ 4:41am

Stays true to the theme and a decently fun game. Could have used a little bit of freshness but hey I'm not complaining.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]