April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LD26 Crimson Tide

by Neurolabe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is some of the ugliest javascript ever, but it was made entirely in Unity with no outside programs (for the sake of Minimalism) and *omfg it works*

This is my first ever successful LD 48-hour Compo.

For the last LD (LD25) I tried to make a game called "Here come the Vikings!" (which seems to have a similar colour scheme...odd), so this is my second Compo.


The red stuff represents the enemy masses. Green is fertile ground.

CONTROLS:
[ X ] Destroy the oncoming rush of red stuff.
Place [ C ] Camps, [ W ] Walls and [ T ] Towers to protect the land at the cost of Workers.
Place [ I ] Infantry and [ A ] Archer squads.
[ Z ] to rest.
Arrow keys to move.


RESTING:
Portal: resting on the portal will give you supplies from the homeworld and heal you for the most.
Camp: resting on a camp will give you a worker and heal you well.
Rest normally to recover slowly, but don't rest on the red stuff.


THE PORTAL:
The portal is the bright blue thing where you began.
Resting on restores your Cavalry, Workers, Infantry Squad and Archer Squad.


*** Instructions and a little strategy:
- Attacking red until it becomes brown causes further attacks to rely on mana, turning the square a fertile green.
- Resting on green will heal you and give you back some mana, resting on red will damage you. It's better to rest on the planar gate (blue thing you started on) or if you can't get there, a camp, if available.
- Resting on the planar gate will restore you to full cavalry, workers, infantry and archers, if they are available.
- Resting on a camp will supply 1 worker each time, so if there are no workers available at the gate, it's the best source.
- Your various abilities increase dependent on what you do.
- All squares which aren't 100% green will slowly turn brown, eventually getting corrupted to red, even if there's no red squares adjacent to them.
- Some troop and building combinations have additional effects on top of their normal effects.
- Infantry clear the square they are on, at the cost of lives. Archers clear all adjacent squares, but not their own, and they'll die if the square they are on is red.
- Camps slowly restore the strength of Infantry and Archers.
- There is no way to win.

*** A few planned expansions if I can be bothered:
- Berzerk trolls.
- An enemy strategic AI - might save this for a rewrite.
- Major constructions, only one per square, in the centre.
- Restore the difficulty to the way it was so that no square is totally immune, no matter what it has on it.
- Create difficulty levels which are only modifiers to the size of the map.
- Rewrite the GUI and give it a strong front screen.
- Give it some kind of stage by stage progression.
- Stupid little quests, though this idea doesn't really appeal to me.
- Work out whether the original idea was a good one (an rpg where "attack" brings up a combat screen, showing monsters inhabiting the square).


I know this game can be confusing at first so please let me know if there's anything I can clear up without giving away too much spoilery.

Web link has been fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#588Innovation3.09
#1040Graphics2.38
#1158Theme2.77
#1169Overall2.50
#1238Fun2.00
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

MCovert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

Your web link just prompts me to install the Unity Webplayer, even though I've got it. I tried updating, but still just get the "Download Webplayer" prompt. Not sure what's up with that. The downloadable worked fine for me though.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

I don't get it. There is no enemy, neither potato?

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Didn't quite get what I was supposed to do, really.

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

The issue is that the link is https; the browser is blocking the insecure content. If you just remove the s in the URL it works fine! Neurolabe should edit the entry to fix that.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

@MCovert Ditto.

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

Well-timed, I was poking around, building things and not really knowing what I was doing and generally looking like a confused druid who didn't read the instructions first.

Right at the moment that I figured I'd best set out to explore NorthEast I saw the wave of red and got a weird sense of urgency which caused me to suddenly understand a lot more of what was going on.

Quite cool, congrats on your first finished Ludum Dare!

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

This seems like it was a really ambitious idea for 48hrs. It would probably benefit a lot from a tutorial (it would probably be allowed to make a video tutorial and link it in the description).

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Sorry, don't succeed to understand. Isn't it too much intricate for a theme like Minimalism ? Nice attempt anyway ;)

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52am

It was hard to grasp the concept at first for many reasons: I thought I was controlling the blue ball and that the controls were reversed, I had no idea what all those stats were, nor what this red color was about. I didn't notice that I was losing hitpoints when moving in the red zone and the game ended for no apparent reason.
After restarting twice and reading carefully the instructions I almost understand everything :). I like the way the red attacks and takes over the green slowly like a wave that can't be stopped, but can in fact be... But I found I had to repeat the same actions again and again: build walls, build tower, return to planar gate, sleep, go back to new camp, build camp, add archers and infantry, return to planar gate, sleep... I finally stopped way before making the map completely green :p.

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:23am

Very complex, but fun. I didn't really get the hang of it (kept dying to the red stuff) but I figured more of it out. I think it might be nicer to have fewer variables and tools and a little more visual cues for what you're doing that helps. A little hard to follow along with all the tiny numbers. Nice work, though - a cool, complex idea, expressed in a simple way.

Arowx says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:22am

Looks interesting and could be fun but, couldn't get my head around the controls, maybe using mouse driven controls with basic icons or a menu would have worked better as you appear to be going for a TD/RTS type game here.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]