April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Newborn

by Lowlet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Walk - W, A, S, D
Jump - Space
Interact - Left Mouse Button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#24Mood4.02
#175Graphics3.73
#177Audio3.36
#590Theme3.50
#756Humor1.96
#800Overall2.94
#811Innovation2.79
#1135Fun2.27

Comments

kreischweide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

That one got a very eerie atmosphere, so I cant seem to find a way to where I seem to suppost to go. But nice style, sound and outer architecture!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Does it ever end? I like the atmosphere, but I don't quite see what it's getting at.

Oh, one more thing: "MEIN FUHRER! I CAN WALK!"

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

I like its visual and audio aesthetics and they are genuinely effective but I somehow keep ending up on an endless loop of empty platforms without anything to explore.
Still I must admit this sounds like it has potential.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Delightfully macabre! Worked out what you had to do pretty quickly.

I think someone's gonna ace the Mood category! ;-)

nicotuason says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

Ahh I think I understand now... You would rather spend infinity jumping to your death than take care of a howling newborn. I feel you man...

Nisshoku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Great atmosphere. I couldn´t figure out the goal of the game though.

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

HALP! As many other people, I'm stuck. I found the hammer and the object from the lower room of the tower (I don't know what that was supposed to be), but what then?

That little detail aside, this game has an excellent(ly unsettling) atmosphere, to the point that my palms began to sweat. Awesome job.

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

So, I went back to the first room after finding both objects, clicked and... did I seriously just... OK, no spoiling, but did what I think happened after the cut to black actually happen?

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Really wanted to find out what made the static noise at the bottom, but I just didn't care enough to justify the falling game. Mood is lush though! @nicotuason has a really great interpretation, although I'm not sure I would have reached it otherwise!

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

@ataxkt If I interpreted it correctly, it's actually a good deal more sinister than that.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Pretty interesting (and creepy) experience. I especially like the sound effects.

peacefulshade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

The never ending feature is cool, some instructions on the game page could help

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

While beautiful, it's hard to understand what my objectives are. I only saw the first room, and after that it was falling from platform to platform. I really liked the look of everything. The controls were straightforward and solid. I'll have to play more to see if I missed anything.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Wow. This is deep o_O

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

This entry was really creepy, and with some great aesthetics. I found that I really couldn't deal with the constant falling, though. With no idea where I was going and no clue as to what to do other than the proximity to terrible noises, I was left with no alternative but to just fall.

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

This was absolutely excellent. Reminds me somewhat of an increpare game. Are the towers randomly generated?

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Great mood, but not sure what I a supposed to do. I can drop down to lower platforms, and I can fall down completely and get to another tower thing with a different look and sound, but then if I fall off that, I get back.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Very impressive and atmospheric =)

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Great ambiance. Hard to figure out what to do (not necessary a bad point) ;)

Lowlet says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02pm

@BipolarMike No, the tower is fully modeled in 3d max.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02am

I wish it was a little easier. It gets frustrating falling and falling endlessly. Maybe if you could move in mid air returning to the tower... it would require a lot of climbing and such anyway. I got to the baby but I couldn't interact with it. And Im not sure if it was always the same tower or each time you fall you go to a different one.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:04am

I lost an ear at the end but graphics are really good

NiallM says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:24am

Woah, that's a seriously creepy ending. This is kind of impressive, though I don't think I'd want to play it again.

Slightly spoil-y hints: the game is not just an endless jumping puzzle; also make sure you explore the starting room before you leave it.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I'm not sure what I'm suppose to be doing in the game. I got out of the starting room, but that was it. I was lost after that. I tried exploring, but didn't seem to be getting anywhere, and then jumped off and somehow landed on top of another structure, but just as lost. Neat style though.

-Strega

(this is a team account)

mildmojo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:03pm

You should totally click the Linux button and make a build. The page just showed up black & blank for me, not even the little reminder to go download the Unity plugin (which isn't available for Linux anyway).

Lowlet says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:22pm

@mildmojo Added Linux build.

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:35pm

cute!! really nice

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice overall mood

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Crazy universe!! Congratz!!!

May 3, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very creepy but I couldn't figure out how to get past the falling part. I did notice something glowing way low on the tower after falling off many times but it would be a major pain to get there. Maybe if you allow the camera to turn all the way up/down so we can actually see where we are falling. Visuals were cool but a bit hard to see sometimes.

Doublecaster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:08am

I liked the mood of the game. Not beging able to move while falling was annoying. I kept falling from the tower and couldn't save myself.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Crazy, simple and atmospheric game!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Wow. That was...even though I half-expected that ending after finding the first (only?) item, it was still very jarring. Well done. It would be nice to be able to see the structure of the tower better though (especially on the dark side).

Also, is there even any reason to navigate the darker end of the tower? I just avoided it because of how impossible it was to see while there.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Just dug through your source and discovered the 2nd object/ending someone alluded to. While I don't have the patience to play again and locate it, I do like that there is a less jarring option.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]