April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zomblocks Blockiller

by lfpetrini - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ok.. this is my first time here and I actually took about 5 hours to get to this final point. I was only able to start working on it at about 5 PM EST, so I rushed to do the best I could.

Some facts I would like to highlight:
This is the first time I work alone with HTML5, so I'm sure there are lots of stuff I did that I could have done better.
I did not want to use any framework, so I used some pieces of code I had done before, utilities like an asset manager and some functions to handle the canvas and do some math.
Expect bugs. And some poorly coded stuff. And I also could not work on the audio.
In summary, this is the best I could deliver in the time I had, but I really hope to do something better in the next time.

Now, about the game:
WASD move your block and you shoot with the cursor. Just avoid the red zombie blocks the longer you can.

Well, at the end of the day it was an enjoyable experience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#952Fun2.55
#1022Theme3.00
#1185Mood2.05
#1217Graphics2.10
#1272Overall2.28
#1318Innovation1.74

Comments

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

splattered cubes \o/

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

couldn't connect to the website :(

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

Couldn't connect either. :(!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37am

Nice.

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

nice job

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

Not sure what happened. Maybe you got issues to connect because I'm using a free host I found.. they say it is stable, but you know...

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Can't connect either :(

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34pm

This works quite well. I like that you can splat several zombies with a single shot if they're together. It quickly becomes pretty hard, I managed to get a bit over 6000 points in a few tries.

MauMaGau says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Nice one =)
(You might like to try using some css to prevent the mouse selecting elements on the page):
*{-webkit-touch-callout: none; -webkit-user-select: none; -khtml-user-select: none; -moz-user-select: none; -ms-user-select: none; user-select: none;}

lfpetrini says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:29am

Thanks for the tip! I'll find some time for studying html5, I really enjoyed it :)

cakemonitor says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:40pm

nice work for just 5 hours :)

May 16, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I liked the particles when you shot the zombies

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]