April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Orb

by Grouflon - Jam Entry

Bring life by bringing light

Controls : mouse

Graphics : Jeremy Forveille
Sound design, original music & level design : Maxime Ferrieu
Scripting : Remi Bismuth

Enjoy !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Mood(Jam)4.14
#14Audio(Jam)4.11
#20Overall(Jam)4.02
#28Graphics(Jam)4.36
#40Theme(Jam)4.07
#77Innovation(Jam)3.59
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#300Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50am

Nice one. Very surprising (nice graphics) when finishing a level.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

Radial pong is smart and the game is beautifully simple. Nice work.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06am

Graphics/Audio/Mood/Theme All 5 out of 5. Very solid entry, not exactly my kind of game but for some people I've got to imagine this is going to be the best entry of LD26.

FunByJohn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57pm

This is really great; the atmosphere of the entire game is really wholesome and relaxing, and the feeling of brightening up the orb is really sensational! Going from grayscale to these beautiful colour palettes you've created is an awesome feeling.
In the levels where the sky turns yellow it can be a bit difficult to see the ball (this might've been the point? blinding light? hehe)
The gameplay itself was pretty standard, definitely minimalistic, in a good way. The rules were simple, and easy to follow. The actual design of the levels was a bit strange, it seemed like they didn't really take advantage of the circular shape of the game, like they were designed for regular breakout.
Anyway, really awesome game, I've given you 5 stars for Theme, Audio, and Graphics :D

Great job guys :D

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

This is amazing, seriously. Very interesting and challenging new take on breakout. Perfect implementation of the theme. Full scores for me.

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02pm

BEAUTIFUL. The aesthetics and the music are very rewarding as you progress on a level. A great surprise and a very ellegant approach to the Minimalism.

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice work. Fine tune and great ambiance. I like the consistency.
Not a fan of the gameplay but this is subjective.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Fun! The level win animation is very nice, I do feel like the controls could definitely be fine tuned though (different angles based on if the user is moving the paddle when the ball hits it, etc)

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Loved the presentation in this one. Good job

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Very hard to play with a laptot without mouse (but that's not your fault anyway) and beautiful graphics on end level ! I really enjoyed this wallbreaker ! Good job

nurabsal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

link leads to a blank page?

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

@nurabsal: We had no time left for implementing a loading screen, but the blank page you see is the loading actually. The loading time can vary a lot from one computer to another as we experienced. Sorry for the desagrement, I hope you'll can play it anyway :)

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Surprising good. Really liked it. gratz

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Damn, that polish on this game. It was indeed a surprise (didn't read the comments) and it was beautiful. The sound/music is also very fitting.

gerritg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Loved playing this. It's really beautiful and entertaining. 5 out of 5 from here too. Everything fits perfectly together.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

On the one hand, I didn't really ever want to play a Breakout clone ever again. On the other hand, this is one of the most beautiful entries I've seen in this competition so far.

I'd say that's a fairly net positive. =)

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I'll be honest, it first started and i was like "pfffh, all they did was made Breakout." Then I played it for more then 5 seconds and was like "pfffft, all they did was made Breakout absolutely amazing."

wine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

It is not easy. But style and sounds and levels
Great job!

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Love the sound and graphics.

This is a hard game--you don't seem to get lives back and it's easy to lose a ball if you try to treat it like Breakout because the circular orbit means that it's much easier for the ball to get away from you.

Did I mention how much I love the music and graphics? The ending of the levels is awesome.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Really nice, I was amazed when the planet started changing. It was beautiful.

