April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Police Escape

by D3zmodos - Jam Entry

Controls:
- Arrow keys to select which direction you want to turn next (didn't manage to fit in a visual indicator for this, sorry)
- Spacebar to activate your current powerup (you will see the icon on the left if you have one)

I am aware there are some graphical bugs (as well as the occasional fail on the part of the enemy cars).

Hopefully somebody finds a little enjoyment out of this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Audio(Jam)2.69
#421Fun(Jam)2.45
#451Innovation(Jam)2.34
#462Overall(Jam)2.62
#489Theme(Jam)2.50
#493Mood(Jam)2.08
#495Graphics(Jam)2.31
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

Argembarger says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I was amused by the surprisingly realistic explosion. That's not how you pull over a car! Silly police.

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Not bad at all for 48 hours.

scheurneus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

can't exit. fun anyway

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Feels like I don't have enough time/cannot see enough of the screen to dodge the police. Maybe a zoomed out camera can help the player see more of the level and plan accordingly. Also, having to use the mouse to restart when the keyboard controls in game is frustrating. Sorry to be full of criticism, hopefully I offered something worthwhile :) I did find enjoyment out of it so thank you for sharing!

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Start!
Click
(0.67 seconds)
*BAAAAAAM*
Game Over!
Restart?

made my day.

D3zmodos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

@peggiosoft ye...I didn't get round to fixing that, figured it was more important to at least get something that was somewhat playable out, and it doesn't happen all that often (although often enough to warrant it being on the "to fix soon" list).

@pjchardt 1) I noticed the issue with the screen size as well...it was initially even more zoomed in =/ I zoomed it out a little and didn't think much about it since then, but come to think of it...yes it could definitely do with a some more zooming out.
2) Yes...yes using the mouse is most definitely annoying, meant to add that...guess I didn't get round to it/forgot about it/was lazy (MOAR EXCUSES!!!11!! :P)
Glad you enjoyed it though

@scheurneus True, but I was lazy and never added an exit button...guess Alt+F4 will need to suffice for now =/

scheurneus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23am

can't exit in full-screen. Also, horrible sound.
Controls not very easy for me. A good idea however.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:15am

Screen too zoomed in and cant live long enough to get any of the powerups

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:33am

I liked the explosions and the simplicity of controls, and agree that having a more zoomed out screen would make it easier to decide directions. But then you'd miss out on the fun of choosing a direction just in time to enter a collision course with a police car.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

EXPLOOOOSION :D

(yes, i restart the game 4 times, just to explode )

Tanius says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:39am

really fast! I can't predict when it's time to turn, try to make some notification, or maybe slowing everything when it's time to turn.
Nice music!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:54am

A fun little game!

Corofides says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Wasn't too bad but I felt like a very passive player. Not to mention some scenarios where just unavoidable such as when a police car spawned directly in front of you at the beginning.

mikeware says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Really nice music. Like the premise, it's really hard to keep track of where all the other cars are. Did see one just stop at one point.

inko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Put the camera further away so the player can see the cops coming. Right now it's unfortunately more about luck then actual skills. Cool idea but kinda unplayable at the current stage.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Feels pac-man-y :)

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Cool explosion effect. Over the last ten minutes of playing I have come to be very familiar with it :P
I quite like the music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]