April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape

by Colisan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(First, my apologizes for my horrible school english :p)

"Escape" is my second Ludum Dare game (previous was the #24) and I think I get out pretty well with it. I had a lot of fun drawing the caracters with my colored pencil and scanning them :)

It's a game about escaping the minimalism... Some kind of metaphore about my opinion about the theme I think... XD

/!\ The collision with sides of plaforms is buggy... very buggy. So try not to rub your face on them too much /!\

Controls (not in the game for a better minimalist look) :
Move : Arrows
Jump : I'm in Spaaaaace
Double Jump : Space again
Katana : 'V' or 'B'

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Humor3.75
#153Theme4.00
#173Mood3.43
#238Graphics3.58
#271Audio3.17
#288Fun3.29
#352Overall3.38
#650Innovation3.00
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

If only the static assets were crayon-styled too. :)

Love the humor here!

Toastation says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Pretty good game :) Enjoyable music and humor !

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

That was hard, managed to get to the cannon boss, wish there were checkpoints on the boss stages. Still, had fun, love the style, great animation.

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

though it's a bit too difficult to move around avoiding obstacles, it was fun, and i like the graphics style ;)

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Great work! very funny.

Adbook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59am

This game is very funny, and it fits perfectly to the theme :)
Also, great graphics style and music.

Angerus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28am

I really think your approach of the theme is the strong point of your game. I like how you become more and more complex while the gameplay still stay "minimal"!And I appreciate the good vibe coming from the sound and the hand-drawing graphics. A great job!

Colisan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Tanks everybody ! I've put so much pleasure making the game (especially the graphics and the musicale ^^) that I'm happy you can share at least a bit of it with me by planning it =3

Colisan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

music* (f**k french auto-writing phone)

Colisan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Oh... And it's "thanks" and "playing" ... (-_-') sry for the triple-combo post XD

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Very nice humour in that, fun to play too! Boss fight are very though, and i hate redoing the platform part when died..

doos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Nice game, got to the third level and it was too hard for me.. Love the boss fights.. :)

fussycashew says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Pretty awesome! Not fond of the static background, but you know... Minimalism and all.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:50pm

The boss fights are the weakest part. Too repetitive, too long, you can get stuck in the walls, have to restart the whole level if you die, and what else.

The idea of the character growing works well within the theme. It's spiced with cool details like the intro sequence.

mkpictures says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Nice game here :) I loved the graphics and the animations :) Still some bugs btw but it's playable. I'm not a big player of platformer games, so it's was a bit difficult for me ^^ But I still enjoyed the game!
The only thing I think that could be changed is to not reset the music each time we die ( When you die 4 times in 1 minute, it sounds weird ).
Nice work!

Lythom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:18am

Hi there, here's some feedback.
What I loved :
- art style (though I think keeping the minimalist spirit of the painting for the rest of the game could have gave it more personality)
- animated elements
- humor ("please move the camera because..." made my day xD)
What imo could be improved :
- bounce on ennemies when jumping on their head (it's a common juicy feedback that usually works well)
- music (repetitive at long)
- difficulty (did not reach the end... sry ! I had not the courage to do the level + the boss with canon all over again)

Good overall, thanks for the game !

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:56am

Cool. This was not only minimalistic, but apparently low-budget and has very "hand-made" (and "mouth-made") feeling to it, which also fits the theme nicely. The ending sound effect was especially hilarious, as it was the same minimalistic effect, just more loud.

Also, it took two lives for me to realize that now I can jump mid-air.

And the last weapon was totally unexpected (didn't read the game description before playing).

Ending is a dead end screen?

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:23am

I liked it. The drawn style gave it some charm and the mechanics were pretty simple to figure out. Although the movement was a little heavy at spots and suddenly lighter on other spots. Other than that, good job!

allinlabs says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:07pm

"Controls (not in the game for a better minimalist look)" Yeah, sure, nice try :p
Nice animation and the humour was greatly welcomed :D
Even if there's bugs, the game's pretty polished, especially for a 48h. Well done, I loved it !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]