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43am

Amazing game! great twist on a pong mechanic. I really enjoyed the art, music and game overall. Congrats.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

Truly brilliant graphics and audio with a generally serene atmosphere that I very much enjoyed. Unfortunately, I was frustrated by the mouse-based control scheme, both with a trackpad and with a gaming mouse, which may or may not be an artifact of the size of the web player. The paddle seemed a bit jerky and would sometimes jump to the other side of the world because the radial mouse movement introduced multiple sensitivity zones. Furthermore, the changing background made the ball progressively harder to see, which might have been intentional but reduced my sense of connection to the controls even further.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01pm

GREAT! GREAT! AHHHHHH

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37am

Wow what a game! Very sweet idea, a rotating breakout! very sweet animations, too

Ariake81 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:38am

loved it, when the colour changes and the orb becomes a planet it was awesome. thanks.

thatwhichis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:43am

I don't want to brag, but I might be the worst player ever at this. ;-)

Still, is beautiful, is beautiful when I win, is beautiful concept. Bravo!

larb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:48am

Beautiful. Brilliant.

lambomang says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:57am

Nice one! Although the paddle becomes jumpy for me after I lose the first ball, like it has a low frame rate or something. The ball moves fine though.

Grouflon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:07am

@lamboyang: Thank you for your feedback! As we experienced, the framerate can vary a lot depending on your connection speed, your computer... In optimal conditions, the game is very fluid... Really sorry for the inconvenience ;)

May 2, 2013 @ 1:21am

Very polished entry. Congrats on this. I had a good time playing it.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:54am

Pretty well =)
Nice gameplay, man!

May 2, 2013 @ 7:30am

This deserves to be in an arcade cabinet with a roll switch like Capcom's Forgotten Worlds had. Amazing work.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Lovely puzzler! The sound-effects are great, as is the orb getting brighter :)

TaleLore says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:57am

Amazing graphics!

rukbotto says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:59am

Really nice game! I had a good time playing it!

CaseyHardman says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:26am

Great audio and graphics.

The concept is interesting, but I found it rather difficult to use the mouse to control the paddle. It was frustrating to try and quickly move the paddle to catch the ball from going off into oblivion, due to the lack of precision with the paddle and the strange angle the paddle takes making it hard to actually bounce the ball in the direction you would want it to go. I often accidentally bumped the ball with the side of my paddle when I tried to prevent it from falling off the stage.

The starting shot, where you click to release the ball, seems to go in rather imprecise places rather than directly forward from the paddle.

To sum it up, the gameplay, though intuitive, seemed rather frustrating and not very fun for me, though everything else was impressive.

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:24am

I had alot of fun playing this, adding music and colour kept me motivated. Sometimes struggled with the rebounded angles not being what I expected. A save game / load level feature would be nice and give it a higher replay value. Overall a good idea, executed extremely well, with some very nice audio and effects. Well Done =]

May 3, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Loved the aesthetics and feedback in the game. It is a cool take on breakout. Completing a level is extremely satisfying. The sound design is great. I had difficulty predicting where the ball would bounce and rebound to. Overall, great!

- Strega

The Consul says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Great take on breakout. I love the concept.

I feel the controls are a bit annoying though. I kept moving the mouse pointer outside of the game area and losing control over it. Perhaps you could use the pointer lock to take control over the mouse.

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:40pm

It was really beautiful and calm! Thank you for making this game!

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Suddenly EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL. Really nice job. Wasn't expecting the sudden change in colours. The music really went well with it too. Good job!

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Really nice idea. Great graphics, sound effects and music.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:11am

The Atmosphere is very very nice. I like it!

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Fantastic game! The game felt very complete. The dub-step sound effect I thought was a little bit much and called attention that it sounded like a dub-step. It felt like it was not part of the game and more like a Skrillex song.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Music was great, but it was hard to see the ball sometimes when the screen got brighter.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Wow. Amazing game :) Love the mood & the winning animation.

May 11, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Wow. Very fresh take on the 'breakout' genre. Lovely, thank you!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Seeing and hearing the planet saturate with color and grow trees lured me. If you continue to develop this, sometimes the ball would not bounce off the paddle in the direction I was expecting; compared to other Arkanoid games, I did not understand how the moving paddle would influence the bounce.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]